SSAB Employee Reviews

Found 22 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of work to do
steel worker (Current Employee) –  Muscatine, IAAugust 11, 2017
Good pay, awful schedule. The company doesn't care about you as a person. You're filling a role. Everyone is very expendable. The schedule is a 12 hour work day, every other 2 weeks you switch from working days to working nights. There is no balance between home and work. The divorce rate is exceptionally high.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
schedule, you are always tired
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice coworkers and great team
Manager (Former Employee) –  Lisle, ILAugust 11, 2017
SSAB is an excellent place to work. I felt my work was valued and the people I worked with genuinely cared about me and my family. They have excellent benefits and support employees in their roles of trying to improve processes.
Pros
Compensation, benefits, autonomy, goal setting, communication
Cons
I cannot think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor management at Northport location
DRAFTSMAN (Current Employee) –  Northport, ALAugust 5, 2017
Not a very good place to work due to no organization and overall morale. Good benefits and nice having weekends off but that's the only good things. Pay is decent but will be asked to do things beyond your pay grade.
Pros
Good benefits, Weekends off, Good hours
Cons
No structure, No communication, Horrible morale, Workers not appreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
in the beginning it was fun - now not so much
Inside sales (Current Employee) –  Township of Moon, PA 15108March 2, 2017
It is a man's world in that company. Females very, very seldom get promoted and no respect is shown from the junior employees to the seasoned employees. Employees are very critical of others and no matter if you have many years of experience, you DO NOT get respect from the rookies.
Pros
minimal travel
Cons
micro managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Lead IT Analyst (Former Employee) –  Lisle, ILFebruary 21, 2017
Good company with great ethics. Less salary but good benefits with compensates.
Been with the company for 3 years and had a great team to work from top management. Pretty stable company
Pros
Good Atmosphere, Good people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work if you can handle the conditions
Operator (Former Employee) –  Axis, ALNovember 30, 2016
The swing shift can be hard on the body, but the people are great. I would recommend this job for any individual that does not have children or sickly family that need them during working hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old school
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IAOctober 18, 2016
Steel mills are traditionally loud, dirty, dangerous work and this one was no different. Management was in silo's. Many old school practices were still in place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Office Administration (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALSeptember 13, 2016
The best place ever worked. Smart people, work safe and do good work. They are really nice - nicest and most generous people I've ever worked with. Everyone looks out for each other.

A typical day at work is me going to my desk and doing my job. There is not a lot of looking over your shoulder and micro managing. We do our jobs and we enjoy the people we work with.

Management is great. You couldn't pick the managers out of a crowd of people standing around 9 times out of 10, because they don't throw their weight around and they act just like regular people. They're professional and good at their jobs, but they're chill and fun to be around. They're fair with their managing style.

Everything I just said can be said about my co-workers. They're nice and hard working.

The hardest part of my job is keeping up with the work, but everybody is supportive, and if you're pulling your own weight there is no real problem.

The most enjoyable part of the job is being around the people who work here.
Pros
The people who work here. The job security, pay and the benefits.
Cons
Long drive if you're not in north Mobile, but worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good compavy overall
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Axis, ALMay 18, 2016
good company to work for. good benefits, overtime available, good management,great retirement, good safety record, treats employees fair, good pay and bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Envirormental Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALApril 24, 2016
This was a great place to work. I learned a lot.I really got along well with management and co workers. I would recommend anyone to work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly employees
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Montpelier, IAMarch 2, 2016
Fast paced work, friendly co-workers. The hardest part about the job was when you were so ahead of schedule that the only thing you could do was start your assignments back over.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at a Swedish company
IT SYSTEM ANALYST, Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Lisle, ILAugust 9, 2015
The staff at SSAB are great to work with!!!
They are improving each month.

Typical day is spend resolving escalated support tickets, creating accounts or workflows to grant access to accounts.
I learned more about improving communication skills.
Management is open, they do not micromanage.
Co-workers are hard workers and fun to be with.
Hardest part of the job is getting information for the customers.
Most enjoyable part is getting to work to see what I can solve!
Pros
Good people
Cons
Helping people on the night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Decent Place to Work
Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Houston, TxJuly 22, 2015
A good company to work for i.e. Benefits, Pay, and work life balance. However, opportunity for advancement is very limited.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy Schedule, well paid.
Down Coiler / Hot Plate Leveler Operator (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IAJune 2, 2015
Work 2 weeks of day shift then 2 weeks of night shift. 12 hour days and working every other weekend. Co workers are friendly and everyone looks out for each other. If you can handle the schedule you will be well compensated.
Pros
Safer than people realize
Cons
bad schedule, Once you learn jobs you its almost impossible to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A simple work life at ssab
Certified Burn Bed Operator (Former Employee) –  Axis, ALMay 27, 2015
A excellent place of employment. There were no physical constrains to learning the job. The working environment was very enjoyable.
Pros
Provided free cleaned working uniforms, free boot vouchers, provided all safe PPE and a excellent health and dental benefits.
Cons
No Comments
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job, Tough Work Schedule
Downcoiler/ Hot Plate Leveller Operator (Current Employee) –  Montpelier, IAMay 18, 2015
Be prepare to work a swinging shift. 2 weeks of days then 2 weeks of nights alternating. Co workers are great. Its hard to get promoted after you learn all jobs there are to do.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Work Schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Actively working outside for 12 hours.
Coil Yard/Rail Car Loader-Strapper (Former Employee) –  Axis, ALMay 11, 2015
Each day is a 12 hour shift from 0600 to 1800.
I learned how to band coil and load/strap railcars.
My co-workers were very helpful and enthused about their job.
The hardest part of the job was the heat, but nothing major.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working along with co-wokers.
Pros
Work at your own pace. Long breaks if needed.
Cons
Dangerous heavy equipment; could easily get hurt.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great plant to work for!
Team Leader--LMF (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALMay 6, 2015
Great company to work for. Very good 401k and health insurance. Hardest part was dealing with the heat in the summer and cold in the winter.
Pros
Great people to work with.
Cons
Only 2 raises in 15 years
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Shift Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Axis, ALNovember 10, 2014
It wasthe best job i every had. Great people and benefits. hated to leave but was a family decision that i regret
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay solid place to work
Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IAFebruary 18, 2013
At the start of the day I would look at the orders of trucks and rail cars that needed to be loaded. Inspect my crane and load either flat steel or coiled on to either a rail car or truck.
I learned to run an over head crane with up to 10 magnets and two trollies. I can run heavy machienery, run a slitter and am a fast learner.
The Management and co workers were good to work with.
Hardest part of job was getting moved to the Slitter and 2years later they started cutting hours in fear of losing coil products and going strictly to plate.
Most enjoyable was the security
Pros
seurtity with pay and benifits.
Cons
hours in new department was slim
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SSAB. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4