Find companies:
St. Josephs Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
38 reviews

St. Josephs Hospital Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working as team with nurses and doctors
Registered Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 9, 2015
Pros: helping people each day
Cons: you cant save them all
I very much appreciate the management at this company. I have learned a lot about myself and though it is a very good company the job is not for me, it is very emotional at times and difficult for me to – more... lose patients pretty much on a weekly basis. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I get to train new co workers. I am a very patient person and I love to teach and help people grow. My coworkers, I enjoy more are the nurses and doctors. Currently there are a lot of changes in the respiratory world and there are a lot of bad attitudes to change in the Resp. Department. Hardest part of my job is taking someone off life support. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive job
food server (Former Employee), Tampa,FlMay 28, 2015
It was a nice job and my co-workers were very nice as well. the company is very good to their employees. the manager is very nice as well
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic work environment for employees
Diagnostic Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYMay 4, 2015
Pros: Co-workers
Cons: Management, the sad decline of patient care.
Management is no longer living the mission statement that was revised when the Franciscan Sisters were getting ready to retire. The facility is now concerned with cost reduction rather than patient care – more... and patients and families are the ones to suffer the consequences. It is sad to have worked so many years for a place which no longer values the employees who work so hard to provide a caring atmosphere. Long term employees are being singled out in order to move them out and replace them with lesser paid employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad for a hospital
Intern (Former Employee), Denver, COApril 22, 2015
Pros: No heavy lifting
Cons: families who are dificult to deal with
An easy internship, that gives you the opportunity to help others and learn new skills. Everyone treated everyone with respect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning environment
PST (Current Employee), Tampa FlApril 15, 2015
I worked in the medical icu and learned a lot in regards to patient care. We took care of critically ill patients on the unit which was difficult at times because we as health care professionals become attached to our patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn valuable skills!
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYApril 12, 2015
Pros: Cafetiria available to employees, great atmosphere
Cons: working weekends and holidays
As long as you are willing to do the job to the best of your abilities you will love working here. Lots of great people within the pharmacy and even more great people throughout the entire hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Pre-Op Nurse (Former Employee), Tampa, FLApril 7, 2015
Pros: breaks, celebrate birthdays, rewards for Certification, tight staff help each other.
I loved Baycare the minute I stepped in the door. Every encounter with people I've never met. I liked the atmosphere of team because there was always help without asking. The job was not tedious, but they do hustle to make sure there aren't delays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Workload,
Phlebotomy Tech (Current Employee), Denver, COJanuary 4, 2015
Pros: fun co workers, hour long breaks
Cons: large work load, hard hours
A typical day starts at 4 am. I recieve a stack of papers with the names and tests ordered for 30+ patients in the hospital. Between 4am and 7am I will need to wake up each of them up, draw and label their – more... blood samples, and collect there samples in our computer system. I will then "pick up" any other pending draw orders until my time is up at 1230. On days/shifts that I may also pick up would consist of me spending my time in the Hospital Lab receiving samples in the computer, ordering tests,canceling tests, talking on the phone with doctors,nurses,patients,and others. Also researching tests and preparing samples that need to be sent out to other labs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, fast paced environment
Preceptorship in PACU (Former Employee), Orange, CADecember 22, 2014
Pros: fast paced environment, rewarding patient experiences, challenging environment and scenarios, continually changing environment
Cons: having to keep patients in the pacu, when there were no beds available on the receiving unit
Typically upon starting my shift, I would check the boards for scheduled surgeries for the day. Then I would make sure that I knew my assigned area and that the area was clean and stocked. It was very – more... important to ensure that all the equipment was working as well, and that all connections and accessories were available.

The day would generally get off to a rapid start. Patients would return from surgeries and procedures, and I would monitor for complications. Our goal was to return the patients to a stable state, usually determined when vital signs returned to normal limits and the patient's LOC was returned to its pre-procedure level. After the patient was stable, I would prepare the patient for transfer to the receiving floor. This required paperwork, calling and talking to the receiving RN, and ensuring that any monitoring equipment was hooked up and operating. Depending on the patient's level, I would either delegate a NAP or go with the patient myself, during a transfer.

I learned about the value of moving quickly and efficiently in a high stress environment. Also, I had to prioritize appropriately. Communicating with personnel was also an important skill to acquire. I needed to know who to contact, and what for, and when to contact them. I had to quickly learn how to navigate and enter documentation on the PACU's computer terminals. Recognition of deteriorating patient condition, and knowing how to address it, was another important part of the learning process.

