Find companies:
ST. VINCENT'S HEALTH SYSTEM
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

ST. VINCENT'S HEALTH SYSTEM Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience with the most corrupt HR and Management
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), BirminghamSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: cant think of any
Cons: corrupt, poor patient care and treatment, hostile place to work
Hesitant about STV initially, but horrible HR. Don't know what they are doing. The managers want to fire everyone and if you are a FAVORITE of some, you are okay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Cancer Center (Current Employee), BirminghamApril 18, 2013
Pros: great staff
Cons: poor management
Hr and Management are below standard. Manager seems unsure o herself, depends on another to make decisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
St. Vincent's is a great place to work
PARKING TRANSPORTATION SUPERVISOR (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALMarch 25, 2013
Resolving issues and complaints
The new company wide system
Investigating complaints from customers
We work as a team and assist one another
Assisting in Valet during the busiest part
Working on the newsletter
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Peaceful, Conducive to Learning and Helpful Environment
CPAR (Current Employee), ALMarch 20, 2013
Pros: i have grown professionally and learned a tremendous amount.
Cons: flexibiliy in shifts
Atypical day is fast paced to steady.
There is always something to be learned.
Management is professional and fair.
Coworkers are diverse, but pleasant.
The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting
new people and learning different things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
EA VP MKTG & COMM & VP OF PHY RECRUIT (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALMarch 15, 2013
Great people
Good benefits
Flexible schedules in some areas
Multiple locations
Many opportunities to advance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to be able to think fast on your feet.
Desktop Support Technician (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: self-governance, closeness to home, the ability to remote into a system on the network.
Cons: preferential treatment, lacsadaisical attitude toward pressing issues, physical moves of equipment, having to pay to get out of a parking deck
A typical day consists of both incident( normal priority and emergency/ critical priority) and request tickets. Most of the time your day is consumed with so called "critical" priority tickets because of some random ticket that may arise. You may run into an epic move of equipment which has to be approved by some higher ups in the company and they don't – more... know that it has to go through proper channels. What I have learned is how to install applications, image computers, and the ability to remote into a system and troubleshoot remotely. The hardest part of the job is not being able to find information on what you need to troubleshoot and repair an application installed on a system. Coworkers for the most part are friendly and knowledgeable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for the the healthcare industry.
Full-time MT (Former Employee), Birmingham, AlOctober 31, 2012
Pros: ability to work from home
Cons: high potential to be outsourced.
Great place to work. Adequate benefits and compensation plans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respect for all persons is demonstrated.
Communications Specialist (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLOctober 13, 2012
Pros: liberal accrual of paid time off
St. Vincent's associates are committed to the Mission of caring for all, especially those in need. Patients and staff are treated with respect and compassion. The staff is friendly and dedicated to excellent patient care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALSeptember 10, 2012
Pros: skills obtained and experience
Cons: physical strain of work
Unsafe enviroment, were there were 1 Patient Care Assistant for 16 patients on a busy med/surg floor. Constantly understaffed and overworked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, catholic culture
Analyst (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALSeptember 1, 2012
Exceptional opportunities for mentoring and succession planning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please don't work at St. Vincent's. Corruption at its best! Management and HR.
Medical (Former Employee), BirminghamAugust 13, 2012
Management and HR are Way out of their leaque. They will LIE to protect theirselves and the hospital. Lawsuit from numerous employees. Nobody is going to lie under oath.

Sanda – May 10, 2013

It's all about who you know at St. Vincent's. Management preferred some staff members over others. Managers seemed to have a "buddy" relationship.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social Workers beware!
Social Worker (Former Employee), BirminghamJuly 18, 2012
Pros: friendly co-workers
Cons: horrible management
I was employed with St. Vincent's as a social worker and had truly found my DREAM JOB. It was a great place to work, I loved all my co-workers and patients. I was convinced this would be the job that I retired from.....until new management came in and LAID OFF every SOCIAL WORKER! They had decided to go to a "Case Management Model" and were going to – more... only use RN's for the department. I was SO SHOCKED! I had just been invited to participate in a senior group leadership weekend and this TOTALLY blind-sided me. It is SO sad someone in management made such a terrible decision to let us all go, because we all loved our jobs so much. And now, they realize how valuable and how different RN's and Social Workers are in the healthcare setting. – less

upset – October 30, 2012

I was there when it happened and it was very upsetting to witness.

Sanda – May 10, 2013

Very, very bad management.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good relationship with co-workers
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), 3-4 westJune 5, 2012
Pros: i had good people working with me (lpn)
Cons: had good food in the cafeteria
making assignments, rounds,work the medication cart . one nurse to 7 patients for medication pass, dressing changes and etc. CNA's were difficult some times due to intense work/heavy lifting/bathing/feeding when staff was short due to call offs. the hardest part of my job was to have a fall free/no skin tears incidents or break down of skin on my unit. – more... the most enjoyable part was when visitors/family member thank the staff for good care of their love one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
PCT (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALFebruary 25, 2012
It hospital have good core values and expect nothing but perfection but they also have some people who knows people and can get away with practically anything. If you are a RN, then there's nothing you should worry about because RN looks out for fellow RNs but if you are in a nursing support position(unit secretary or PCT) please watch what you say – more... or do because they are quick to get rid of them. – less

About ST. VINCENT'S HEALTH SYSTEM

St. Vincent's Health System is made up of five facilities: St. Vincent's Birmingham, St. Vincent's Blount, St. Vincent's East, – Read more