SSAB Employee Reviews

Found 16 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old school
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IAOctober 18, 2016
Steel mills are traditionally loud, dirty, dangerous work and this one was no different. Management was in silo's. Many old school practices were still in place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Office Administration (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALSeptember 13, 2016
The best place ever worked. Smart people, work safe and do good work. They are really nice - nicest and most generous people I've ever worked with. Everyone looks out for each other.

A typical day at work is me going to my desk and doing my job. There is not a lot of looking over your shoulder and micro managing. We do our jobs and we enjoy the people we work with.

Management is great. You couldn't pick the managers out of a crowd of people standing around 9 times out of 10, because they don't throw their weight around and they act just like regular people. They're professional and good at their jobs, but they're chill and fun to be around. They're fair with their managing style.

Everything I just said can be said about my co-workers. They're nice and hard working.

The hardest part of my job is keeping up with the work, but everybody is supportive, and if you're pulling your own weight there is no real problem.

The most enjoyable part of the job is being around the people who work here.
Pros
The people who work here. The job security, pay and the benefits.
Cons
Long drive if you're not in north Mobile, but worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good compavy overall
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Axis, ALMay 18, 2016
good company to work for. good benefits, overtime available, good management,great retirement, good safety record, treats employees fair, good pay and bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Envirormental Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALApril 24, 2016
This was a great place to work. I learned a lot.I really got along well with management and co workers. I would recommend anyone to work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly employees
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Montpelier, IAMarch 2, 2016
Fast paced work, friendly co-workers. The hardest part about the job was when you were so ahead of schedule that the only thing you could do was start your assignments back over.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at a Swedish company
IT SYSTEM ANALYST, Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Lisle, ILAugust 9, 2015
The staff at SSAB are great to work with!!!
They are improving each month.

Typical day is spend resolving escalated support tickets, creating accounts or workflows to grant access to accounts.
I learned more about improving communication skills.
Management is open, they do not micromanage.
Co-workers are hard workers and fun to be with.
Hardest part of the job is getting information for the customers.
Most enjoyable part is getting to work to see what I can solve!
Pros
Good people
Cons
Helping people on the night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Decent Place to Work
Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Houston, TxJuly 22, 2015
A good company to work for i.e. Benefits, Pay, and work life balance. However, opportunity for advancement is very limited.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy Schedule, well paid.
Down Coiler / Hot Plate Leveler Operator (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IAJune 2, 2015
Work 2 weeks of day shift then 2 weeks of night shift. 12 hour days and working every other weekend. Co workers are friendly and everyone looks out for each other. If you can handle the schedule you will be well compensated.
Pros
Safer than people realize
Cons
bad schedule, Once you learn jobs you its almost impossible to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A simple work life at ssab
Certified Burn Bed Operator (Former Employee) –  Axis, ALMay 27, 2015
A excellent place of employment. There were no physical constrains to learning the job. The working environment was very enjoyable.
Pros
Provided free cleaned working uniforms, free boot vouchers, provided all safe PPE and a excellent health and dental benefits.
Cons
No Comments
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job, Tough Work Schedule
Downcoiler/ Hot Plate Leveller Operator (Current Employee) –  Montpelier, IAMay 18, 2015
Be prepare to work a swinging shift. 2 weeks of days then 2 weeks of nights alternating. Co workers are great. Its hard to get promoted after you learn all jobs there are to do.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Work Schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about SSAB?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Actively working outside for 12 hours.
Coil Yard/Rail Car Loader-Strapper (Former Employee) –  Axis, ALMay 11, 2015
Each day is a 12 hour shift from 0600 to 1800.
I learned how to band coil and load/strap railcars.
My co-workers were very helpful and enthused about their job.
The hardest part of the job was the heat, but nothing major.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working along with co-wokers.
Pros
Work at your own pace. Long breaks if needed.
Cons
Dangerous heavy equipment; could easily get hurt.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great plant to work for!
Team Leader--LMF (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALMay 6, 2015
Great company to work for. Very good 401k and health insurance. Hardest part was dealing with the heat in the summer and cold in the winter.
Pros
Great people to work with.
Cons
Only 2 raises in 15 years
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Shift Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Axis, ALNovember 10, 2014
It wasthe best job i every had. Great people and benefits. hated to leave but was a family decision that i regret
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay solid place to work
Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IAFebruary 18, 2013
At the start of the day I would look at the orders of trucks and rail cars that needed to be loaded. Inspect my crane and load either flat steel or coiled on to either a rail car or truck.
I learned to run an over head crane with up to 10 magnets and two trollies. I can run heavy machienery, run a slitter and am a fast learner.
The Management and co workers were good to work with.
Hardest part of job was getting moved to the Slitter and 2years later they started cutting hours in fear of losing coil products and going strictly to plate.
Most enjoyable was the security
Pros
seurtity with pay and benifits.
Cons
hours in new department was slim
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Professional and Productive place to work
Credit Analyst (Former Employee) –  Warrenville, ILNovember 16, 2012
Credit review of orders on hold. Follow up on collection calls.
Work on bring aging of accounts current.
Very professional mgmt. team.
Co-workers were very knowledgable in the credit and collections field.
Learned a great deal from Co-workers re: the industry which helped me do my job at a higher level.
Great work atmosphere.
Pros
excellent pay with a very productive work enviroment
Cons
only a contract position
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

See more SSAB reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5