St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 107 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding. I learned alot from the patients, families,and my co-workers
Patient Representative (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJuly 18, 2014
The hosiptal is an awesome place to work. It is very rewarding and makes you appreciate the life you have. It teaches one to live for each day as tomorrow is not promised to anyone. Laugh, live, love is on motto you will leave St. Jude with
Pros
benefits
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes38No16
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, publish or perish
Research Technician (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJuly 14, 2014
The place has grown and changed a lot since I left. The building I worked in no longer exists. I was proud of the cutting edge work I did while there, but not the conditions under which it was done.The people were great, the conditions, not so much.
Pros
got to meet a lot of great people & do great work.
Cons
place was too dependent on grant funding at the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Social Work Intern (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 24, 2014
The company is amazing! Great work environment. All staff are supportive.
Pros
great
Cons
great
Was this review helpful?Yes17No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely the best place for a postdoc position
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 17, 2014
St. jude has everything you need for a successful postdoctoral experience..I loved my time there. Organized, great speakers , amazing lectures and too many facilities for performing amazing science.
Pros
great food, cafeteria is awesome.
Cons
memphis is maybe not the best city in the us, but still worth the experience
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Sr. Applications Analyst II (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 6, 2014
Excellent facility, working conditions, and benefits. nnnnnnnn
Was this review helpful?Yes18No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
St. Jude Life Survey Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 21, 2014
A true mission driven organization, overall they value their employees, Every day is a learning experience, The hardest part of the job is learning to adapt to an environment where virtually everyone thinks the same. (scientists)
Pros
too many to metnion
Cons
30 minute breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes18No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mt
MT-student (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 5, 2014
Worked there as a student. Everyone was very nice and were eager to teach me.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great place to work.
Research Technologist I (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 28, 2014
I felt like I was part of making the world a better place by going to work everyday.
Pros
great place to work
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes18No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and great place to work
National Program Marketing (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 14, 2014
Young co-workers and work environment. Rewarding every day at work especially on the St. Jude campus
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mission
Senior Director of Creative (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TnMarch 26, 2014
Helping Kids with cancer is a great way to get up every morning.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping people
Shift Engineer (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 24, 2014
Excellent place for work seeing that you care about other people
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work for
Research Specialist (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 21, 2014
St Jude is the place that makes you realize that working is not just to make a living, it's also to make a difference
Pros
good pay, balance of work and life
Cons
management needs some improvement
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my all time favorite jobs!
Histotechnologist (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 11, 2014
I was fortunate to be able to work in a brand new laboratory that had the best of equipment. The work was varied and not too stressful, and my co-workers were top notch. I loved St. Jude!
Pros
great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes19No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Lead Patient Care Representative (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 31, 2014
Good place to work. I enjoying my job, but I need experience for what I attended school for. My co are great. I have learned a lot of different things while working here at the hospital.
Pros
good benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Postdoctoral Associate (Current Employee) –  memphisJanuary 28, 2014
Good infrastructure and focused environment
Memphis is a good place to live on a low budget
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the company. hated the department
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 6, 2014
For the time that I first started, I really enjoyed working w/my supervisor. SD was an awesome and caring person. Since she was demoted as my super, management became prejudice and non concern. They only allowed advancement to certain workers. I'll never work in CBT again.
Pros
helping the children
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes35No21
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i am very proactive and love being at work
Medical Tech II (Former Employee) –  pathology hematology and blood bankJanuary 3, 2014
I have always hoped to work in my hometown and i really have dreamed of working at Dyersburg Regional Medical Center
Pros
just love the day social and work lunch breaks and working together
Cons
some days busy but that is work and feels good
Was this review helpful?Yes12No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning opportunities available
Administrative Assistant, II (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 18, 2013
Pharmaceutical Services is a fast-paced environment. My day consists of maintaining the functions of the services, such as compliance of licenses of pharmacists; non-resident pharmacy licenses; personnel files and taking on the responsibility of new assignments as the department increases.
Pros
learning opportunities
Cons
no advancement opportunities within department
Was this review helpful?Yes23No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere! Fun people to work with.
Internship (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VADecember 17, 2013
I was an intern for ALSAC St. Jude's Children's Research Hospital Mid - Atlantic region located in Arlington, VA. ALSAC is the fundraising arm for the main Hospital in Memphis, TN. The Mid - Atlantic region is just one of many regions of ALSAC across the country. While interning at the office of the Mid - Atlantic region, I helped organize events and galas that were held in order to help raise money for the Children's Hospital. I attended two, one at the end of February of 2013 which was held in Washington, D.C. and the other in May of 2013 which was held at the Trump National Golf Club in Potomac Falls, VA. My work varied from putting together excel spreadsheets, power points, Adobe photoshop projects and helping to put together the weekly newsletter for the parents of patients who were from the Mid - Atlantic region. I also attended various exhibitions in the Washington, D.C. area in order to promote different fundraising activities for the Hospital, such as sponsoring a Hospital Patient in the 2013 Memphis Marathon. Though working to prepare for the various events was a difficult task, it gave me great pleasure on the night of the events, as I knew that no matter how small my contribution was, I still played a role in helping everything run smoothly. Interning at ALSAC was an enriching experience because it was my first step into the real world. At the end of each day, I felt happy that I had been given an opportunity, though indirectly, to help the various patients of the Hospital through my manny small but substantial contributions to the ALSAC team. My co - workers were  more... so friendly and treated me and others with great respect. Their sense of enthusiasm, their passion for their work and their drive to be the voice of the parents who could not afford enough money to give their child the care he or she needed, and give them hope and reassurance that their child was in good hands with the doctors at St. Jude Children's Hospital was genuine. I truly had a wonderful experience interning for ALSAC as it has shown me the importance of teamwork, dedication and loyalty I was very fortunate to have a chance to experience this great opportunity, as it is something I am very grateful for.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes19No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
INSURANCE VER (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 13, 2013
I love the fact that everyone gets along and my supervisor is very flexiable and easy to talk to.
Pros
free parking
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 107 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.7
Culture
4.2

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Reviews by Location