St. Petersburg College

St. Petersburg College Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 47 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
St. Petersburg College
Adjunct Professor for Sciences (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLNovember 15, 2012
Professional College working environment. All staff are available and competent at their tasks.

My teaching skills continue to grow.

Working evening shifts has confirmed my managerial skills in many situations.

Co-workers are part of a team.

There is no hard part of the job.

Extending my knowledge of sciences to students that can be hindered by equations and math.
Pros
retirement plan
Cons
no health care options
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Algebra Tutor (Former Employee) –  Tarpon Springs, FLAugust 1, 2012
A typical day at work involved doing adult students' algebra homework for them while that grunted occasional assents at me and texted people. I learned that I am capable of explaining many topics of basic algebra to people but that I don't like it. Management was aloof but effective. My co-workers were decent people. The hardest part of the job was being on. The most enjoyable part of the job was receiving a small sum of money to perform it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Career Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJanuary 5, 2013
I loved working at SPC and helping the students. The management was awesome to work with as well as my co workers. It was a very busy office setting but I love fast paced jobs and learned a lot about efficiently running an office, setting up appointments and travel itineraries, resumes and cover letters and problem solving.
Pros
working in an academic environment
Cons
we sometimes had long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Staff Assistant (Former Employee) –  Largo, FLMay 6, 2015
For a seasonal part time job, this was a great place for a high school student to start out and get sales experience. very fast paced but overall a nice place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was able to learn how to multi task. The teachers I had were great!!
Clerical and general duties (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLApril 13, 2012
I was hired part time due to classes I was taking in the business office of the tech building. May time was taken up with running errands and running the computer room. If a student had difficulty, I was there to help them. The hardest part of my job was when I graduated.
Pros
good atmosphere
Cons
parking was difficult.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is a biologist dream come true.
Lab Tech Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tarpon Springs, FLApril 2, 2014
Wonderful place to work at St. Petersburg College. The supervisors and colleagues are willing to help, mentor and train in every way possible. It's very easy to become knowledgeable quickly in many fields with great support and ambitious character.
Pros
supervisor, professors and the gift of expierience.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits
Student Support Advisor (Former Employee) –  st. petersburgFebruary 2, 2015
does not consider previous work experience, education, etc for pay.

great benefits/time off

work life balance +

intrinsically satisfying based off of working with students, hard to grow professionally.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLMay 2, 2013
My experience working for SPC was great. Although it was only a student position I worked closely to the permanent staff members. Everyone mixed well and enjoyed working. If it was not for the student position I would be continuing to working there right now.
Pros
everything
Cons
maybe alot of work to handle
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nursing School
Past Member of SPC Student Government (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLSeptember 26, 2012
Great school. Teachers really care about the success of the students. The teachers will even tutor for free to help the students really grasp material. The program is extremely difficult, however, you feel prepared when you leave to be a nurse.
Pros
low cost school, great program.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Staff Assistant (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJanuary 22, 2014
This job allowed me to take charge of a major task and taught me a new skill. I loved interacting with the students and public visitors that came to the career center. In this job I also got to help people which always makes me feel like a valued member of the team.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pinellas Park, FLSeptember 8, 2012
I loved working with students and staff, meeting their every need. Phones, mail outs, warehouse, inventory, routing, handling,incoming and outgoing mail for distance program. Typing, computer, notices, staff minutes, great comminication skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLFebruary 3, 2015
SPC is a great place to work. Everyone seems to enjoy their jobs. Scheduling is generally flexible, and they work with students' schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acedemic Enviroment
Grant Accountant (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLDecember 17, 2012
Procedures must be followed to the letter and it takes some time to change them if needed. Staff is knowledge and helpful. Benefits are great. Management is supportive.
Pros
positive atmoshere
Cons
takes a while to change procedures
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A stimulating environment to work in
Educator/ Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Pinellas Park, FLJune 26, 2014
You have the opportunity to teach students in the lab on campus; hospital setting; and the Simulation Lab.
Pros
rewarding job
Cons
career advancement difficult without m.s.n.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLAugust 31, 2014
A lot of the teachers and students are very friendly. My supervisor guides me every step of the way. The dos and donts of the place. I usually file, organize student's personal informations.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tutored while attending college
Student Tutor (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FloridaNovember 13, 2014
I enjoy helping others learn and in return, it helped me out as well.
Pros
increased knowledge of accounting
Cons
took some study time away
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLJanuary 13, 2014
It was an excellent part time job for a high school student that turned into something more as time went on. The benefits were very good but the pay could have been better. It was good while it lasted.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Education
Adjunct Faculty College of Nursing (Current Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLOctober 14, 2014
Teaching new nursing students the aspects of Mental Health Nursing.
Pros
student interaction
Cons
time constraints of adjunct position
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with friendly staff; room for advancement.
STUDENT ASSISTANT, PURCHASING (Current Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLApril 23, 2014
A typical work week as a student assistant is fairly simple. Most days were very enjoyable for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exeptional work environment.
Note-Taker/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  St.Petersburg,FlAugust 15, 2012
Very fast paced with a high call volume. Dealt with all students throughout the campus as well as the faculty.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 47 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
4.2