St. Luke's Baptist Hospital Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Volunteer, Patient Services (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 3, 2018
Great place to work. I volunteered at St. Lukes and worked in the Patient Services section. I enjoyed the relaxed environment and friendly staff and personnel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from St. Luke's Baptist Hospital
January 4, 2018

We appreciate your positive review! Our employees are the heart of our organization and are crucial to St. Luke's success.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didn't like it
Patient Care Associate (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXNovember 8, 2017
Chronically under staffed, low pay, administration doesn't care about the employees or patients. cuts corners to save money at every turn and very poorly managed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from St. Luke's Baptist Hospital
November 10, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience but appreciate you voicing your concern.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Occupational Therapist Registered (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 7, 2017
Overall good place to work. I started working there post graduation and I was able to gain a good foundation of OT in an acute setting. i would definitely recommend St. Luke's.
Pros
Manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from St. Luke's Baptist Hospital
October 8, 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback! At St. Luke's, we look to provide successful careers for all employees.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Operating Room Nurse (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 6, 2017
Culture really is horrible here which is why most people leave. Understaffed due to turn over. Benefits are good as well as pay but just the culture is not worth the former.
Pros
Pay, discounts at cafeteria, benefits
Cons
Culture, Micro managing, turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and caring workplace
Clinical Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 8, 2017
experienced job fulfillment during a day when the technology information center was down and all labs had to be verified and collected for all different departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 24, 2017
Working at this company is very stressful, it does not provide a work/life balance. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the patients. The hardest part of the job is working with the negative energy and attitudes of the staff.
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital in a great health system
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 19, 2017
This was a travel assignment that became a perm job. REALLY nice people. Lots to do in the city.
Float between NICU and adults.
Good management. Fair pay.
Pros
Great city
Cons
no real cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
LVN (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 17, 2017
Loved it more for the first ten years last year there too many changes in administration and policies. Hiring a lot of G.N.'s to work in critical care areas of the hospital in the ICU I personally don't think that's a good idea
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management and especially Administration are ruthless and back stabbing
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 4, 2017
Safe Harbor is called quite frequently, it is a excellent place to put your license on the line.
There is no job security because the moment you rubbed Management or Administration wrong they will terminate you (for example, not floating to another unit or coming extra to work). Always under staffed but still surprised because patient satisfaction scores are low. I saw a lot of incidents that should never happen in a hospital. Delivering safe patient care is clearly not a priority for this facility.
Pros
None
Cons
Administration and Management, always under staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
RN Case Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 3, 2017
While working here, they had an awesome atmosphere with great associates working there. They were a very busy place, but the leadership made it a peaceful place for everyone to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
RN (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXDecember 12, 2016
Management is not very organized. They are often understaffed. I feel employees are left out of what is going on with the unit. The compensation is great, as well as the benefits.
Pros
Great pay and great benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
St. Luke's Baptist Hospital
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 7, 2016
This is a very great place to work, very team orientated. From the management to the house keeping staff...everyone knows one another.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temple
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 18, 2016
Although the location is in Temple, the services and medical advancements are unique to this hospital. Great 75 bed ICU level 1 trauma.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive days
Insurance Auditor (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 14, 2016
Fast paced AR management review department, identifying errors that delay payment, working with department directors and or CFO and assisting in process management.

I personally enjoy a fast paced environment, love dealing and assisting with projects to improve revenue. Loving what you do is a major plus and i do love what i do, dealing with department head and being part of implantation teams.
Pros
Fast paced environment, development team
Cons
Wish there were more hours in the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
super busy
RN CIRCULATOR (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 13, 2016
I loved the OR, but no relief and some staff were hard to work with. Its a cut throat environment, I would recommend someone working there for experience but that's about it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing workplace
RN (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 3, 2016
Amazing workplace. I was able to perform my professional tasks on an adult unit, postpartum unit and be involved in discharge teaching and education for pts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Experience, Not so good Management
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TX 78229February 28, 2016
great job to gain experience in this type of facility but tons and tons of walking. only get a 30 minute break for a 14 hour shift. always have shifts with a skeleton crew and management wont step in to help they'll just sit back and watch the employees struggle.
Pros
experience gained and get to meet new people
Cons
lack of help and concern from management, break times, always short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employee Recognition and Advancement
Food Service Team Leader (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 7, 2015
This was a good company to work for. The dietary department is the same as any other hospital dietary department. This hospital recognizes its employees for going above and beyond.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent working enviorment
Telemetry Nurse/ICU/PCU/NICU (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 28, 2013
learned alot here.people were very pt oriented and had great outcomes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked all hours including overnight, holidays and weekends.
Clinical Lab Assistant/Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 7, 2013
Would begin floor draws at 3am most work days. Would start on one floor of the hospital and work my way down. Drew several patients daily and processed specimens.
Pros
Working independently.
Cons
We sometimes had to pull double shifts due to other employees not showing up for their shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St. Luke's Baptist Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7

St. Luke's Baptist Hospital Reviews by Location