SSP Employee Reviews in United States

Found 19 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Far too much employee turnover
Senior Aerospace mid mgr (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAJune 30, 2016
Dysfunctional company culture cultivated by sr mgmt, who micromanage and focus on irrelevant employee skills and flaws. Rather than try to eliminate any truly significant flaws of employees, they would rather just eliminate that person altogether. Weird politics that protects under-achievers and ignores positive attitude team players who truly contribute and standout. Good HR team and middle managers. But if anybody wants somebody ousted, they only need to feed the political pipeline with disparaging innuendo.
Pros
Solid HR, engineering team, and most mid-level mgrs
Cons
Excessive layoffs. Zero job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Contracts (Current Employee) –  Burbank, CAApril 29, 2016
A place with opportunities to grow professionally. Long work hours, sometimes 7 days a week for many. The pressure to make the numbers for the quarter is high.
Pros
Good Insurance coverage
Cons
long work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Universal Praise
Misc. Laborer (Current Employee) –  Festus, MOApril 7, 2016
Sound Scaper Production is a small family operated company that specializes in custom manufacturing with adequate pay. Working for the company is difficult but the above average pay more than compensates for the labor.
Pros
high pay
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Application Engineer, Southeast Sales Mgr. CNG Plus
Applications Engineer, Southeast Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Twinsburg, OHMarch 30, 2016
SSP CNG Plus : (Compressed Natural Gas) a Small Div. of SSP

All projects start from customer drawings, a review would build a Bill Of Materials(BOM) to quote. This would be followed up till time of PO. Most all projects followed with in the field training and project follow up till project was completed.

This industry is directly controlled by fuel prices, when I started the fuel was at 4.50/gal. as of recently it went as low as 1.53/gal.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people work here management is cut throat
Senior Aerospace (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CASeptember 3, 2015
Great environment with friendly work mates but safety is commonly neglected just to produce more parts with sometimes untrained or unproperly trained workers.
Pros
Excellent pay and great coworker comroddery
Cons
Long shifts on your feet and unsafe work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In home- one-to-one services
Team Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Danvers, MAAugust 19, 2015
Through this job I was able to learn a great deal. I was promoted throughout my time with the company, where I widened my skill set. I worked with children under the age of three diagnosed on the autism spectrum. Working with this population was very rewarding. As I advanced my career, I had to learn the balance of working with the families and paperwork. Also the demand of co-workers and staff can be a challenging process in learning how everyone works differently. However, through balance and having open communication everyone was able to work together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Regional Business Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Gulf CoastJuly 13, 2015
SSP is a true American Manufacturing success story

Learned great management skills, sales management, distribution management, etc

Great co-workers, family environment

Hardest part was selling against Swagelok

I love to work and sell, so I loved every aspect of this job
Pros
Great Company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manual Labor
Drop Hammer Operator (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAApril 25, 2015
The job itself is stressful physically, but it can be overcome with determination and strong work ethic. I learned the meaning of physical labor in the best way possible.
Pros
Sundays off and overtime
Cons
Co-workers were immature
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  new yorkApril 1, 2015
making sure everything is neat and proper being able to treat customers right it is basically about customer service. The most enjoyable thing was seeing new faces everyday and being able to make peoples day.
Pros
recognization
Cons
nothing free.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great long term career
Senior Aerospace (Current Employee) –  Burbank, CAMarch 9, 2015
fast pace environment
great motivated workers and team
supportive management team
easy work load
paid vacation and sick time off
Pros
optional overtime if requested
Cons
required to work full 7 day week periods if needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor mangement with no advancement and little benefits
butcher/slicer (Former Employee) –  arizona,phxDecember 5, 2014
not a very good job with rude management and poor leadership skills, the only decent thing about this place is the union and what little benefits they have.
Cons
short breaks poor mangement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Assistant Life
Student Support Program (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 11, 2014
Great job IF allowed students to take on full-time employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
FullTime Cashier (Former Employee) –  jamaica , nyNovember 3, 2014
i took orders made salads for the customers , i also cleaned the store restocked the fridge and counter ,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work not well organized
EHS Manager (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAOctober 28, 2014
This is not a company I would recommend because of the high turn out rate and lack of consistency in management. No balance between work and life. Very unsafe conditions for employee exposures.
Pros
friendly workforce
Cons
very cut throat environment blaming each other no accountability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employer
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAAugust 26, 2014
Fun, fast paced, challeging place to work. Excellent work force in place.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in resurant for first time
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 2, 2014
Like to work with new and friendly people. Love to learn new thing from diffrent people.
Pros
50% off on any food that we bout from the companie
Cons
short breaks and not good management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A not so typical day at the office.
Social Service Practitioner (Current Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAAugust 25, 2013
Working in child welfare is different every day. Things are always changing in the office and one must be flexible. I always try to plan my day with a "to-do-list", but working in child welfare means never getting to finish the to do list. More important things come up such as responding to emergency calls, change of placement for children, providing crisis intervention for parents. Having a good support system and knowing how to always have time for "self-care" is the most important thing especially when working in such a unpredictable field. Although, the job is emotionally draining and often times mentally difficult the best part about working in child welfare is knowing that I am making small waves that will eventually lead to waves of change in children and families lives.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work
Student Services Professional (SSP) III (Current Employee) –  Chico, CAJune 4, 2013
Great benefits, salary is stagnant, no in range or longevity, no raises. Flexible and beautiful campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report

See more SSP reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 203 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1