Find companies:
St Mary's Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

St Mary's Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
Telemetry Registered Nurse (Former Employee), West Palm BeachMay 16, 2014
Busy, busy, busy.

I learned to become a leader here. Its ok to change your mind and go in a different direction with ones career

Management is supportive of education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace with fun coworkers.
Nurse Aide PACU/ OR (Former Employee), Langhorne, PAMarch 15, 2014
A typical day at St Marys included managing a recovery room with 15 patients at all time. Maintaining a clean work environment and assisting the nurses with all necessary items was all a part of my job. I never felt like I was at "work", it was always about satisfying the patients and their families. All my co-workers were lively and fun people who – more... loved the job just as I did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice atmosphere
Office Clerk (Former Employee), Huntington, WVFebruary 27, 2014
This company was a very nice atmosphere to work for. I was a medical assistant and assisted the nurse practitioner and doctor with taking care of patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a great place to work if we didnt have so much drama
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Blue Springs, MOFebruary 25, 2014
*cleaning the patients rooms, ER, OR and offices
*I know a lot about cleaning since I have so much exp.
*I get along with most of my coworkers but my lead worker picks favorites
*hardest part of my job is when we are short staffed and we get other areas added to where we are at
*more enjoyable part of my job is being around the people I work with and – more... the patients in the hospital, I am a people person and wouldn't change it for the world – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Specialist
Project Specialist (Current Employee), Evansville, INFebruary 8, 2014
Clean corridors, clean patient rooms, and set up for meetings and banquets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very encouraging and supportive workplace.
Volunteer (Former Employee), Langhorne, PAOctober 20, 2013
Pros: diverse group of people, free lunches in the big canteen.
Patient care coordination. We were 50 volunteers, enthusiastic and raring to go. Everybody was kept busy. I was working on the volunteer database, updating it, entering data, tweaking and cleaning where appropriate. I also did some customizing and quick retrieval of data.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Medical Social Work MSW Intern (Former Employee), long Beach, CASeptember 18, 2013
Pros: great cafeteria food
Cons: short breaks
Linking Patients to Community Resources (Mental Health, Substance Abuse, Rehabilitation Services, Food Banks, Low-Cost Housing, etc.)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dependable and Professional Evironment
Admitting Representative (Former Employee), Richmond Heights, MOSeptember 10, 2013
A typical work day included was challenging providing clerical and clinical services between two office buildings. I learned a lot of medical terminology and training through clinical services. Management was trusting in dealing with patients. Co-workers were dependable and worked hard. The hardest part of the job was not being able to accept unscheduled – more... patients. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting a diversity of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work!
Echo Technician (Current Employee), Huntington, WVAugust 26, 2013
Pros: free health care benefits, and enjoyable work environment.
Cons: would really like to be near my children in the columbus, oh area.
St. Mary's Medical Center reminds me of a large family. Everyone knows everyone and is very respectful of each other. From house keeping personnel to renown thoracic surgeons and cardiologists, everyone treats each other with kindness and thoughtfulness. A typical day may start by performing a transesophageal echo (TEE) in open heart surgery, then return – more... to the lab and perform echos on both outpatients and inpatients. Maybe approaching noon I will perform a TEE on an out pt. then before lunch go do a stat in ER or one of the ICU areas. After lunch call surgery to see if they are ready for me to return and finish the TEE. Afternoon I may do a stress echo, either chemical or exercise and after that attempt to get caught up on existing echos both in the echo lab or portable in the ICU's before the end of the day. All of us attempt to be the best we can be and sometimes boast that peers in other hospitals lack the skills we possess. In the echo department we enjoy respect and support from all the other departments. Especially from the ICU nurses and cath lab staff. Management does not interfere with our daily duties and will help facilitate progress. Co-workers are a mixture of old and young techs that get along very well and unselfishly help one another. The hardest part of my job is keeping up with the demand for echos. Seems like there is a large demand for echo testing. I really enjoy meeting new people daily. This makes life a joy when I can participate in successful outcomes for our patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Assume the role of a charge nurse on the Med (Former Employee), West Palm beach FloridaAugust 12, 2013
Fun place to work with a lot of team players. Opportunity to learn more from step down nurses and care for trauma patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Accounting Assistant Accounts payable Assistant (Current Employee), Hermantown, MnJuly 23, 2013
Pros: free parking
Cons: stress
Overall St Mary's is a great place to work. For the most part the people are very caring and respectfull.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Langhorne, PAJuly 6, 2013
Fun place to work. Needs to hire more help. Management needs to lead by example.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great training, alot of room for advancement
Registered nurse (Former Employee), Racine, WIMay 20, 2013
Pros: teaching hospital
Cons: poor work/life balance
Grad nurse mentgoring program not available to all grad nurses. Work/life balance not avail-especially hard with children to perform bedside nursing during the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A close knit environment
Unit Secretary (Former Employee), Blue Springs, MOMay 9, 2013
Entering doctors orders into the order entry system took up the majority of the day. Entering care plans for patients, surgical or medical. I learned to work well and smoothly with the nurses and doctors. As a secretary I ended up doing many small jobs around the nurses station, or around the hospital. I assisted other secretaries in their departments. – more... I floated to different units as needed.
I learned how to interpret doctors notes and orders, and how to use the resources that I had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co-workers and interdisciplinary team
Physical Therapist II (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAMarch 26, 2013
Mid-size hospital with a good group of co-workers. Acute PT, OT and ST staff along with another set of PT, OT's and ST that work in acute rehab. Typical day is spent working with an average of 8-10 patients, attending daily unit bed huddles and sometimes SNF or ortho rounds depending on the day.
I enjoy working with my co-workers and feel well supported. – more... The management staff is in a state of transition at this time.
The hardest part of my job is being as efficient as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital
Assistant Director of Food and Nutrition Services (Current Employee), West Palm Beach, FLMarch 20, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: benefits and some, but not many, rn's are rough. union
Exciting place with alot of good people. Cafeteria food is excellent with a great employee discount. RD's are outstanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very broad range of employment opurtunity in the health care industry
Distribution Technician (Former Employee), Grand Junction, CONovember 3, 2012
This employer was very policy strong yet willing to reward the individual who followed the leader. excellent chance for movement within
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. I enjoyed being here.
Unit Clerk (Former Employee), Apple Valley, CAOctober 1, 2012
Pros: staff was super
Cons: long hours
I learned a lot here. I enjoyed the staff and all I learned here. I miss the staff. Had to leave : I was relocating. Was really hard for me to leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, challenging place to work
Staff Pharmacist in the Operating Room (Former Employee), Duluth, MNSeptember 24, 2012
A typical day for me was a mixture of routine daily items, along with new challenges based on patient needs, problems, and emergency situations. I learned how to work with other professionals accross a variety of departments to solve problems with inovative ideas. My co-workers showed me the highest amount of respect possible, and I tried to show them – more... the same. I enjoyed the challenges, the emergencies, as well as working with wonderful talented people on all levels. The hardest part was leaving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Nice people
Volunteer Experiences (Former Employee), Apple Valley, CASeptember 10, 2012
Extremely nice people, my family works there. Been there for years. The food is decent but everyone is really nice there smiling and having a good time, while getting there job done.

St Mary's Medical Center Photos