St. Alexius Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 34 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned alot about med/psych there and appreciated the experience. I met alot of great people.
Charge RN (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 14, 2017
I would prefer not to comment on the overall review of the hospital. I will say we have saved many of lives of the who were unfortunate to overdose on Heroin.
Pros
I was able to help from everywheere from gero psych to the ED
Cons
not enough staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lead Mammography Technologist (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 1, 2016
I love working at St. Alexius! They value your work, and show appreciation for it. The management really shows support for family life outside of the work setting. Everyone works together, like our own little family.
Pros
Management support
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Stationary Engineer (Former Employee) –  Elk Grove, ILOctober 26, 2016
Nice company to work for. Very please to be a part of the growth of the company. I would recommend working for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers
Clinical Auditor Tech (Current Employee) –  Hoffman Estates, ILOctober 9, 2016
Nurses have clicks and the only way to get in the hospital is to know higher ranks. Promotions are hard to receive and being hard working doesn't matter because they have the people they consider the special people that get everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging place to wpork
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 8, 2016
Teamwork, challenging position, constant attention to patients, need more employees, unreal expectations of nurses
Pros
Teamwork
Cons
Not enough pay for work done
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 29, 2015
I did my clinicals here while I was a student and fell in love with the people. I was hired on PRN after I graduated and still love all the people and the work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job.
Clinical Dietitian (Former Employee) –  Bismarck, NDSeptember 2, 2015
I was only prn at St.A's. I enjoyed working at St. A's but I didn't work there very long because I got a permanent job at Custer Health WIC Program shortly after starting at the hospital.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Hoffman Estates, ILAugust 26, 2015
A typical day could consist of anything from answering phone calls and assisting guests, to running errands for doctors and nurses around the hospital. Even as a volunteer, sometimes you would feel the stress of the other hospital employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very kind and considerate co-workers, we worked well as a team !
Patient Care Technician (PCT) Senior Care Center (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOAugust 2, 2015
A typical start of a day would include a report from the technician on all of the patients we would have including any special needs the patients might have. I learned to be more patient with people that have psychiatric needs. Management would always be on hand for direction at a moments notice. Co-workers, those nurse are some of the best ! Very helpful and always team players ! The hardest part would be when a patient would become physically aggressive toward staff and having to institute the hospital safety team approach to handle crisis of sort. The most enjoyable part of the job would be to see a patient coming into the hospital for help in a "Bad State", and eventually being discharged thinking clearly and the patient actually recognizing you and thanking you for helping them when they where not doing well mentally ! That was very meaningful !
Pros
good team work !
Cons
sometimes not being able to have lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad decision making by higher ups -
Lab Information Sys Mgr (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, Mo.July 6, 2015
When Tenet owned South Pointe Hospital, the atmosphere was enjoyable and employee appreciation was high. I enjoyed every minute working in the lab with a great group on technicians. But, when Tenet sold the hospital, moral dipped and lay-offs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment
Dietary Aide (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 22, 2015
Fast paced work environment with very little down time. The establishment kept high standards with cleanliness and focused on patient well being from care from the nurses to proper dietary need with the cooks.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
changing
Charge nurse (Former Employee) –  Hoffman Estates, ILJune 19, 2015
Very fast paced. No support from management. Too much work overload, short staffed. Don't feel appreciated. No recognition for doing good or going out of way. No job security. Poor benefits. Hardest part of job is keeping everybody happy. Best part is the co-workers.
Cons
breaks with interruptions
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student review
Student Nurse (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 4, 2015
I enjoyed my experience working with nurses with such a wonderful want of nursing. Every nurse that I worked with was truly passionate about their job. It was a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Hospital
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis, MOApril 20, 2015
A typical day of work consist of greeting people, answering phones, data entry, taking payments, and supervising. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interaction with public and staff was fun
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 16, 2014
Dealing with the psych patients and keeping them calm was the hardest part of the job.
THe co-workers were a blast to be around.
Pros
Being able to interact with the psych patients
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Externship
Professional Externship (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILAugust 30, 2014
Great hands on training this is a very nice hospital and staff if extremely friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Staff Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 23, 2014
great coworkers and patient experience
- opportunity to learn and work with a diverse patient load
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
PCT (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 6, 2014
I would help the nurses out any way I could and vise versa. Everyone was very friendly and easy to work with and get along with. They had the necessary equipment for the job so it made things easier. The hardest part of the job was doing post mortem care. The most enjoyable part of the job is watching a patients progress and seeing them go home.
Pros
workers have a positive attitude
Cons
there are no cons about working here
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dependable work
Engineer I (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 4, 2014
good bunch of employees to work with;
learned to adjust water on DA;
managed communication with diverse co-workers
Pros
12 hour shifts, plus 4 hrs to get 40 hours in each week
Cons
unemployed during summer months [mid-April to mid-October]
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever!!
Radiology Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 28, 2014
The best coworkers ever! It was a pleasure to work at that facility with that set of coworkers
Pros
free parking
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St. Alexius Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.7
Culture
4.1