St. Alexius Hospital Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 29 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 29, 2015
I did my clinicals here while I was a student and fell in love with the people. I was hired on PRN after I graduated and still love all the people and the work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job.
Clinical Dietitian (Former Employee) –  Bismarck, NDSeptember 2, 2015
I was only prn at St.A's. I enjoyed working at St. A's but I didn't work there very long because I got a permanent job at Custer Health WIC Program shortly after starting at the hospital.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Hoffman Estates, ILAugust 26, 2015
A typical day could consist of anything from answering phone calls and assisting guests, to running errands for doctors and nurses around the hospital. Even as a volunteer, sometimes you would feel the stress of the other hospital employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very kind and considerate co-workers, we worked well as a team !
Patient Care Technician (PCT) Senior Care Center (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOAugust 2, 2015
A typical start of a day would include a report from the technician on all of the patients we would have including any special needs the patients might have. I learned to be more patient with people that have psychiatric needs. Management would always be on hand for direction at a moments notice. Co-workers, those nurse are some of the best ! Very helpful and always team players ! The hardest part would be when a patient would become physically aggressive toward staff and having to institute the hospital safety team approach to handle crisis of sort. The most enjoyable part of the job would be to see a patient coming into the hospital for help in a "Bad State", and eventually being discharged thinking clearly and the patient actually recognizing you and thanking you for helping them when they where not doing well mentally ! That was very meaningful !
Pros
good team work !
Cons
sometimes not being able to have lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad decision making by higher ups -
Lab Information Sys Mgr (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, Mo.July 6, 2015
When Tenet owned South Pointe Hospital, the atmosphere was enjoyable and employee appreciation was high. I enjoyed every minute working in the lab with a great group on technicians. But, when Tenet sold the hospital, moral dipped and lay-offs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment
Dietary Aide (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 22, 2015
Fast paced work environment with very little down time. The establishment kept high standards with cleanliness and focused on patient well being from care from the nurses to proper dietary need with the cooks.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
changing
Charge nurse (Former Employee) –  Hoffman Estates, ILJune 19, 2015
Very fast paced. No support from management. Too much work overload, short staffed. Don't feel appreciated. No recognition for doing good or going out of way. No job security. Poor benefits. Hardest part of job is keeping everybody happy. Best part is the co-workers.
Cons
breaks with interruptions
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student review
Student Nurse (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 4, 2015
I enjoyed my experience working with nurses with such a wonderful want of nursing. Every nurse that I worked with was truly passionate about their job. It was a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Hospital
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis, MOApril 20, 2015
A typical day of work consist of greeting people, answering phones, data entry, taking payments, and supervising. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interaction with public and staff was fun
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 16, 2014
Dealing with the psych patients and keeping them calm was the hardest part of the job.
THe co-workers were a blast to be around.
Pros
being able to interact with the psych patients
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Externship
Professional Externship (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILAugust 30, 2014
Great hands on training this is a very nice hospital and staff if extremely friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Staff Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 23, 2014
great coworkers and patient experience
- opportunity to learn and work with a diverse patient load
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
PCT (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 6, 2014
I would help the nurses out any way I could and vise versa. Everyone was very friendly and easy to work with and get along with. They had the necessary equipment for the job so it made things easier. The hardest part of the job was doing post mortem care. The most enjoyable part of the job is watching a patients progress and seeing them go home.
Pros
workers have a positive attitude
Cons
there are no cons about working here
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dependable work
Engineer I (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 4, 2014
good bunch of employees to work with;
learned to adjust water on DA;
managed communication with diverse co-workers
Pros
12 hour shifts, plus 4 hrs to get 40 hours in each week
Cons
unemployed during summer months [mid-april to mid-october]
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever!!
Radiology Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 28, 2014
The best coworkers ever! It was a pleasure to work at that facility with that set of coworkers
Pros
free parking
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job out of college and learnig experience
Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOFebruary 26, 2014
St. Alexius is a great place to work. The staff and management in the resp dept are friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
efficient and caring work environment
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOFebruary 5, 2014
great work place where teaching and learning are possible at all times
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Hospital
Administrative Residency (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 1, 2013
Incredible staff and highly skilled administration staff that communicates very well with all chains of the organization
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodctive , fun, caring ,sanitized place
House Keeping (Former Employee) –  Hoffman, ILSeptember 5, 2013
Learned how to clean, wash, and meet new people I learned different things and got to meet new people .
Pros
n/a/
Cons
n/a/
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice employees, horrible management
employee (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 18, 2013
St. Alexius is a city hospital, with a low income clientele. The employees here are wonderful. The executive management is very out of touch. CEO does not live in St. Louis, he commutes and doesn't even work full weeks. CNO does the same. Most employees and managers are mostly long time people struggling to get by and keep the hospital open.
Pros
wonderful employees
Cons
executive management, corporate management always cutting benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St. Alexius Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture