St. John's Riverside Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 26 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment great staff.
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Yonkers, NYJuly 22, 2016
Overall a great place to work. The staff is helpful in the training process and the environment is clean for the patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great support from your peers.
Labor & Delivery R.N. (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYJuly 12, 2016
Great support from your peers. Not enough opportunity for professional advancement. Parking fee not expensive. OB/GYN MDs excellent to work with, very respectful and grateful for the R.N.s they work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I expected.
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Yonkers, NYMay 6, 2016
It's so hard working in a place that is always short staffed. I learned to appreciate previous jobs and management I have no comments. There is nothing enjoyable about this job.
Pros
co workers
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hectic place to work in
Emergency Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYFebruary 21, 2016
I worked as a per-diem in the emergency room department taking care of adult and pediatrics I took care of trauma II patients. Running codes and treating trauma patients
Pros
exciting and fast paced
Cons
to hectic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Alcohol and Substance Abuse Counselor-Per Diem (Current Employee) –  Yonkers, NYOctober 26, 2015
I provide patients with assistance getting into inpatient rehabs. Referrals to hospitals and shelters. Individual and group counseling.
Pros
1199 Union
Cons
very fast paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great working enviroment
Kitchen Aide- Environmental Services (Current Employee) –  Yonkers, NYOctober 9, 2015
In all the years that i have been working here it has been a very positive experience with staff, patients and co-workers.
Pros
close to home
Cons
nursing home was sold
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair Human Resourses
Environmental Services Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Environmental ServicesOctober 8, 2015
Very poor Job culture. Long time employees with many privileges and very little capacities and experience. The hardest part of the job is to deal with the overprotected union employees and the very inefficient Human Resources.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Unfair place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive work enviornment
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 3, 2015
the pay was not good at all. part time workers did not get extra hours when hours became available full time got most of the hours.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
short breaks, bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family environment
HR Manager (Current Employee) –  Yonkers, NYSeptember 6, 2015
I learned a lot while working in St. John's including but not limited to employee benefits, leaves, compensation, workers' comp, etc...
The hardest part of the job is managing leaves for extremely sick employees.
The most enjoyable part of the jab is the opportunities I got to develop my skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing staff and er management
room nurse (Former Employee) –  yonkers new yorkFebruary 27, 2015
amazing hospital with amazing staff and er management. Unionized hospital with exceptional benefits. Busy emergency room with room to grow and always helpful staff whenever questions arise.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report

Want to know more about St. John's Riverside Hospital?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work place
Unit Clerk (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYDecember 4, 2014
A typical day at work for me was pretty simple, after I got the hang of what needed to be done. Some days I would come into work and have at least 3 discharges to do from the previous night only because there wasn't an overnight clerk. Filing, answering phones, entering MDs orders, calling in consults, and ordering supplies for the unit is what I did on a day to day basis. The hardest part about the job was reading the doctors orders and entering them in the computer. As I got to know the doctors reading their handwriting became easier.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive work environment
nurse practitioner (Current Employee) –  Yonkers NYNovember 26, 2014
Fast pace
pleasant work colleagues
challenging
allows for creative problem solving
Pros
good vacation benefits
Cons
no pension
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good management team
central service technician (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYAugust 7, 2014
nice hospital,good management team and nice co-workers. They have all tools and equipment to facilitate the smooth running of day to day activities.
Pros
rotation shift
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cna
Nurse Assistant (Former Employee) –  yONKERSJune 3, 2014
Managed patient care and assisted with daily living activities
Measured the vital signs for 8 patients every 2 hours
Recorded information on a computer program via Meditech
Maintain each patient’s room/bed in a neat/tidy fashion and Served meals to patients
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, professional workplace that leaves room for a some laughter and enjoyable work invironment.
Assistant Director for Case Management (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYMay 9, 2014
A typical day would be anything you planned to get done wouldn't because you would get pulled in to other directions and not accomplish what you thought you would, but be very productive. I learned everything I know from my co workers. I had an amazing group of people to work with and learn from. The hardest part of the job was not being able to accomplish something for the good of the patient and the facility in the time frame that I was given. The most enjoyable part of the job was the hug, the thank you from a patient of a family member when you were able to get them home or to a facility that they wanted and needed to go to.
Pros
close to my home, good pension plan
Cons
poor communication from administration.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best experience ever
Ultrasound Technologist - extern (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYMay 1, 2014
I had a great experience working at St. John's Riverside Hospital. This place has very positive dynamics. The staff is very polite and helpful. The Ultrasound Department lead by Halgh Weeks is a great team with phenomenal patient care and attitude.
Pros
eveything
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady pace work place, great staff and patients
Unit Secretary (Current Employee) –  Yonkers, NYApril 30, 2014
-answering telephones
-assisting patients and relatives scheduled for surgery
-learn a substantial amount of medical terms and medical procedures -descriptions
-i'v learned how to be a team player
-i'v learned great costumer skills, including avoidance of confrontations(Thank's to St.John's)
-management, professional however can stand a little improvement
- my co- workers are great.
-hardest part of the job is commuting in bad weather
-i enjoy helping people, that's what i do best, good laughs with staff and completing the tasks of the day.
- i have no complaints
Pros
great patients, great staff, beautiful reconstructed hosp. floors
Cons
not enough overtime/ no pay on emergency snow days
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good team work
Administrative Nursing Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Yonkers, NYFebruary 5, 2014
very busy, high acuity, skilled nurses, great Patient Care Techs,
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working environment
Dietary Aide (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYDecember 20, 2013
St. John's Riverside Hospital encouraged their employees to grow within the company
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYAugust 26, 2013
Supervised the day shift crew. Performed daily inspection of hospital. Performed daily inspection of safety procedures
Pros
look forward to going to work.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8

St. John's Riverside Hospital Reviews by Location