Find companies:
St. Joseph Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
76 reviews

St. Joseph Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work.
DEPARTMENT ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOAugust 26, 2014
Fun place to work but also a lot of learning. I enjoyed helping with the special events and helping the "Friend of St. Joseph's" board members. Had a great trainer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hospital experience
Intern (Former Employee), Yonkers, NYAugust 25, 2014
Pros: scrubs
Learned a lot about how a hospital operates. This is a personal internship that I had and experiences will vary among other interns at this hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and supportive work environment
Clinical Nurse II (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOAugust 17, 2014
Pros: supportive work environment, make own schedules, smaller hospital
Cons: smaller hospital
12 hour shifts, 7a-7p, 3 days a week, 4-5 patient:nurse
-Start shift by receiving a taped report on our patients, bed side round with night/day nurse, and updates.
-Assess patients
-Pass daily meds
-Prep patients for procedures/tests
-Communicate with physicians and patients about plan of care
-Discharge patients, give discharge paperwork and make sure – more... they understand there follow up responsibilities.
-Admit new patients, start IV, fluids, labs, procedures.
-Comfort dying patients and their families- explain expectations of dying process
-Contact hospice group for patient care.
-Contact referral physicians, PT, OT,CM – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, and there is always something to learn
Food Service Worker (Current Employee), Stockton, CAAugust 16, 2014
Pros: pick up shifts from other workers, meeting people from other departments.
Cons: good benifits, vacation
Clock in ready to work, make sure up put a hair net on, and wash your hands. Make sure keep hands washed through course of the day. Work on tray-line, catering for different meetings, and I work in the café. In the café you work the grill, cashier, serving, and your always cleaning, sanitizing, sweeping, and moping. Management are easy to get along – more... with, and co-workers are to. I don't think that there is a hard part to doing my jobs because you just do it and get it done. Catering, it can be a lot to do but, it is a challenge, and at the end of the day I know I done a good job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best co-workers - worked well as a team
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Reading, PAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: small hospital
Cons: to high pt/nurse ratio for er
5 to 7 pt at a time. Responsible for assessment of pt, starting IVs, doing blood draws, EKG's, cardiac monitoring as necessary. Giving medications and treatments as needed. Often would be in charge of 6 to 10 other RN's and CA's. Would also do triage and fastrack area. 12 hour shifts with 1 - 1/2 hour break. No other breaks. Great team of nurses, worked – more... well together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging in many ways
RN/Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Reading, PAAugust 5, 2014
Pros: located in a nice rural area, flexible scheduling, 12 hour shifts
Cons: always short-staffed, higher pt-rn ratios, poor quality equipment
Due to staffing issues, CNA's are frequently not available to assist RN's in basic patient care. Higher pt-RN ratios make the job very stressful. This facility has it's share of bullies and genuinely nice staff. Night shift staff working 12 hours get no lunch, only two 15 minute breaks. RN's here are always on the low end of the area's pay scale. The – more... hardest part of the job is the fact that management doesn't support nursing needs. As always, the best part of the job is the patients! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Hospitality Associate (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 24, 2014
Help assisting patients with ordering meals
Stock items as needed
2 years of call enter experience
Answering phones in call center & taking patients diet orders
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging workplace
Dialysis Nurse (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAJuly 14, 2014
Working for 24 hours when doing continuous renaly replacement therapy when you're the RN on call was the most difficult part of the job and driving from one facility to another was also challenging. But working 3x/week was an advantage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Experience
Claims Analyst (Current Employee), Towson, MDJune 27, 2014
*Reviews and analyzes claims loss and expense reserves established by insurance carriers.

*Acts as liaison between the insurance carriers and insurance broker to maintain loss expense reserves that are relective of the company's exposure.

*Acts as liaison between corporate and field offices to facilitate the gathering of information that will facilitate – more... proper response to claim losses and legal documents.

*Wrote appeal letters to different insurance companies for payment.

*Managed the denial database for Access Registration Department. Run prepared and reviewed reports and documents for Director. Monitored and follow-up on outstanding accounts in a timely manner or as required.

*Monitored and resolved complex claim payment problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee), Houston, TexasJune 23, 2014
Able to gain more in depth knowledge of the healthcare field
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding place to work
Cardiac Cath Lab Tech 2 (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOJune 10, 2014
Over the eight years that I have worked in the Cath Lab at St. Joseph, I have grown not only in my skill level but also as a person. I love knowing that I can make a difference in someone's life and is probably the most rewarding part of my job. I'm grateful of my time at this hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), paJune 5, 2014
assist with daily needs
great place to work all around
hardest part is getting through the training
it is not a place for one track minded people
management can be very one sided
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 29, 2014
Working at St. Joseph's is very challenging some times due to the acuity of patient's, but even though it is challenging I love every minute of it. Working with premature babies and seeing all the obstacles they overcome is amazing. I love the people that I work with because we all believe in team work. The hardest part of my job is dealing with deaths – more... and comforting the parents. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing a 24 week baby grow into an 8 pound baby and being discharged to the parents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Typical Day at Work
Patient Care Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 27, 2014
Pros: experience, time goes by quickly busy, and saving lives.
Cons: life threatening decisions, and death of a newborn.
Very busy with lots of newborns that need to be admitted, have blood drawn, need to put in labs and looked over by doctors. NICU is a unit that keeps the worker very busy all night.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with and a fun place most of the time.
Patient Transporter and Support (Current Employee), Reading, PAMay 15, 2014
Pros: co-workers and a few free lunches a year.
Cons: work overload and low pay.
Co-workers are a good group and we have a good time together. Job is mostly fun dealing with the patients and staff. However, we are very understaffed and the work load is getting out of control. Many people have quit in the last few months because of it. The nurses get paid well but the rest of us are just a step above fast food workers. I enjoy my – more... job but we must have more help for the patients to have the care they need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor education and confused management
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 11, 2014
Pros: nice cooworkers
Cons: management is sneaky
A typical day starts with cleaning up after the shift before you unless you are running around getting new bags of IV fluid pressors! That is a GOOD way to start the day. These nurses are too fresh for the patients they get. Assisnments are never made by acuity only proximity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Food Service Aide (Current Employee), Tacoma, WAMay 5, 2014
Cons: healthcare
My boss is really friendly and nice to people. He makes my job much easier and fun at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would work for Franciscan Health System if jobs were available.
Chaplain Resident (Current Employee), Tacoma, WAApril 27, 2014
Worked for Hospice and Palliative Care in King county.
Visit pts in facilities.
work collaboratively with Interdisciplinary Teams, and staff at outside facilities where the patients are located.
Assessments, Routine Visits, End of Life, Plan of Care, Bereavement follow up, Reflections for Team meetings
Provided Memorial service and debriefings with – more... facility staff, management, and residents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good floor plan for effective working environment
Student Nurse (Former Employee), Overland Park KSApril 24, 2014
Pros: receptive nursing staff
Cons: low patient consensus
Typical day was to act within the care technicians capacity. I learned about patient comfort such as bed bath, and bedding changes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great company
Manager Medical Imaging (Current Employee), Houston, TexasApril 8, 2014
I work with a great bunch of people. A typical day is very busy, but I enjoy helping patients and employees.

1 2 3 4