Find companies:
St. Elizabeth's Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

St. Elizabeth's Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
Student (Current Employee), Utica, NYMarch 12, 2014
I am a radiography student. A typical day requires me to get patients changed, question them, do their x-rays, and then finish their paper work on the PACs system.
I've learned a lot about human anatomy, radiation physics, radiation safety, patient care, and the PACs system.
The hardest part of my job may be the most enjoyable part, as well. The hardest – more... part is getting diagnostic images on a difficult patient. It means working outside the box, and using different ideas to get a certain image. It may be hard but I like a challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always a challenge
Critical Care Unit Receptionist (Former Employee), Utica, NYFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: learned alot
Cons: could emotionally take a toll on you.
When you work in an ER there is never 2 days alike.. the volume could either off the wall or super quite. I cant really say that i remember 2 days in a row being alike.. there are happy moments when someone gets better and alot of sad days when people do not. This job was sometime quite stressful high pace and quick thinking was definately necessary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Microbiology Lead Technologist (Former Employee), Boston, MADecember 29, 2013
Now a for-profit hospital; Management lacks direction and employees are treated like numbers; Salaries are low compared to others in the area. Lab environment is antiquated and toxic
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning experience to learn many skills for jobs ahead
CNA (Current Employee), Belleville, ILNovember 24, 2013
Pros: discounts in cafeteria, good coworkers
Cons: no vision insurance, short breaks
-ADL's on patients, monitoring patient's vitals and symptoms

-I have learned surgical drains and surgical lifts to help patients, experience from working on different hospital floors

-management is always listening to everything you need to say and usually solves the issue efficiently

-coworkers are extremely helpful

-hardest part of job is receiving – more... extensive amount of patients and take care of them ifficiently

