Find companies:
St. Louis Community College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
38 reviews

St. Louis Community College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Secretary (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 22, 2014
Pros: work with great people, traveling, benefits
Cons: short work breaks, working late hours most of the time.
Managed all administrative task with the District Office Manager. Work with the sales team in setting up appointments with clients to implement the usage of the discover card. Interact with customers in person or by telephone to process telephone and other telecommunications-related orders for new installations. The hardest part of the job was making – more... sure the credit card machines were functionally at all times. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the sales team, traveling, and friendly environment and the benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm, Friendly People and work environment
Admin. Secretary II to Dean of Com, Math & Eng (Former Employee), Kirkwood, MOJune 12, 2014
Pros: staff, faculty and some of their leaders
Cons: low ceilings; few advancement opportunities for classified staff
During my time with StLCC I worked within two positions that were fulfilling and rewarding. I learned many things during my time within STLCC and was awarded graciously with leadership and training opportunities. I loved working with the staff and faculty and although things may have changed due to financial constraints and student related issues on – more... the campus, I believe the CC is still a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at
Media Assistant (Current Employee), 11333 Big Bend Rd, Kirkwood, MOJune 4, 2014
I act as liaison with the IT department to troubleshoot computers and media issues within the classrooms. We help instructors with any technical issues they have in the classrooms. Most of my co-workers are students. The hardest part of the job is technology because as we all know that technology is changing everyday and we have to keep with technology. – more... The most enjoyable about me job is the people I work with. We are all students and we help each other. The part that I really enjoy about my job is being able to help instructors with any technical issues they face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, fair work environment, good pay for education sector
Instructor, Physics (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMay 26, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, liked the students, good pay for teaching
Cons: older facilities and equipment
I worked at the Forest Park campus for a semester filling in for the full-time instructor in Physics. The other community college faculty and staff were very helpful and friendly. Since I was a "temp" I didn't get paid terribly well, but the salaries for full-time faculty far exceed the rates that adjuncts are paid. The facilities were somewhat lacking, – more... I had to share an office and the labs were somewhat run-down and the computers were old. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great employer with a full suite of excellent benfits
Vice Chancellor for Technology (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOMarch 31, 2014
Pros: paid holidays, vacation and medical leave
Cons: dependent upon varying tax support from state
STLCC employs a great team of people that care about the outcomes of their work and student success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The duteis I had were adequete and general.
Security Officer (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMarch 12, 2014
My review of this company was above average for my time working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive workplace
Project Associate I for Upward Bound Program (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOMarch 5, 2014
Learned how to balance work and personal relationships because the relationships I have stunot get in the way of the my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surround Intel
Student Assistant/Computer Technician (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 10, 2014
A typical day at work was instructing students on proper computer and software usage, creating various office documents and managing the office. I, in turned, learned how to navigate the software programs better. The management is super cool and so are the people I worked with. The hardest part of the job was leaving. The most enjoyable part of the – more... job was being surrounded by instructors who went the extra mile to educate students as well as staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was the lifeguard
Lifeguard/Assistant Instructor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 13, 2013
This a fun job to have because I got swim in the free time. The pay was nice and hours were steady.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice learning experience
Work study Associate (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 11, 2013
Pros: working for my college
Cons: pay rate
I love gathering experience from working with people and the students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work never boring
Clerk / Cashier (Current Employee), Stlcc Florissant ValleySeptember 18, 2013
You have a chance to meet and mengle with diverse people as well work with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workers and enviroment
Graphic Design Assistant (Former Employee), St.Louis, MOSeptember 17, 2013
Pros: fun enviroment, got to do my homework
Cons: no breaks
Worked with friendly people, Learned how to work computers. Management was reasonable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I've ever had!
Adjunct English Professor (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 2, 2013
I took this job not for the salary or for the prestige, but for fun. I look forward, every week, to going into work. I love the energetic, creative atmosphere of my classes and I love seeing the students' grow and progress as writers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lead House Keeper
Lead Housekeeper (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 29, 2013
A typical day at work is I have three employees off and trying to make sure all schdules are being covered. While doing my job at work I learned how to manaage a hard situation and tuRn it into a successful day. Learning how to deal with all types of nationilty and different attitudes and being able to cope with them all. What I like about my job is – more... that when I find out that all co workers have shown up to work and have a great and positive attitude and is ready to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy teaching a great deal.
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee), St. LouisAugust 26, 2013
Pros: something new every shift.
Everything about SLCC has been outstanding and I hope to continue to adjunct there in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to work with students.
student services (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 1, 2013
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping students. Enrollment services care about student success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work
Shipping Clerk (Current Employee), Kirkwood, MOJuly 30, 2013
Pros: great workplace
Cons: lack of hours per week
Receive books, help customers, transport books to other campuses.
Learned how to operate a forklift
Co-workers are great to work with
Lifting boxes and Helping the mass amount of customers during rush
Operating forklift and receiving goods
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant teaching environment with diverse student population
Adjunct Instructor of Sociology (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 4, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: no job security; low pay
As adjunct faculty, it is an isolating workplace although some effort is made toward training and professional development both within my department and the college as a whole. Pay is low, but typical with adjunct positions. No job security is typical of adjunct positions. Support and answers to questions are difficult to get. Expectations for performance – more... and integration into the college are vague/limited. It is difficult to help students fully without knowing who to contact about what. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the time while i was a very gratifying
Mentor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 2, 2013
Pros: making a difference in the make youths
Cons: the pay it was non-existant
Typical Day was mentoring youth makes to stay in school, positive attitude in life, progress for their future and to stay out of trouble.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay.
Student Worker (Former Employee), Kirkwood, MOJune 18, 2013
Not the best place I have worked. The library staff make that school worth it.