Find companies:
ST JOSEPH HOSPITAL
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
49 reviews

ST JOSEPH HOSPITAL Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most enjoyable part of the job
RN, Charge (Current Employee), Bangor, MaineOctober 20, 2014
working collaboratively in an environment that is conducive for team nursing, advocating for patient and enhanced provider communication.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Registration in a emergency room
Registrar II (Former Employee), Orange, CASeptember 10, 2014
Pros: benefits were great, always overtime so earning potential was great
Cons: not ideal for those who have little ones
A typical day at work was to be assigned to different zones within the emergency room and gather demographic info as well as the appropriate insurance documentation and verify eligibility, We also collected co pays and deductibles when necessary
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cardiac Cath Lab
Registered Nurse, Cardiac Cath Lab/IR (Former Employee), Kirkwood, MOAugust 27, 2014
Small group of co-workers in a small community setting. Very personalized treatment of the patients that we were serving
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned many new skills
Security Officer (Former Employee), Tampa, FLAugust 21, 2014
Pros: fellows workers assisted in daily operations
Cons: sometimes had to work entra hours and lots of after work training
working conditions were good people i worked with were professional and helpful at all times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a friendly atmosphere.
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Tampa FloridaJuly 20, 2014
Pros: progression
Being the first one there in the morning to open up the Pacu unit was great it gave me a feeling that my co-workers had faith in me ,everyone worked so well together it was amazing .The surgeons were always sharing new proceedures . The turn over in recovery room was fast and exciting never a dull moment.Management was informative and always educating – more... and cross training you for different positions.
. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Medical Claims Processor (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIApril 23, 2014
Pros: great company
Cons: nothing
very valuable work experience
dealt with duplicates
manaual reviews
COB's
pricing
payments
denials
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Environmental Specialist (Current Employee), MaineApril 13, 2014
This is a great place to work while being a student in college!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Echo lab in transition
Cardiac Sonographer (Former Employee), Eureka, CAMarch 29, 2014
Pros: independence of operation, overtime earnings opportunity, courtesy and pleasantness of clinical staff, nurses and administrators..
Cons: lack of presence, availability, support, self-interested according to budget requirements, unrealistic hr and department manager, my being used as a pawn, hiring a new-grad trainee for the work-load and responsibilities expected, low-paid first-time intern
Disappointed at how my new-grad position was mismanaged. I learned how to run the entire workings of an echo cardiology lab, from in-coming interdepartmental calls for scheduling, to performing all cardiac sonography examinations while carrying a pager-on-call, responsible for covering the out-patient schedule, while having to respond to calls for TEE – more... surgery, emergency room and ICU and then to complete the day, usually after hours to perform any in-patient echo requisitions for cardiologists to read the following day, when patients were not readily available according to dinner and bathing and visitation and sleeping time.
The only person available to train me was a traveling tech who had no interest in my obtaining the necessary hands-on training that I was assured. He was written up for non-compliance through rude, abrupt and pushy behaviour with patients and nurses and nurse administrators, although he provided everything required to keep the cardiologists happy with his work. I was terminated just before my 30 days of probation, just before my union membership would have been granted, within a week after