The nurses on the PACU floor were amazing. There was quite a bit of teamwork and everyone worked together well. Everyone was extremely knowledgeable and capable of handling patient care.

For me, the most difficult part of the job was becoming acclimated to my surroundings, and figuring out things were on the floor.

The most enjoyable part of the job was making a difference. It was nice to be there when people were waking up after a procedure and to help them when they were at their most vulnerable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and sometimes tedious.
Ambassador (Former Employee), Marshfield, WINovember 22, 2014
Pros: fast paced. good food. helpful co-workers.
Cons: un-savory patients/nurses. too many carts of food coming too close together.
This was my first job out of high school. I was an Ambassador, where you had the job of bringing food to patients in the hospital. I loved working on the West Wing where Pediatrics, OB, and Rehabilitation – more... was. You stratigise where you were going to deliver first and last based on the food that came up for the rooms that ordered. Patients on OB and Pediatrics, for th most part, didn't need much help once you would bring them food. A typical night at work would be very busy with a lot of patients to deliver and pick up after between 4:30-8:00. Management was good to you if you showed up to work and did your work well. If not they would pull you off to the side in front of people and talk to you. Made you want to do better for the sake of embarassment. The thing I loved about this job was that I got good excercise and majority of the patients and nurses were good to work with. Most of my co-workers were willing to help if they had nothing to do, or were done for the night. Definately a good first job if you are considering health care for your career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring Loving Place To Work
Patient Transporter (Former Employee), Tucson, AZOctober 8, 2014
Pros: great staff, professional environment, caring loving people
Great place to work with a good team of professionals in healthcare.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible place of learning.
Physical Therapy Aide/Orthopedic Technician (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 27, 2014
Pros: continuos learning from higly trained professionals.
Cons: no advancement
Assisted Physical Therapists with treatment plans for varies types of patients. From The Neuro rehab at Barrows Neurological Institute, to Orthopedics, Pediatrics and Med/Surg., the work was fun and important.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
OB Tech. Per Diem (Current Employee), Orange, CAJuly 4, 2014
Very busy work environment. Everyone gets along well. I love it!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Nutritional Service Aid (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYJune 30, 2014
Pros: good pay and nice people
Cons: unstable hours
This company is a nice place to work but there is no room to move forward in the department i worked in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and professional environment
Student Sonographer (Current Employee), Lexington, Ky.May 7, 2014
St. Josephs Hospital is a solid place to be employed. They understand the meaning of teamwork. Their attitudes are nothing short of kind and professional at all times. I enjoy working with them very much. – more... My reason for wanting to leave is only because I am trying to better myself and whomever I work for in the future. The only way to do this is to find an employer that will be able to offer me more hours and job security. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team work.
CNA (Current Employee), Marshfield WiMarch 12, 2014
I enjoy working in a Hospital setting, stays busy and always meet knew people. Get to experience new skills and learn new things that are really interesting and I enjoy. I would like to futher my experience in working in different areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and inviting atmosphere
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee), Bloomington, ILJanuary 24, 2014
I love working here. I spent many years working in nursing homes and being overworked and under paid and not appreciated. At St. Joseph's Hospital I get paid a decent amount and I only have to work 3 days a week plus everyone appreciates and values each other. It is definitely a team atmosphere!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to do
Multiple chair (Former Employee), St JosephsJanuary 7, 2014
Excellent experience, was volunteer work however, so no salary was drawn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, diverse area of work.
Specimen Processing for hospital lab /Phlebotomy (Current Employee), Bernville, PAJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: strong team atmosphere, flexible with shift hours, variety of work, very clean hospital
Cons: low pay
Processing diverse specimens by preparing them for their respective departments (microbiology, chemistry, urinalysis, hematology..etc.)
Aliquoting, Registration patient's requisitions, medical coding/ – more... billing insurance forms.
Operating lab equipment
Checking temperatures where specimens are stored.
Blood drawing inpatients and outpatients
One on one patient interaction
Specimen handling and send out procedures (Quest / PAML)
Satellite service ( Maiden Creek urgent care)
Urgent and stat procedures followed for time sensitive specimens
Doctor /patient interaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Sr. Materials Handler (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 28, 2013
No complaints, amazing place to work, people are very friendly and always very helpful