St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

84 reviews

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 84 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Research Technician (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 2, 2015
Everyone that I come into contact with on a daily basis is thrilled to be at work. That sort of attitude is contagious and makes it inevitable to love your job there. My co-workers have come from all over the world and motivate me to do the best I can.The hardest part of my job is going home at the end of the day. Everyone is so driven and excited to be there, making the people the best part of working there.
Pros
talks/speakers all over campus, great benefits, gym, community
Cons
not enough parking
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviroment
Specialist (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 3, 2015
Working at St Jude has been great. Other than the wonderful mission of help families with their sick children, St Jude has been a great place to expand in knowledge and expertise. Even though I do not work in the field in which I received my degree, working at St Jude has helped me learn from different management styles.
Pros
great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes8No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dark Secrets
Former employee (Former Employee) –  Memphis TnDecember 30, 2014
The racism and nepotism that exists at St Jude is unbelievable . If you are white and not related to someone it is very hard to get a job in the support staff positions ( Par Linen Tech) or other support depts.. I was laid off from St Jude through no fault of my own. How HR and the dept. director handled the situation was disgraceful . You would think being a former employee with a good work record it would be easy to get re-hired ? NOT SO !!! if a dept. was all white with all white mangers there would be discriminations lawsuits filed . Why does HR allow reverse discrimination to take place ? If you are white you will not get hired at certain departments at St Jude.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
the discrimination & nepotism
Was this review helpful?Yes43No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
St. Jude is a wonderful place to work and grow as a scientist
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNNovember 19, 2014
St. Jude is a wonderful place to work and grow as a scientist. There are excellent research teams, collaboration and facilities available to enhance your research. One drawback is that there are few chances for advancement in scientific research within the institution
Pros
excellent research teams, collaboration and facilities
Cons
few chances for advancement in scientific research within the institution
Was this review helpful?Yes9No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship Program
Internship (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNNovember 4, 2014
ALSAC/St.Jude Children's Research Hospital offers a great opportunity for obtaining the hands on skills needed for graduates. This is not your usual errand run internship. You are involved in many aspects of the company. The internship ALSAC offers is one of the best.
Pros
great place to obtain hands on experience for an intern
Was this review helpful?Yes14No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
Materials Management (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 26, 2014
A research and treatment facility for catastrophic diseases in children, primarily pediatric cancers.
Pros
spot light employees
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes5No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Research Scholar (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 14, 2014
You will be reminded every day why you choose your profession and that all your hard work will make a contribution in a child's life.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding. I learned alot from the patients, families,and my co-workers
Patient Representative (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJuly 18, 2014
The hosiptal is an awesome place to work. It is very rewarding and makes you appreciate the life you have. It teaches one to live for each day as tomorrow is not promised to anyone. Laugh, live, love is on motto you will leave St. Jude with
Pros
benefits
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes36No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, publish or perish
Research Technician (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJuly 14, 2014
The place has grown and changed a lot since I left. The building I worked in no longer exists. I was proud of the cutting edge work I did while there, but not the conditions under which it was done.The people were great, the conditions, not so much.
Pros
got to meet a lot of great people & do great work.
Cons
place was too dependent on grant funding at the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Social Work Intern (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 24, 2014
The company is amazing! Great work environment. All staff are supportive.
Pros
great
Cons
great
Was this review helpful?Yes17No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely the best place for a postdoc position
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 17, 2014
St. jude has everything you need for a successful postdoctoral experience..I loved my time there. Organized, great speakers , amazing lectures and too many facilities for performing amazing science.
Pros
great food, cafeteria is awesome.
Cons
memphis is maybe not the best city in the us, but still worth the experience
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Sr. Applications Analyst II (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 6, 2014
Excellent facility, working conditions, and benefits. nnnnnnnn
Was this review helpful?Yes18No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
St. Jude Life Survey Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 21, 2014
A true mission driven organization, overall they value their employees, Every day is a learning experience, The hardest part of the job is learning to adapt to an environment where virtually everyone thinks the same. (scientists)
Pros
too many to metnion
Cons
30 minute breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes18No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mt
MT-student (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 5, 2014
Worked there as a student. Everyone was very nice and were eager to teach me.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great place to work.
Research Technologist I (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 28, 2014
I felt like I was part of making the world a better place by going to work everyday.
Pros
great place to work
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and great place to work
National Program Marketing (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 14, 2014
Young co-workers and work environment. Rewarding every day at work especially on the St. Jude campus
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mission
Senior Director of Creative (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TnMarch 26, 2014
Helping Kids with cancer is a great way to get up every morning.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping people
Shift Engineer (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 24, 2014
Excellent place for work seeing that you care about other people
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my all time favorite jobs!
Histotechnologist (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 11, 2014
I was fortunate to be able to work in a brand new laboratory that had the best of equipment. The work was varied and not too stressful, and my co-workers were top notch. I loved St. Jude!
Pros
great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes19No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Lead Patient Care Representative (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 31, 2014
Good place to work. I enjoying my job, but I need experience for what I attended school for. My co are great. I have learned a lot of different things while working here at the hospital.
Pros
good benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No7

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 84 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture