Find companies:
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
61 reviews

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forward thinking research
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 23, 2013
Part of a research team with a passion for moving cancer research forward.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The bioinformatics group is not a good place to work
biology scientist (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 5, 2013
The hospital overall is great, but working in the bioinformatics group is tough. I'm a biology scientist at St Jude and have regular interaction with the bioinformatics group.

If you don't want to work 12 hours per day, 7 days per week, don't go to the bioinformatics group at St Jude. Also, the job security is not good. Since the new manager took over – more... the bioinformatics group in the summer 2012, 2 people got fired already. – less

August 18, 2013

2 more people got fired since the above comment was posted. Totally 4 people got fired within one year. This is why they keep on recruiting.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place to Work
VSR (Current Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 13, 2012
ALSAC/St. Jude is simply an amazing place to work. The people are great, the culture is wonderful, and the mission is unequaled.

February 27, 2013

Do you mind if I ask what type of job you have at St. Jude? I am looking to apply there next fall and I wanted to get feedback from employees who already work there.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Sponsor (Former Employee), MemphisOctober 19, 2012
I support by making donations to them. Trying to work on finding a cure for cancer is a remarkable wish for someone to take on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to work ever
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 24, 2012
Pros: great benefits, great experience
I learned alot about different cultures and met lots of people from other countries, the staff was awesome. I started on oncology floor and eventually i was approached by a staff member from the bone marrow transplant floor suggesting I should transfer to gain more knowledge and experience. It was the best decision I ever made in my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment/ Flexible
Volunteer Service Representative (Current Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 5, 2012
Great Company. This is a great company with a great mission which is to save lives of children through research and treatment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Pediatric Occupational therapy intern (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 8, 2012
great environment with friendly therapist. a great place that offers great benefits and salary. Very fulfillin place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest place to work
RN in ACU-Eye and ENT Clinics (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 30, 2012
Pros: benefits, salary, staff, clinical ladder
Cons: location
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital is everything a parent could want for their child diagnosed with cancer. It is also the most positive place I have ever worked. Management is supportive. Everyone is knowledgeable and loves their job. The hardest part is when one of our patients loses the battle to cancer but the best part are the patients and being – more... able to show the parents that every child makes a difference. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team work and fundraising for the children of St. Jude
Office Manager/Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Norcross, GAJuly 10, 2012
Pros: helpful staff and easy to get along with
Cons: found no cons, wish i could go back there but no openings.
Loved working there. It was the fundraising arm of St. Jude located in Norcross, GA. Got to arrange fundraisers and participate in them. Helped with setting vendors getting free food for volunteers. Enjoyed working there. The hardest part was seeing the children and their history. Some were so happy even though they were sick.
Being able to be part – more... of an organization that took care of employees also. Benefits were wonderful and no questions were ever unanswered. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 5, 2012
Pros: benefits, available equipment, postdoc community
Cons: transient position
St. Jude is a unique postdoctoral experience. It is a well kept place that is funded well by ALSAC. With this comes state-of-the-art equipment that is well maintained, allowing for the highest potential of productivity. As a postdoc, we understand that it is a transient position; however, there are so many postdocs that the community is strong. If you – more... do not know how to perform an assay all you have to do is shoot an e-mail out and within the day you will have found an expert that can guide you and help troubleshoot your experiments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best hospital in Memphis as far as research is concerned.
Student Worker / Lab Technician (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJune 30, 2012
If you're able to get a job working for this hospital consider yourself truly best. St. Jude is one of it's kind and is the leading facility in pediatric cancer research. The environment is very friendly and all employees conduct themselves in a professional manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Extern
Student Nurse Extern/Bone Marrow Transplant (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJune 30, 2012
So far I have really enjoyed my experience working with St. Jude. I have learned so much in the small amount of time that I have been there. This is a wonderful place to be employed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Institution is good, however department leadership is extremely poor at the lower level management.
Management (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJune 9, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: negative leadership
Too much work load for the pay. They do pay lower than similar jobs and place way too much work load on their employees. Management needs great improvement.
Coworkers seem always stressed. Negative environment.
Hardest part of the job is not being able to trust the department management.
Best part of the job is the benefits. However salary is not comparable – more... to similar positions.

