Find companies:
St. Louis Community College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

St. Louis Community College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The duteis I had were adequete and general.
Security Officer (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMarch 12, 2014
My review of this company was above average for my time working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive workplace
Project Associate I for Upward Bound Program (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOMarch 5, 2014
Learned how to balance work and personal relationships because the relationships I have stunot get in the way of the my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surround Intel
Student Assistant/Computer Technician (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 10, 2014
A typical day at work was instructing students on proper computer and software usage, creating various office documents and managing the office. I, in turned, learned how to navigate the software programs better. The management is super cool and so are the people I worked with. The hardest part of the job was leaving. The most enjoyable part of the – more... job was being surrounded by instructors who went the extra mile to educate students as well as staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was the lifeguard
Lifeguard/Assistant Instructor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 13, 2013
This a fun job to have because I got swim in the free time. The pay was nice and hours were steady.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice learning experience
Work study Associate (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 11, 2013
Pros: working for my college
Cons: pay rate
I love gathering experience from working with people and the students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work never boring
Clerk / Cashier (Current Employee), Stlcc Florissant ValleySeptember 18, 2013
You have a chance to meet and mengle with diverse people as well work with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workers and enviroment
Graphic Design Assistant (Former Employee), St.Louis, MOSeptember 17, 2013
Pros: fun enviroment, got to do my homework
Cons: no breaks
Worked with friendly people, Learned how to work computers. Management was reasonable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I've ever had!
Adjunct English Professor (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 2, 2013
I took this job not for the salary or for the prestige, but for fun. I look forward, every week, to going into work. I love the energetic, creative atmosphere of my classes and I love seeing the students' grow and progress as writers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lead House Keeper
Lead Housekeeper (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 29, 2013
A typical day at work is I have three employees off and trying to make sure all schdules are being covered. While doing my job at work I learned how to manaage a hard situation and tuRn it into a successful day. Learning how to deal with all types of nationilty and different attitudes and being able to cope with them all. What I like about my job is – more... that when I find out that all co workers have shown up to work and have a great and positive attitude and is ready to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy teaching a great deal.
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee), St. LouisAugust 26, 2013
Pros: something new every shift.
Everything about SLCC has been outstanding and I hope to continue to adjunct there in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to work with students.
student services (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 1, 2013
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping students. Enrollment services care about student success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work
Shipping Clerk (Current Employee), Kirkwood, MOJuly 30, 2013
Pros: great workplace
Cons: lack of hours per week
Receive books, help customers, transport books to other campuses.
Learned how to operate a forklift
Co-workers are great to work with
Lifting boxes and Helping the mass amount of customers during rush
Operating forklift and receiving goods
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant teaching environment with diverse student population
Adjunct Instructor of Sociology (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 4, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: no job security; low pay
As adjunct faculty, it is an isolating workplace although some effort is made toward training and professional development both within my department and the college as a whole. Pay is low, but typical with adjunct positions. No job security is typical of adjunct positions. Support and answers to questions are difficult to get. Expectations for performance – more... and integration into the college are vague/limited. It is difficult to help students fully without knowing who to contact about what. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the time while i was a very gratifying
Mentor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 2, 2013
Pros: making a difference in the make youths
Cons: the pay it was non-existant
Typical Day was mentoring youth makes to stay in school, positive attitude in life, progress for their future and to stay out of trouble.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay.
Student Worker (Former Employee), Kirkwood, MOJune 18, 2013
Not the best place I have worked. The library staff make that school worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic Advising
Clerk I/ Academic Advising (Current Employee), Saint Louis, MOJune 11, 2013
Typically hectic, constant traffic of students. Help maintain a level of peace, and as unstressful as possible. I have larned how to use the banner self service, and the oricle banner to check for students academic standings. The hardest part is the students can be difficult at times. I enjoy helping and being apart of a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work experience for a career working in a lab setting.
Chemistry Lab Assistant (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOMay 16, 2013
Pros: variety of work
Cons: pay is minimum wage
Working as a chemistry lab assistant has helped prepare me to work in an industrial chemical lab setting. A typical day involves preparing solutions, preparing labs for students, organizing chemical inventory, maintaining a clean laboratory, calibrating instruments, and standardizing solutions. I was also able to conduct new experiements and modify – more... them for students that had little laboratory experience. I learned various techniques used in analytical chemistry and became very comfortable working in a laboratory. The manager is the lab coordinator for the school and I worked directly under her. She is always available to answer questions and her door is always open to talk. My co-workers are my classmates and they are a joy to work with. The hardest part of the job is staying productive when there is down time. Often, we are allowed to study for classes or work on school projects. The most enjoyable part of the job is the variety of work. Every day is different and that keeps me looking forward to coming in to work each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful workplace
Faculty/Adult Education (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOApril 22, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: grant ended
Develop a quality instructional program based on sound assessment, teaching, learning, support service, and continual program improvement principles where learners participate consistently to improve basic computer skills to further their training, enrollment in post-secondary education and assist in their employment endeavors: Computer Basic Education – more... while implementing basic computer skills & software (Excel, Internet Explorer and Introduction to Keyboard, Microsoft Word & PowerPoint). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-Workers
Peer Mentor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: lots of opportunities to improve interpersonal skills, several learning experiences
Cons: ment for african american males, only available at specific st. louis community college locations
Offered valuable support and advices on how they work with their mentees. Lot of information and helpful tips are given.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life as a Educatinal Assistant
Educational Assistant II (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 24, 2013
Pros: knowing that the students' math skills had improved.
Cons: getting the students to attend tutoring as scheduled.
My typical day a work was tutoring math to eighth grade students.

I learned creative ways to teach math by intergrating real life examples into math lessons to motivate students to learn.

I had a excellent rapport with my manager and school personnel.