Find companies:
St. Mary Mercy Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

St. Mary Mercy Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small but mighty
Patient Care Associate (Former Employee), Livonia, MIOctober 10, 2014
Good hospital, very small community hospital. Sweet staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Deptartment with great co-workers. Maternity Depaprtment
OB Tech - Labor & Delivery (Former Employee), Livonia, MIOctober 2, 2014
Pros: in maternity dept. fun to see and work with newborn babies.
Cons: working some weekends and sometimes being called off because not enough patients to keep full staff.
I did some clerical work, phones copy and fax machine. Mostly did work with Newborns and Mothers, obtaining vitals and lab specimans. I also was trained to be a Scrub Tech on C-sections which I really enjoyed. Very fulfilling position. A large variety of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love what i do
Cardiology Unit Nurse Assistant (Former Employee), Livonia, MIApril 5, 2014
Pros: i love my work
Cons: na
worked cardiology floor in hospital they wore heart monitors vital signs ecg bathing feeding tending to their needs and have been in my share of rapid responses take lab specimens etc. My most enjoyable part is i love what i do and to talk to my patients interact with them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work experience
Security Officer (Current Employee), Livonia, MIMarch 24, 2014
Pros: great work experience
-Make certain hospital grounds are safe for employees, visitors, and patients.
-Control access for the entire Medical Center and perform all necessary locking and unlocking within the various buildings and grounds.
-Worked as an OIC supervising of Officers.
-Dispatch emergency calls, to other officers throughout hospital.
-Responds to distress calls, – more... panic alarms and emergency calls for disorderly conduct, disruptive persons or combative patients.
-Help visitors and patients to and from there vehicles. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fist Job
Med/Surg Staff RN (Former Employee), Livonia, MIMarch 4, 2014
This was my first job as an RN working 12 hrs shifts. It was a nice place to work. The floor I worked on was a great floor to learn about nursing. The people were friendly, the manager was great and people did their jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable learning experience even as intern
Mental Health Intern (Former Employee), Livonia, MIFebruary 18, 2014
As an intern, I was unable to perform many tasks but I was able to shadow and talk to patients about referrals and further seeking help. This was my first exposure to mental health and substance abuse. There were a lot of different things to learn about all diseases. The staff was willing to help the interns learn especially when there was stuff that – more... was hard to pick up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly coworkers
Patient Care Assistant (Former Employee), Livonia, MIDecember 11, 2013
Loved working with the staff. That was the best part of working there. I also enjoy taking care of people and working there you are able to do that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive hospital with great chances for learning and advancement
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Livonia, MIDecember 8, 2013
Pros: great co workers with positive environment for productive care
Cons: patient to rn ratio was high
Great hospital for excellent care, great team with the highest level of care and positive teamwork among employees. Every day was a day of learning opportunities and challenges that intrigued me to want to work harder and learn more. Our management team always challenged us and gave us chances to excel in our strong areas and build confidence and competence – more... in our areas that needed attention. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
CST (Current Employee), Operating RoomDecember 8, 2013
Pros: nice people
St. Marys is a nice place to work. I have been there for a while. The people are friendly the doctors are nice and if you have a problem you can always talk to management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an excellent hospital
Internal Medicine Categorical Resident (Current Employee), Livonia, MIDecember 1, 2013
I carry a large volume of patients. Ancillary staff is very nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typically we were under staffed, typically our managers were un available and the culture was filled with smokers and negative attitudes.
Emergency Care Technician (Former Employee), Livonia, MINovember 23, 2013
Pros: great looking facility, great cafeteria
Cons: terrible scheduling coordinator, awful management, negative work culture.
A typical work day at st. Mary's was very stressful filled with challenges that ranged from Scheduling issues, Management problems and a very negative work culture. The most rewarding part of my day was the interpersonal relationships with patients. I looked forward each day to making their emergency room stay the best I could.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work, nice people.
Programmer/Analyst (Former Employee), Livonia, MIOctober 29, 2013
A typical day at work was to review my queue for work assignments that were urgent. I learned how to analyze the various programming needs required for the health care workers. Management was always supportive of my needs. My co-workers were very helpful to review my coding and changes. The hardest part of the job was to determine what the customers – more... needed. The most enjoyable part of the job was to create reports and screens that were helpful and necessary for the users. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Certified Nuclear Medicine Technologist (Current Employee), Livonia, MIJuly 4, 2013
Pros: it is nearby to where i live.
Cons: i am looking for a full time position
Good. The Nuclear Medicine docters are really nice. People from other departments are very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security - should contract out to professional security company
Security - dressed as a restaurant waiter (Former Employee), Livonia, MIJune 26, 2013
Cons: low pay. no lunch period. work 81/2 hrs paid for 8
Work under the maintenance department. The director is a hot head and the hospital does not even allow him to talk to contractors because of his lack of communications skills. He thinks he is intimidating but everyone just laughs at him.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Emergency Room Technician (Current Employee), Livonia, MIMay 17, 2013
Pros: having your own locker
Cons: not enough parking space
Productive and a diverse environment to work. Managers work with you to understand and resolve any problems work related or other wise. Co-workers work as a team to ensure a study flow, and friendships are transparent among co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very positive place to work.
Patient Care Associate (Current Employee), Livonia, MIApril 29, 2013
Management is great with allowing a very flexible schedule. Work days are full and rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
St. Mary Mercy Hospital
Office Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee), Livonia, MIApril 23, 2013
Pros: learning how to multi-task
Cons: being alone..a lot at work at times......still loved it and looked up.
I loved loved loved working here. A typical day at work consisted of calling patients, answering phones, scheduling appointments, data entry, cleaning, filing and running errands whenever needed. I learned how to multi-task to the fullest!!!! I loved and looked up to my supervisors. They were very educated and intellgent doctors. I worked alone in this – more... practice. The hardest part of the job was having to do everything....being alone alot. The most enjoyable part of the job was the clinical days......I loved to work and help on these days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work as well as comfortable
Housekeeping (Current Employee), Livonia, MIDecember 8, 2012
One of the most important things that I've learned from here is the handle large loads in a calm manner. I have learned to go well above the call of duty so much so that it has become just what i do. All of my coworkers welcomed me with open arms. They taught me what they knew without hesitation and with great patience. A typical work day for me isn't – more... so typical. Due to my willingness to learn all areas of operation, my duties change day to day. As a result i have become a value to the company. I'm currently still training to become a transporter as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
security officer (Former Employee), Livonia, MINovember 15, 2012
Pros: time off
Cons: travel
enjoyable co-workers and helping people who are sick and injured
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very productive hospital to do my externship.
Externship (Former Employee), Livonia, MIOctober 16, 2012
I loved going to St. Mary Mercy Hospital. I had fun and I loved working with the patients.