Managers are not uplifting to one another. – less

December 10, 2012

Any reasons, why only you face a negative environment and think that pay is low.I think you still have not forgotten that it is a NPO. Just queries. take it in a positive way. I m working on my research. Thank you

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging organization with a variety of career options
Sr. Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMay 28, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: short lunch breaks
St. Jude is A great place to work. I learned a variety of new skills. I met a diverse group of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company to work for
ALSAC Representative (Current Employee), Memphis, TNMay 15, 2012
Pros: helping to raise awareness of childhood cancer
Cons: part time
St. Jude is an awesome company to work for, my typical day at work is fun and very productive. I help change the lives of children each and everyday by reaching out to people to help raise the necessary funds that will find cures and save the lives of our precious children at St Jude Children’s Research Hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World Renowned Hospital
PBX Operator (Current Employee), Memphis, TNApril 15, 2012
My job is customer service driven. I am normally the first point of contact when someone calls. The hardest part of the job is knowing that sometimes St. Jude is a families' last hope. However, this can also be the most enjoyable part, especially when you see a family with new hope.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission Driven Organization
Grant and Contract Analyst (Former Employee), Memphis, TNApril 7, 2012
Pros: perks, rewards
Cons: long hours
A typical workday includes reviewing and enhancing our electronic systems for grant application submission, processing of awards and record keeping. Additionally, my day includes supervision of staff and report creation. Management and co-workers exist as a team with acknowledged boundaries. The hardest part of my job is also the part I enjoy the most – more... and that's identifying the source of a system malfunction and resolving the issue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with customers needing service. People worked with were great to be around and we had holiday luncheons together, picnics every year.
Office Manager/Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Norcross, GAMarch 28, 2012
Pros: great benefits in health insurance 100%
Cons: none to report
Helped raise funds for research for the main hospital in Memphis. This was a rewarding position as funds covered 92% of research. Administrative fees were not used from donations. The people have so much love and care so much for the children. It was a very rewarding position and wish I could have stayed but my husband's job moved us to SC and I had – more... to go with him obviously. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work!
Administrative Specialist (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 25, 2012
Pros: education and medical benefits
Pending on your personal educational goals- company has tuition reimbursement, great benefits including orthodontic care 100% paid!

November 19, 2012

One can say nothing about the hospital's goal and its dedication to its patients.. However, below a certain line of work, for people in jobs requiring only a BA or BS, employees at this level are treated as valueless and replaceable. You cannot be even one minute late on any given day without reprimand. After 12 reprimands, you are fired. Raises are small. One year I got 25 cents an hour and the next I got 7 cents an hour. This hospital employs nobel prize wonners and they don't care about all employees by a long shot. The turnover rate is huge. The department I was hired into was 90% new hires and the manager quit after two weeks. We were left without instruction in a job so complex, the learning curve was estimated to be 6 months to 1 year. Yet management changed so often, it was impossible to feel confident about your future. I transferred to another department with higher pay and a more interesting job, only to be fired after 7 weeks for inability to complete training period. The woman who managed admistrative specialists in that department was a nightmare who told me on my 4th day that I wasn't going to work out. She was a high school grad and had been at St Jude for almost 40 yrs and obviously did not like my interaction with the MDs I was supporting, did not like the fact that I was bilingual, etc. But I was FIRED for the first time in my 61 years. You can imagine how hard it is to find work for someone over sixty ....I have not yet recovered from this experience.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an honor working for St. Jude.
I am a Laboratory Specialist (Current Employee), Memphis, TennesseeFebruary 29, 2012
It is a priviledge working for St. Jude, especially knowing that I am contributing and trying to save children's lives.

About St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital studies and treats catastrophic diseases in children, especially pediatric cancers. The – Read more