St. Louis Public Library Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Library Clerk (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis, MOMarch 22, 2016
I worked for this employer for 1 year. Management and co-workers were nice. The pay could have been better for the amount of work you have to do.
Pros
Stability
Cons
Not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
often fast-paced with a friendly atmosphere
Clerk (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOAugust 5, 2015
Typically, I create several patron accounts per day while also checking items in and out and taking in money for fines. People that come in are generally friendly. The management at my branch does their best to make everyone comfortable and welcome, among employees and patrons. Co-workers are great with each other and treat each other with equal respect. There are seldom very significant disagreements. The hardest part of the job is probably dealing with patrons that seem set on making things difficult. The best part of the job is meeting lots of new people each day from all walks of life and working with supportive people.
Pros
solid benefits
Cons
schedule sometimes fluxuates
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Training Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 13, 2015
Taught Microsoft Office Software programs to St. Louis Public Library staff and patrons.
Created monthly training schedules, calendars and monthly status reports.
Taught monthly staff service training classes.
Created new computer training manuals and updated out-of-date training manuals.
Served as a resource for staff and patrons with software questions
Pros
Access to hundreds of books and video catalogs
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent employer that has the possiblity to be a great employer
Technician (Current Employee) –  1301 Olive St.June 6, 2015
Although I have learned many things during my employment with SLPL, many of the lessons I have experienced by way of some form of oppression (i.e.harrasment, abuse of power, and invasion of privacy).
Pros
Diverse work environment
Cons
lack of integrity
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 26, 2012
If you're looking for a great place to work, that isn't going to wear you down and will give you good benefits, I recommend applying at the St. Louis Public Library. Pay could be a little better, but considering the work being done, it's not too bad.
Pros
healthcare, vacation days, sick days
Cons
hourly wages
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Librarian Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 13, 2015
I learn a lot of skills working at st.louis public library and I know how to work great with childens and I love that it was very quite in there and fun to work im good with keeping stuff in order
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Confidential (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 17, 2015
management is really nonexistent. There is an amazing amount of waste. And unless someone wants to have decent benefits do not expect to make very good money at all.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The type of place where you can find about anything you want in a book.
Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 3, 2013
A typical day at the library was to make copies of patents for patrons assist patrons in looking up their family history, making library cards, some data entry.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Janitorial/Custordian (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 24, 2012
Met alot of famous people
had lots of fun talking to professional athletes
learned how to prepare for over 300 people
learned how to be a floor tech
Pros
met actors actress, sport players
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with children and reading books
Volunteer Basis (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 10, 2014
I read to the children and cleaned up. I loved when the children asked questions and was eager to learn. I made them smile and I was genuine to them.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Book'n to work
TECHNOLOGY SERVICES ANALYST (Former Employee) –  St Louis, MoJune 17, 2014
I liked this job. I went to all branches to maintain the computers and printers.
Pros
good work
Cons
too many restrictions
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping people with their research is very rewarding
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 27, 2013
As a front desk clerk I met and assisted people from all walks of life.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shelving books
Volunteer basis (Former Employee) –  St.Louis, MoAugust 7, 2013
I put the books up, tutored kids, and played with children. I did it everyday and I organized things.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Summary
Public Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 29, 2014
I enjoy working for this company....NO Negative feedback about this company.....
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St. Louis Public Library. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9

St. Louis Public Library Reviews by Location