-Work well with coworkers and most everyone is a team player – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long drive from home
Student nurse on a step-down telemetry floor (Former Employee), Belleville, ILNovember 13, 2013
Pros: good place to start during nursing school
Cons: too far from home
Worked as a student nurse, under staffing is an issue, medical care is average, but not enough time to care for my patients as I would have liked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful management
Surgery (Former Employee), SurgeryNovember 5, 2013
Pros: patients
Cons: management arrogant nurses
Currently seeking legal guidance. If your not in the click or you are knowledgable in your job you scare them. Ignorant on job descriptions and how people are trained Management is untouchable ans arrogant
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you aren't with the "In" Crowd, you're going "Out"
ER Technician (Former Employee), Belleville, ILSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: has a nice soda machine in the cafeteria
Cons: will steal all your money and give you treatments you don't need
Currently in court for false termination, I would say if you needed a ER to help you, don't go here. I wouldn't trust this place with a splinter removal. Working on the ambulance we tried to convince people not to go here because we knew they wouldn't make it through the night, and if they did they wouldn't leave with any money left.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the place for me
Patient access (Former Employee), BellevilleSeptember 25, 2013
Cons: changing shifts
I was so excited to start my healthcare career and work for a top hospital. It was difficult to get ahold of supervisors and if every dept was trained in registration, it begs the question why there even is a central registration. Each employee did things differently. A fax was more important than helping the actual patient sitting in front of you. – more... There was no empathy or sense of caring and a lot of clicks and spying to get coworkers in trouble. Most workers didn't even smile at coworkers, let alone patients. It was very disheartening because I really wanted to be apart of a caring enjoyable workforce. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review of my Workplace
Mammography Technologist (Current Employee), Belleville, ILAugust 20, 2013
I enjoy working as a mammographer. The hospital I work at believes in and promotes respect, care, competence and joy and I do my best everyday to exemplify those qualities in my interaction with the people I come in contact with, not only patients by also my coworkers. I have learned it's all about teamwork. The hardest part of my job is not always – more... knowing the outcome of some of the patients conditions in the end, but I always find comfort in knowing that while I had contact with them, I gave them respect and showed them a caring attitude so that they felt comfortable with their time spent with me. I have a great boss who gives us a lot of support in many ways and find it a very joyful job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever
Gift Shop Manager/Buyer/Full Charge Bookkeeper (Former Employee), Brighton, MAMay 29, 2013
Each day was different. Supplying a pleasant environment for fellow employees, coworkers, visitors and patients to visit was very important. You try to make it a HAPPY place to be for after all it was a Hospital Gift Shop
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
community based
Staff technologist (Former Employee), Belleville, ILMay 7, 2013
Pros: catholic based
Cons: not enough staff
This hospital was one that you felt like a community and felt like they cared about you as am employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for high school students or interns
Customer service was met (Former Employee), Belleville, ILApril 3, 2013
Pros: fun atmosphere
Cons: survival job for someone just starting out
Food preperation. Fun atmosphere for the aspiring student
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to learn how to fix Medical devices
Biomedical Electronic Engineering (Former Employee), Brighton, MAMarch 8, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: hospital
St Elizabeth is a great Hospital, patients love it and they always said good thing about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious CPhT experience
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Appleton, WIMarch 7, 2013
Very busy. Very productive. Great experience! Lots of IV prep. Lots of Pyxis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional management lacking in communication skills
Patient access representative (Current Employee), Belleville,ilFebruary 6, 2013
Cons: managers and unskilled supervisors
Managers and supervisors need serious training in communication. I've worked for large corporations and small firms where there was respect given to the employees. Management will work you to the bone and step over your dead body without a care. Sad for a Catholic hospital to give so little care for their employees. Be prepared to work without breaks – more... or lunch, and get docked . Fellow coworkers will report your every mistake, as they live in fear for their own job. Rated one star, wish there was a lower rating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and organized place to work
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Lincoln, NEJanuary 15, 2013
I have always preferred taking care of surgical patients over medical patients, and this hospital separated them. I found that very appealing and appropriate for the patients and the care they required. This was my first job as a new grad, so everything was challenging at first. I found that my fellow coworkers were very helpful in providing me with – more... information/assistance to take good care of my patients. I had also done many of my clinical rotations at this hospital, so was already somewhat comfortable with the setting, which in turn, made me more comfortable with patient care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work
Phlebotomist Intern (Former Employee), Belleville, ILJanuary 7, 2013
I was not employed there, I just completed my internship hours at the facility. It was a great environment, and they made me feel like I was an employee while I was there. I would highly recommend St. Elizabeth's Hospital to anyone looking for a medical position
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They will eat their young
Surgery Scheduler/Clerk (Former Employee), Belleville, ILDecember 2, 2012
Pros: getting out of the department for lunch
Cons: management, pay wages
I enjoyed working with some of the people in surgery, the surgeons and their offices. I was willing to learn if I was allowed to. Mangagement around there is something to be desired. If you are not in the click you don't fit and won't be backed up when the time comes by management. The hardest part about my job was keeping The Anesthesia Department – more... and the Surgeons happy. – less

Matrece – January 6, 2013

I totally agree with this statement.. This is not a Good environment to work in. If you are not a BUTT Kisser you won't make it... Hospital on a scale of 1-10, 1 being the Worst, they are less than Zero.. MLRB

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to get my job done
Patient Access Rep (Former Employee), Belleville, ILNovember 11, 2012
Pros: i knew everyone
Cons: not enough time in the day to get everything done
I was happy doing my work. I enjoyed co-workers. I did a variety of duties including training. I left to move near my daughter who had twins and was going back to work in the Army.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commitment to patients and families with SMI
Unit Manager/House Supervisor (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 10, 2012
Pros: execellent on the job training
Cons: educating staff over all three shifts.
Monitoring patient care. Meeting with multidisciplinary team and families. Learned and observed that generational dysfunctional families is a strong catalyst to mental illness. Management provided opportunities for growth and development. The hardest part of the job was providing recommendations to families on methods to support their loved ones, and – more... have them follow through. The most enjoyable part of the job was patient successes. – less