St. Mary's University Employee Reviews in United States

Found 26 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enriching work environment with diverse people
Entertainment Editor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXDecember 19, 2015
St. Mary's University provides clean, enriching working environments and provided us with all the funds necessary for whatever we needed to advance our functions on the job, something I saw at both places I worked as a tutor and also as an editor for the campus newspaper. The newsroom was well-stocked with all the tech gadgets we could ever needed to be creative and make the paper the best it could be, and I'm super grateful for having gotten the chance to participate in that.
Pros
access to equipment, free lunches, enriching environment, great supervisors
Cons
no benefits for student workers as far as health or anything
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
University Center Front Desk Operator (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 6, 2016
Working in the university center of st. marys university is plenty of fun. I am always kept busy and the management and staff are very easygoing.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Standards with time freedom
Peer Minister (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 2, 2016
Being a student worker allowed the managers to be flexible with hours but still demanded high standards while on the lock.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful, fun, challenging
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 1, 2016
As being an assistant to the physics lab TA, I had the opportunity to answer any questions students had and help with their experiments. Another task was setting up their working area.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University!
Residence Hall Director (Former Employee) –  on campusDecember 13, 2012
-Great culture of community at the university. Common to see the same people multiple times through out the day.
-University host many opportunities for mission and identity training sessions.
-A typical day at work: no telling with college students. I worked and lived on campus managing a freshman residence hall.
-Management: 1 on 1 mentoring. Great caring leaders.
-Additional Benefits: Meal Plan, Housing on campus
-Most Enjoyable: making a difference in peoples lives.
Pros
counseling services available, free tuition for employees, gym membership
Cons
balancing the time between work and personal life.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging workplace with new people all the times from students to parents.
DATA ENTRY CLERK (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 28, 2015
Both of my jobs with St. Mary's University were wonderful. Every individual was not just your ordinary common co-worker, the majority were education professionals (doctors and counselor) it was a great family.
Every semester was a new group of students up to 24. Throughout my 16 years working in higher education, it was more than a challenge but an honor working and knowing so many people from other countries.
Pros
I was able to travel several times a year.
Cons
In reality I would not change my past experience for anything.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and Driven group of Professionals
Resident Assistant (RA) (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 8, 2015
The most incredible training and coaching programs I have ever been a part of. Though challenges are faced in an ongoing campus setting the staff at St. Mary's University are engaged and constantly guide you to reach success.
Pros
Work hard play hard
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place and people to work with
Office Support Assistant (Current Employee) –  700 Terrace HeightsSeptember 23, 2015
St. Mary's is a fun place to work with. The employees are good people and relate well with each other. they provide training so as improve the employees' ability and knowledge of the work environment. They like working with the students a lot.
Pros
training
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time instructor position was fun, lacked job security and benefits.
Adjunct Instructor of Drama (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 10, 2012
I taught introduction to drama lecture classes of 50-75 students. Teaching was gratifying, and I enjoyed relative freedom with the curriculum. As in most cases in any college, however, a part-time, adjunct position offered no benefits or formal job security.
Pros
collegiate atmosphere
Cons
no benefits, no commitment offered to part-time instructors
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Peer Minister (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 2, 2015
This place has been amazing and a wonderful place to work. Don't let the size steer you away, the size is a great campus and staff-student ratio.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about St. Mary's University?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Fitness Staff Member (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 2, 2015
Theres a lot of brothers that train here, since its a catholic school. So we have a variety of age groups which has helped me observe and understand how to train different individuals. The most enjoyable part of the job was training people since its my passion.
Pros
flexible
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  San AntonioMay 5, 2015
Good pay, easy to work around school schedule. I learn skills while working for my university. Good way to pay off college
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great community, people, and opportunites
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 21, 2014
StMU is all about community more than anything, and if you work hard and do your part, there will be plenty of people willing to lend a hand for you down the road.
Pros
comfortable work environment
Cons
some unproductive co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 16, 2012
Had a fun experience with the students. Learned at a fast pace. Management was cooperative.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good way for struggling students to earn money
History Work-study (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 7, 2013
A typical day involves entering the office to sign in. Students have to check the e-mail account for work if they are not assigned previous projects. Students sit at the desk waiting to be useful to professors. We were allowed to take lunch breaks and leave if we needed to. Some professors may have assigned more work than needed, but students finished it.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I already provided this.
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXNovember 5, 2014
I already did this.
Teaching practices
Was poor
Supervisor was inept
Dealing with inept supervisor
the Students.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunities for Students
Student Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 19, 2013
I had a great job and was also to complete school work. I was not given work-study but this position with the library gave me more pay with the ability to study also and make some extra income.
Pros
study time
Cons
worked late at night
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Campus Recreation Work-Study (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 24, 2014
I enjoyed working with my fellow students going in and out of the gym
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy-going environment
Office Clerk / Receptionist (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXNovember 18, 2013
I liked the close community and easy-going vibe. Mostly laid back and entry-level work. Flexible hours to fit schedule.
Pros
fun and laid back
Cons
uneventful at times
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and co-workers
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Winona, MNJune 4, 2012
They understand how to treat an employee and student. Good to employees, Very good training for personnel.
Pros
you set your schedule
Cons
hard computer system to understand
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 30 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture