Find companies:
Springleaf Financial Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
85 reviews

Springleaf Financial Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met many people from all walks of life.
Customer Account Administrator (Former Employee), Oaklyn, NJMay 14, 2013
Pros: good work place comraderie among co-workers.
Cons: sometimes being too shor staffed to meet good customer service.
We spent the majority of the time helping customers with their borrowing needs. Completing customer applications, processing the application then closing the loan. We worked as a team for the benefit of the customer. I spent a large amount of time in collections. Helping customers come to solutions regarding their loan upon default and continual follow-up – more... and/or recommending and/or instituting further collection activity as necessary. The hardest and also the most enjoyable part was coming to a good resolution for the customer and the company in an adverse situation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company bad management
Financial Representative (Current Employee), TexasMay 2, 2013
Company is overall good but lower management out of control.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot about the Financial industry
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), CAMay 1, 2013
Pros: learned alot
Cons: work late hours and weekends
I have enjoyed working at Springleaf Financial for the last 10yrs. I have gained alot of experience in the Financial industry. However, the company has suffered greatly due to the down economy and my career has been stagnant since. Its time for me to move on and find a company in which there is opportunity for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job.
Branch Manager (Current Employee), Huntington, INApril 30, 2013
Pros: open work enivornment
Cons: upper management micro manages
It's a good resume builder. Career advancement is poor. Upper management has unrealistic goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job if you like taking advantage of unfortunate people
sam till the co removed that title to save money (Former Employee), ravenna ohioApril 25, 2013
Cons: pay freeze, company billions of dollars in debt, stay away
had the shadiest group of employees I have ever worked with especially my district manager who allowed an employee to steal from the company even though was made aware of this situation on several occasion, pay freeze, horrible work environment, pitted against employees to steal as much as possible from illwitted customers. offshoot of AIG, so that – more... should give most intelligent readers a pretty solid insight to the type of place slfs really is. District manager had his group of homies who he would allow to get away with murder while topnotch sales people, yes , I am talking about myself, he would destroy their reputation with futile lies and narcisstic behaviors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual Dress Everyday
Systems Analyst (Current Employee), Evansville, INMarch 22, 2013
Pros: the option to work from home once a week.
Cons: no bonus and no pay raises for the past three years.
This is the type of company that higher management doesn't share much info with their employees in regards to what's going on with the company. Employees always feel being left out in the dark.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productve environment
Senior Assistant Manager (Current Employee), North CarolinaMarch 7, 2013
Pros: mon-fri work weeks, bonuses
Cons: pay
I love my job! Besides the long wait for advancement opportunities and slow pay raises, the overall environment is vey relaxed. Upper management is very down to earth and they don't look down on their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productve environment
Senior Assistant Manager (Current Employee), North CarolinaMarch 7, 2013
Pros: mon-fri work weeks, bonuses
Cons: pay
I love my job! Besides the long wait for advancement opportunities and slow pay raises, the overall environment is vey relaxed. Upper management is very down to earth and they don't look down on their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To be employed with a company I can advance in and has fun low stress environment
Sr. Customer Account Specialist (Current Employee), Carbondale, ILFebruary 1, 2013
Pros: bonus and incentive programs to make you want to excell at your job
Cons: possible late hours. no increase in hourly rate of pay now on a pay freeze
Daily opening of cash drawer, review unfinished applications or new customer applications to completion. Walk in customer payment processing or loan applications. Daily solicitation calls and delinquency calls, processing of paid documents on paid accounts, pay branch expenses, follow up on any return checks, follow up with local counties to verify – more... property taxes are paid and insurance companies to insure that insurance is in place where needed.

The best part is letting customers know they have been approved for the loan they requested and possibly more to better their personal financial position.

