Find companies:
St. Paul Travelers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
228 reviews

St. Paul Travelers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Left years ago and people are still having issues there
Auto Damage Appraiser (Former Employee), Richardson TxDecember 23, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: job security
Management is ran by the good old boy system or buddy buddy. In order for you to advance or even keep your job, you must associate yourself with certain people.
Forget about a personal life or home life. You will be overworked and burned out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain Case Management experience
RN Medical Case Manager (Current Employee), Walnut Creek, CADecember 21, 2014
Very busy and productive work environment. Good teamwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A sales company, with no one from a sales culture.
Sales Executive (Former Employee), Reno, NVDecember 15, 2014
Pros: base salary was acceptable.
Cons: the cons are clearly noted in the review.
The notion of work/life balance was kind of humorous at Travelers. Few, if any of my fellow Sales Execs ever felt like we were paying the proper attention to our families simply because the company jumps from on panicked initiative to another, never really ending one, just stacking more on top. What was the end all, be all focus during our usual scrambling – more... mid year meetings, became just another 'priority' as they would heap more on us month in and month out.

Management is all about product, and rarely employs people from a sales culture. Sadly, when your clients are all about the sales culture and you have little expertise in management, you fail to generate much enthusiasm or trust.

Bonuses, which I'd always earned at other companies, were usually tangled into so many qualifiers, field execs could rarely meet those requirements. In the 4 years I was with them, our region only paid 2 or 3 Sales Execs, and those bonuses amounted to less than $4,000. By contrast, previous employers had been paying out $15,000-40,000. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coordinator
University Relations Coordinator (Former Employee), Hartford, CTDecember 15, 2014
I was responsible for coordinating all recruiting efforts. This was a great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I went there to get my work done.
Claims Support Specialist (Former Employee), Middleboro, MADecember 3, 2014
I enjoy working with the people. You always had a lot to get done. Where there is a will there is a way to get is done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Secretary/Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Detroit, MINovember 19, 2014
Pros: not enough help
Cons: benefits
great company to work for. excellent training and great dealing with customers. a valuable work experience. company closed in det, mi where I was working otherwise I still would have been there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Their Initial Treatment of the Employee Made Me Quickly Fiercely Loyal
Training (Former Employee), WashingtonNovember 18, 2014
On the whole, the organization is the most amazing place to work for. Excellent advancement opportunities. However two things make it a major risk if consider working there. Firstly, unless you are in a home office role (Hartford, CT or St Paul, MN) your overall experience is almost ENTIRELY dependent upon the quality of your manager. Not all managers – more... at Travelers are worth anything. Some are downright horrible and their employees suffer. I was fortunate to have the most amazing manager so my experience was amazing on the whole. Secondly, and more gravely concerning, the company, like most large 40k+ employee Fortune 100 or 500 companies, are beginning to value efficiency and machine like consistency from their employees that they feel can only be achieved, cost effective anyhow, by outsourcing, new automation, or more rigorous "best practices... thus eliminating the value on the human element of the jobs. My opinion is that the human element, not completely consistent ever due to the fact that we are humans, is the most critical element that separates out the men from the "trained monkeys." Our ability to adjust and adapt to ever changing circumstances and make nuanced and thoughtful decisions that best cater to our end customer whomever that may be is the single most critical element we can contribute and taking the freedom to adjust on a case by case basis away from the employees cripples them, demoralizes them and takes away their self worth and relegates them to the same level as machines and/or trained animals. Travelers, like many large corporations today, has succumbed to this temptation and this "disease" is running rampant through the entire enterprise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Challenge
General Liability Claims Adjuster (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INNovember 10, 2014
I would work here for my entire career. It is wonderful company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Econometrics and All Lines Analytics Intern (Former Employee), Hartford, CTNovember 4, 2014
As an intern, I felt very welcomed by everyone who worked there. Everyone was friendly and always willing to help you out when they can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company, continued financial growth
Manager, Human Resources (Current Employee), Blue Bell, PANovember 4, 2014
Pros: financially stable company
Cons: very conservative company, makes employee retention difficult at times
Travelers is a very stable company and continues to grow financially. We are all focused on the bottom line and to increase value for shareholders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For Travelers, I worked as a claims auditor.
Claims auditor (Former Employee), Matteson, ILOctober 31, 2014
Pros: ok
Cons: ok
I enjoyed worked at Travelers as a claims auditor and giving reports to the trainers so that the trainers can update all of the processors or help in training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travelers Insruance
Manager Diane Nichols (Former Employee), Diamond Bar, CAOctober 29, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
positive work environment, multi lines investigations completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compensation/Benefits
Claims Dispatcher (Former Employee), Naperville, ILOctober 23, 2014
I thought this was a good place to work but I didn't see any room for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Company
Agency Compensation Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Hartford, CTOctober 21, 2014
Pros: lots of community service opertunities
Cons: co-pays for medication was often high.
My co-workers were very nice. This job sometimes involved long hours during payout season. Exempt employees do not get paid overtime. The hardest part of the job was writing more complex SQL queries and knowing which tables to pull in for the expected results. The most enjoyable part of the job was answering Field Office inquiries, and balancing calculation – more... statements. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardest part of the job
Field Product Line Manager (Current Employee), HartfordOctober 14, 2014
Dealing with multiple bosses that all want someting done in a different way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Insurance Company I've worked for as well
Senior Clerk (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: great people, benefits, management etc
One of the best Insurance companies in San Francisco. I had no issues at all. Love this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company to work for.
Director Operations (Current Employee), Richardson, TXOctober 9, 2014
It's a fine company to work for. Leadership is adequately trained, but should spend more time in getting to know their employees and properly pay for performance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, excellent company
Outside Claims Representative (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCOctober 3, 2014
I worked in claims where everyday day brought something new. Enjoyed the autonomy and flexibility that the company offered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Senior Insurance Service Representative (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNOctober 2, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: poor management and no job security
Travelers used to be a great company to work for but recently in the past couple years they started grading quality on a bell curve which guarantees that even with the entire staff performing 85% quality and above they punish the bottom 20% of employees and there is not job security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked
Personal Lines Underwriter (Current Employee), Syracuse, NYSeptember 21, 2014
With the closing of two business centers the company has not prepared very well causing a very stressful work environment.

1 2 3 4 5

About St. Paul Travelers

Running a business is a risk The Travelers Companies will insure. While it does offer personal auto and homeowners insurance, the – Read more