The hardest part of my job was lack of support and communication from the manager, the traveling tech and the back-up tech, who also made himself unavailable, as he had been turned down after applying for the full-time position that I had been hired for. The hardest task was that I was expected to take on the full-time responsibilities of the entire schedule, to run the entire workings of the echo lab as the solo employee in my capacity of newly graduated and first-time intern clinical trainee cardiac sonographer, after this traveler was terminated within three weeks when the manager took leave for a week with voicemail and cell phone completely unavailable to take calls, or even messages.
The most enjoyable part of the job was having all the exposure to and learning all the aspects required to keep an echo lab running. I enjoyed the opportunity I was given and I enjoyed the input and encouragement from the two cardiologists I worked with that spent most time in the hospital and the nurses and even the traveler tech., when he was not overly stressed out from trying to complete his schedule before the end of a normal work-day. Even the back-up tech. came in to bail me out and help me during the final weekend I was there alone, asking for help when my moving truck arrived with the rest of my belongings to settle in the area and the following day the parting comment I received from the manager was that I had made a heroic attempt and that I was so close to being able to keep things running alone, which was re-iterated by the back-up tech.! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with my team
Clinical Lab Assistant III (Current Employee), Orange, CAMarch 12, 2014
Pros: great team and co-workers
Cons: unstable financial hospital
Interview donors and perform vital signs. Collect blood performing venipuncture. Help outpatient lab when there is patient overflow. Maintan adequate supplies.
I have learned to prepare and organize budget reports. Maintain an adequate workflow at the Donor Center.
I've learn to plan, promote and execute outside drives.
The most enjoyable part is working – more... closely with my co-workers at outside center blood drives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Notch Orginization
Interventional Radiology Technologist (Former Employee), Bloomington, ILMarch 5, 2014
Pros: smart energetic staff
Cons: my assignment was not longer
Would work there again because the doctors and staff where great to work with. We did some cutting edge cases at this hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
St Joseph's Hospital was an absolutley wonderful place to work! I loved my job and all my colleagues
MAINTENANCE PAINTER (Former Employee), Orange, CAFebruary 12, 2014
I served a 7 year tenure with St Josephs Hospital and was currently laid off due to my position was eliminated.
In my 7 years, I was recognized by receiving many merits and awards, including most recently, 2013 Values in Action award.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not recommend working there
Clerk (Former Employee), Tucson, AZFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: the staff i personally worked with was great, most were great team players
Cons: overworked and way under staffed patient to nurse/tech ratio, not enough pay for work you do and staff is way under appreciated for all their hard work
I loved working there the first couple of years but patient to tech ratio kept increasing making it a patient safety issue. Management isn't there to monitor during shift and felt that doing my best was never good enough when it came to evaluations. Some of the Nurses are very "clicky" with management and if they didn't like you, it was reflected. Outside – more... of work, it is sad to hear people you know who don't know you worked there put the Hospital down, stating that the care has drastically decreased and they refused to go to that hospital anymore. Makes you wonder.
the most enjoyable part of my job was that Nobody wanted the position so I was able to make good money because of all the overtime I was able to get – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PACU routine
RN (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: good staff
Cons: on call
As usual in post op recovery. Nurses worked well together and assisted each other as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent workplace
Patient Account Specialist-Cancer Center (Former Employee), Orange, CADecember 11, 2013
Pros: great work place with good benefits and compensation.
St Joseph Hospital was a great place to work at; their four core values of Justice, Dignity, Excellence & Service are well practiced. I had excellent relationships with my co-workers and management.I worked in the Cancer Center and developed excellent relationships with our patients. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to help our patients – more... with their concerns. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Circulating Nurse (Former Employee), Breese, ILDecember 3, 2013
Very fast paced. Admit patients to OR , check charts to be sure it is accurate. Take patient to OR suite, assisted doctor in different aspects. PACU patients after surgery.Advocate for patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Greeter (Former Employee), phx,azNovember 26, 2013
wasnt there long, was a temp so didnt get to learn more about the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume 280 bed hospital
Medical Technologist, Generalist,Microbiologist (Current Employee), Tacoma, WANovember 11, 2013
Pros: learn to multitask well
Cons: high volume
A number of people there over 20 years. Team effort emphasized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very busy office but the people are wonderful!
parient service represenative (Current Employee), St Joseph HospitalOctober 13, 2013
Love my job. Register new patients, answer 10 lines, my co-workers are wonderful people..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Baycare health system was awesome for me .
RN circulating and charge nurse (Former Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 8, 2013
I WORKED THERE FOR 3 YEARS AND LEARNED SO MUCH FROM THIS HOSPITAL. THE STAFF WORKED AS A TEAM AND THE MANAGEMENT SUPPORTED THEIR STAFF.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Central Registration and Patient Companion (Former Employee), Nashua, NHSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: having someone tell me how much i helped them
Cons: spending a lot of time with patients and they passed on
It was a wonderful place to work. I learned a lot of medical terminology, and a lot of medical administration, billing and collections. Learning was a daily part of the job, and I grew so much. I liked the management staff and my co-workers. It could be stressful at times like any job can be when working with the public, but I loved what I was doing. – more... I got a great deal of satisfaction when I was working with patients, both in an administrative capacity, as well as one on one when I was in the Patient Companion Role. – less

1 2 3