We do work closely with each other and help other branches when they call and need me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not For Me
CAS (Current Employee), Richmond Tri-Cities, VaJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: family environment & great customers
Cons: hours, healthcare, boring
The work is easy but the job is inconvenient for me. The hours are typical but it takes away from my daughter being that I am a single mother. The pay is ok but not enough for me to manage. The health benefits are terrible. I can see how it can be great for some people who do not have a life. I have my good days as well as my bad. If finance is your – more... strength then go for it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Springleaf is a good company to work for.
Sr. Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Warren, OHJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: pretty much everything.
Cons: failing economy has caused cuts in staff and benefits.
Springleaf financial services, formerly known as American General Financial Services, is a very good company to work for. They give you extraordinary training in sales and collections along with getting you licensed to sell all insurance and to be a mortgage loan originator. Management works closely with financial reps. and forms strong bonds. There – more... is a very family like atmosphere in every office. The hardest part of the job is, of corse, the human aspect. When you are selling loans, insurance, and mortgages and trying to collect delinquent accounts the biggest problem is overcoming objections. The job, however, is all round enjoyable. You have a good schedule, you have a lot of freedom, and the pay is very good to those who perform well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Giants
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Fremont,CADecember 22, 2012
Pros: generous vacation days
Cons: several glass ceilings
Standard corporate company. M-F is standard working schedule. Saturdays are required, but not initially disclosed. No consideration for employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like Springleaf, but it's not for me.
Full Time Employee (Former Employee), Easley, SCDecember 11, 2012
Pros: good working environment, bonuses
Cons: late hours, making outside arrangements for my son, taking advantage of customers
I liked working at Springleaf, but I don't feel like that's where I want to spend the rest of my life. I love people and working with the public, but the constant calling and begging people to come pay gets disheartening. It's not that I couldn't do the job, I just didn't enjoy it. We would have to work late nights to make collection calls which made – more... me have to make outside arrangements for my son. The daycare closes at 6pm and I usually get off work at 5:30. It seemed pointless to have to pay full time daycare when I was constantly having to call someone else to get him on late nights or Saturdays. One good thing about the job was that I loved the people I worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Environment
Financial Representative (Former Employee), Wallace, NCNovember 26, 2012
Pros: excellent healthcare benefits, good place for advancement
Cons: system improvements every month.
Every day was a new challenge to face. Fast pace environment. Had to be able to multi-task throughout the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Environment
Branch Manager (Current Employee), West VirginiaNovember 14, 2012
Pros: freedom to run your office
Cons: stress caused by deliquent customers on a daily basis
Learned from and experienced a variety of different upper management styles.

No such term as a typical work day. Each and every day is unique.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SLFS Review
Financial Representative/Manager Trainee (Current Employee), Roanoke, VANovember 4, 2012
Company overall is terrible. Pays horrendous for college graduates. Benefits are awful. Job itself is actually pretty enjoyable and easy, but the pay, promise of promotion, and benefits are absolutely horrendous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place to work
Sr. Customer Account Specialist (Former Employee), Dunn, NCOctober 22, 2012
Pros: free lunches, competitions
Cons: late hours
Customer Service oriented place to work and love to work and meet new people. Working in Finance was a great experience. My co workers worked very hard and we all worked as a team, no office is run by just one person. I would say the hardest part of the job was collections, becaue even in this bad economy if you borrowed the money you had to pay us – more... back and some of the customers could not grasp that. The most enjoyable part of the job would have to be meeting new customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay lacks good management
Financial Representative (Current Employee), Morgan City, LAOctober 15, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: lack of management
I love meeting new people which is the best part of my job but with this company and the direct managent i am under I leave work with a migraine everyday. I have not been trained well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked well with others had planned to retire with this company
Sr. Customer Account Specialists (Former Employee), Bainbridge, GAOctober 9, 2012
Pros: pretty much monday thru friday work
Cons: healthcare kindly expensive
enjoyed working there, got along well with coworkers and enjoyed being a part of a well managed company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic and Uncertain
Sr. Service Specialist (Current Employee), Evansville, INOctober 1, 2012
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: job security
Was constantly review documents, emailing and talking to both internal and external employees.
Learned time management.
Hardest part of the job was giving bad news to upper management about a potential employee.