St. Mary's Hospital Employee Reviews

Found 647 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upbeat, fun loving and great patient interactions and outcomes
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Grand Junction, COJune 28, 2017
busy day. management is great. my floor is like a family we all work very well together. hardest part of the job is when a patient passes. making connections with the patients and seeing the progress.
Pros
discounts access to medical information and advice
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
On-Call Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Apple Valley, CAJune 26, 2017
Even though care should be the same cross the board in some cases it is not such as this facility, patient care was poor, bad priority's to patients care from ER to rooms, very unclean and infection possible. Nursing care in some cases were bad also with them being concerned as to the doctors reaction to care given.
Pros
clean plase to work
Cons
poor care of patients
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Medical Assisting Extern (Former Employee) –  Langhorne, PAJune 26, 2017
As this was my externship I found the doctor and office manager extremely helpful and willing to teach as well as answer any questions I may have had,
Pros
Great Doctor/Manager
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent job opportunities.
Medical Records as a outpatient file clerk (Former Employee) –  Centralia, ILJune 26, 2017
I worked as a medical clerk and as a medical transcriptionist. The hardest part of the job was interpreting physicians with foreign accents. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that I was producing accurate work to assist patient care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
NICU/PICU Registered Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 20, 2017
BonSecours Health Systems is a good place to work with potential to grow. They stand behind their mission statement and believe family is first. The CEO is a very nice individual that will stop and talk with you anytime. Everyone there is so friendly and willing to share their knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Respiratory Therapist Student (Former Employee) –  Apple Valley, CAJune 15, 2017
I was here as a student and it was a great learning experience the staff took me in as if I was one of their own and taught me alot on how it would be working in an acute facilty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
utlity tech
Utility Technician/Security/Boiler Operator (Former Employee) –  Streator, ILJune 13, 2017
good place to work for, great management, all people at facility were very friendly, everyone worked as a team to get through the day. highly recommend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Student Intern (Former Employee) –  Norton, VAJune 12, 2017
I was a college intern when I worked there. I received a lot of education while I was there and met a lot of people who were beneficial to my education and experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respected company
Supervisor, Environmental Services (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYJune 10, 2017
Great team work and collaboration within departments at this company. Employees are committed to working hard at making this hospital a safe and pleasant environment for the children they serve.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough staff to provide quality care
Health worker (Current Employee) –  Passaic, NJJune 8, 2017
All the time budget cut, not enough CNA, RN, and other staff to provide quality work for the patient. When you go on break you have to punch in and have only 0.5 hr to buy and eat your meal.
Pros
Good lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Internship (Former Employee) –  Huntington, WVJune 6, 2017
Intern position helped with record keeping and filing of patients records other various duties as assigned by supervisors, answering phones, transferring calls
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredibly supportive and friendly staff
Home Health Occupational Therapist (Current Employee) –  Apple Valley, CAJune 6, 2017
I am very appreciative of the support I receive from fellow staff members. It would not be the same without them. In addition, they offer benefits to all employees regardless of thier employment status (I.E. Per diem, part time, full time) and a competitive salary. Fine place to work
Pros
Support, Benefits, Competitive salary
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasant cowkers and employees, but very high paced and stressful
Monitor Technician (Former Employee) –  Apple Valley, CAJune 6, 2017
St. Mary's is a very busy hospital. When the work day began it was busy from the moment you walked in. The phones rang off the hook constantly and the patient call light also never stopped ringing. There were many unhappy patients and family members that we had to face every day and the many doctors we had come in were very demanding. Most days were extremely stressful.
Pros
Health benefits and Paid time off
Cons
Short breaks, long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with all the staff at St. Mary Hospital
Staff / Charge Nurse (Former Employee) –  Port Arthur, TXJune 5, 2017
Being my first Hospital nursing job, there were a lot of veteran nurses willing to help out a new grad. Formed a lot of relationships that carry over to today
Pros
Great staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun workplace
Medical Records Technician (Former Employee) –  Grand Junction, COJune 2, 2017
Enjoyed working in medical records, coworkers were amazing , constant changing, atmosphere very great, patients were very enjoyable to work with as well
Pros
Busy
Cons
No ot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring job
Jen Alvey- Department Leader (Former Employee) –  Leonardtown, MDJune 1, 2017
I enjoyed the 11 years that I worked at MedStar St.Mary;s Hospital
Loved being a part of a team and working side by side with great individuals who cared about the patient and the care they gave.
There were some management changes that some workers did not adjust to easily but change is never easy at first
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace job
Dietary Aid (Former Employee) –  Mequon, WIMay 31, 2017
I was there for 11 years and Ive always been good in the dish room.The management was very good in the beginning but as years went on we had a lot of different people in charge that it was getting harder to keep up because they were so critical for me because I wasn't keeping up or doing everything I'm suppose to do. I was only one person in the dish room for most of the day and there was a lot to do and remember. I really liked the people i worked with they were all very kind to me.
Pros
nice people, good pay
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
performed phlebotomy throughout the hospital
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 30, 2017
I was taught phlebotomy for all the hospital patients. It also included clotting and bleeding times. This was before the SMAC machine use a smaller amount of blood. It was a teaching hospital, so many times the morning amounts on patients were many tubes.
Pros
learning to be able to get blood with little pain
Cons
have to be at work at 6 AM
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Medical Office Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 29, 2017
Loved this receptionist job until the hospital shut down, great staff and clients it was a pleasure going to work. very busy but overall great place to work
Pros
get benefits
Cons
gets very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past, downtown Grand Rapids ED
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMay 29, 2017
Taking care of any patient that walked through the door whether It be a newborn baby or a 78 year old man having an MI.

The most difficult part of the job as getting used to the schedule since was per diemn.
Pros
Busy, A lot had so nexperience
Cons
Varies shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St. Mary's Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 695 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9