St Vincent de Paul Society Employee Reviews

Found 278 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Explainting vouchers guidelines to clients.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHFebruary 22, 2017
Getting clients to understand the guidelines/policies of vouchers in relations to the limitations of individual category with respect to the amount apply to each category.
Pros
Receiving quarterly bonus.
Cons
Unable to take breaks due to customers demands.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasnt a fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Waukesha, WIFebruary 20, 2017
I didnt like working there the mangers were rude and fired a pregnant person. For no reason boss acts snotty towards people if someone sees that something needs to be done nobody does it and would make cashiers do their work and too much drama
Pros
Discounts on stuff in the store
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management does not communicate.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 19, 2017
Not enough communication from management. Strong company politics create weak advancement opportunities and no job security which equates to low employee moral.
Pros
Dedicated volunteers.
Cons
Low employee moral.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all a very good place to learn how to to organize your work load.
Distribution Specialist (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAFebruary 17, 2017
I started working there and I found myself becoming a leader with added responsibilities. I became the man that I am today through hard work and dedication to completing assignments.
Pros
Good management good training.
Cons
Hard labor intensive work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dull enviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Auburn, WAFebruary 13, 2017
was not a great place to work at. and the staff and managers were very rude. low pay with no benefits. no room to grow with in the company. just felt as if it was a dead end job.
Pros
N/A
Cons
rude staff/management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work at also to gain experience
Volunteer Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 3, 2017
this was a great place to work at helped gain alot of experience here and was able to learn alot i enjoyed volunteering here and would volunteer again if i was asked to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 2, 2017
Great company to work for if you are a nice friendly person who likes helping others. This company is all about helping others. If you don't like to help this is not the company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Development Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHFebruary 1, 2017
nice work environment, everyone is friendly, we are all working towards on goal that's to help people. easy to move up in the organization. very family oriented
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Client Advocate (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJanuary 29, 2017
Staff and management are very supportive. They have flexible hours. They really work with people in the in the community to eliminate poverty. The move enjoyable part is making a difference in the client's lives.
Pros
GREAT WORK ENVIRONMENT, FLEXIBLE
Cons
PAY IS NOT THAT GREAT
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enojoyable place to work with a family-like atmoshpere
Social Work Intern (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJanuary 20, 2017
At SVDP, I was a social work intern. I gained much experience in my time there. I mostly grew in communication with people of different cultures. My supervisor was great at challenging me to learn as much as possible. Almost everyday I spent some time at the front desk and that's where I was able to make relationships with clients the most. I also did intake for the food pantry, intake for rent/utility assistance, and attended meetings. The hardest part of working there was seeing the people who came in going through such a hard time. However, the most enjoyable part of the job was being able to foster hope in the people we helped.
Pros
Relationships with coworkers
Cons
Aggressive clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is low stress employement with several benefits
AARP Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIJanuary 17, 2017
I enjoy my job and the people I work with. They are liberal leaning with a true desire to help the less fortunate. My day is spent on the cash register, pricing and stocking. There is little difficult about what I do and an additional perk is I get discounts on merchandise as an employee.
Pros
Many
Cons
Very few
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Slinger, WIJanuary 16, 2017
I love this place ans what they do for the community. They have a great work environment. Great Place to work at, they are understanding and caring for their employees.
Pros
Great Work envirnoment
Cons
Lower wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun stable workplace
Donation Attendant (Former Employee) –  Eugene, ORJanuary 12, 2017
I really enjoyed my time working for the company. Very friendly co-workers, was a little poor when it came to management. But overall its a great company
Pros
20% discount
Cons
items had to be on sales floor for 24 hours before purchase should be made
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard job but easy work.
Truck Unloader (Former Employee) –  Fitchburg, WIJanuary 5, 2017
the job was very hard only cause we had to unload so many trucks a day but it was also easy ive learned alot workin there it ws my first time workin at a warehouse but it was fun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun workplace
Backroom Team Member (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDJanuary 1, 2017
This job is very fun and easy
if you like testing things out and thrift store work not to omention and awsome staff this is a great job for you
Pros
everything
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically demanding yet rewarding fast-paced job.
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHDecember 21, 2016
Management in dissaray, despite terrific opportunity to work at my own pace and delegate responsibilities. I actually was let go due to personal problems and then called back and rehired. They certainly weren't required to do that. But, I never knew from day to day who would be running the store and what would be required of me.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
Constant changes in management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Given back was great!
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 29, 2016
At first it was hard to trust the people, they would get upset over everything and scream at the end it got better. it felt good given back to the community and people that need the help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, fun environment. Never boring.
CASHIER- (Current Employee) –  Tacoma, WANovember 26, 2016
Love working here. I am a cashier/volunteer on a paid government program. Started as just a volunteer though. Love the people. Great attitudes (most people) A lot of the customers are regulars and you get to know them. The mission is an admirable one and love helping people. Management is excellent and friendly.
Pros
Good people, great mission. Great finds for cheap prices.
Cons
Little job security, unlikely to move up or gain employment, Most "workers" are volunteers doing community service or programs, Which is great, but not if you need permanent employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CANovember 21, 2016
the hardest part about working here was working with my co workers. some were not knowledgeable, non approachable. high stress level. challenging people to work with.
Pros
free lunch, meet new people
Cons
shorts breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Internship (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 21, 2016
A great environment to fulfill your internship, You are hands on and interacting with the clients. You are able to teach, facilitate and chart.
There is training on the systems that are used and peer instuctors that will assist you through out your internship
Pros
Hands on.
Cons
difficult to be hired on to staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St Vincent de Paul Society. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 462 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

St Vincent de Paul Society Reviews by Location