ST. VINCENT'S HEALTH SYSTEM Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Behavioral health social worker (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALApril 26, 2017
a very fast paced environment, micromanaged, minimal flexibility, extremely high demands of social workers, praises primarily nurses. decent benefits and retirement package
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMarch 16, 2017
Lots of opportunities for department changes. Definitely a "small fish in a big pond" feeling though. HR department is terrible and does not support their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great establishment. Great co workers
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJanuary 3, 2017
Productive very well managed and great work environment. Great overall work experience with competent co workers.
Flexable scheduling. Happy environment. Great unit manager and charge nurses. Very busy unit.
Pros
gift shop discount. Great charge nurses. flexable scheduling
Cons
Busy unit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not sure how to summarize :)
Patient Account Representative (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALDecember 13, 2016
Being that I currently work here I am not comfortable going into great detail about my job. I will say that it is a good place to work and I would recommend it to anyone asking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
St. Vincents is a good place to work.
REgistered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 20, 2016
Positive work environment with good teamwork and all supplies needed to do my job. Management is supportive and listens to employees.
Pros
Teamwork, Supplies available that are needed for job, goig management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is all the same company started 1988 left 2014
Purchasing Agent (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMay 3, 2016
typical day - busy
learned a lot from working there
managed - enjoyed previous bosses
hardest part - leaving job due to job being relocated
most enjoyable - helping others
Pros
awesome place to work
Cons
leaving the place that I worked for so long
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong, nurturing and positive culture
System Chief Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 15, 2015
The most enjoyable part of working for St. Vincent's is the system of values that are ingrained in the culture. Meetings are often lead with reflection and prayer. The associates identify with the mission and embrace these values.

The organization is on a very impressive financial trajectory over the past 5 years. Significant changes were put in place 5 years ago and in spite of numerous changes to the senior leadership team since that time, they have continued to produce results.

The most enjoyable part of working here is the opportunity to help people in our community that are vulnerable. Regardless if you are actually providing care to patients, you feel as if you are part of something important.
Pros
Faith based culture
Cons
Instability in senior management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very live place to work, with an everyday applicable learning environment.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALFebruary 5, 2015
On a typical day at work, I encounter large quantities of patients while exhibiting excellent customer service, ensuring that patients are seen promptly along with verifying patient information. I am skilled with training line staff; accomplished in fostering workplace harmony; and building productive interdepartmental relationships across all organizational levels. Other responsibilities include coding and insurance verification along with administrative tasks. Phlebotomy is done as assigned. At times the volume of incoming patients is great, however though experience, I have learned to handle these types of situations. The most enjoyable part is being able to care for patients on a one on one basis. Throughout my career, I have learned that different managers have different styles, I have learned to adapt to various management styles.
Pros
Encouragement from managers and co-workers.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Numerous Duties, many positions over the years
Property Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FloridaDecember 8, 2014
Last position of Property Assistant was handling all correspondence, answering phones, processing leases, handling all aspects of property management, I enjoyed being busy and dealing with the inter-related departments
Pros
Excellent benefits, good working conditions
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team orientated, Patient Care.
Patient Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALNovember 15, 2014
I go in with a flexible state of mind, knowing that anything can or will happen.
I've learned a great deal of things that i was unaware of.
As of right now my unit doesn't have a management team. However we all get things done accordingly, because we have great team work.
The hardest part of my job is getting attached to patients who on palliative care.
The most enjoyable part of my job is having a great team to stand behind me
Pros
health benefits, team work
Cons
Short lunch break, working understaffed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 14, 2014
I enjoyed my job getting to meet a lot of caring people an realize you never know how lucky u are until you wait on sick customers Im a people person an love to work in this field
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALDecember 27, 2013
It's very beneficial. Being an intern I learned how to help others, and many cooperate procedures.
Pros
Pays for tuition
Cons
Working in same office as supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience with the most corrupt HR and Management
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  BirminghamSeptember 24, 2013
Hesitant about STV initially, but horrible HR. Don't know what they are doing. The managers want to fire everyone and if you are a FAVORITE of some, you are okay.
Pros
Cant think of any
Cons
Corrupt, poor patient care and treatment, hostile place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Cancer Center (Current Employee) –  BirminghamApril 18, 2013
Hr and Management are below standard. Manager seems unsure o herself, depends on another to make decisions.
Pros
great staff
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
St. Vincent's is a great place to work
PARKING TRANSPORTATION SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMarch 25, 2013
Resolving issues and complaints
The new company wide system
Investigating complaints from customers
We work as a team and assist one another
Assisting in Valet during the busiest part
Working on the newsletter
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Peaceful, Conducive to Learning and Helpful Environment
CPAR (Current Employee) –  ALMarch 20, 2013
Atypical day is fast paced to steady.
There is always something to be learned.
Management is professional and fair.
Coworkers are diverse, but pleasant.
The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting
new people and learning different things.
Pros
i have grown professionally and learned a tremendous amount.
Cons
flexibiliy in shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
EA VP MKTG & COMM & VP OF PHY RECRUIT (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMarch 15, 2013
Great people
Good benefits
Flexible schedules in some areas
Multiple locations
Many opportunities to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to be able to think fast on your feet.
Desktop Support Technician (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJanuary 29, 2013
A typical day consists of both incident( normal priority and emergency/ critical priority) and request tickets. Most of the time your day is consumed with so called "critical" priority tickets because of some random ticket that may arise. You may run into an epic move of equipment which has to be approved by some higher ups in the company and they don't know that it has to go through proper channels. What I have learned is how to install applications, image computers, and the ability to remote into a system and troubleshoot remotely. The hardest part of the job is not being able to find information on what you need to troubleshoot and repair an application installed on a system. Coworkers for the most part are friendly and knowledgeable.
Pros
self-governance, closeness to home, the ability to remote into a system on the network.
Cons
preferential treatment, lacsadaisical attitude toward pressing issues, physical moves of equipment, having to pay to get out of a parking deck
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for the the healthcare industry.
Full-time MT (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, AlOctober 31, 2012
Great place to work. Adequate benefits and compensation plans.
Pros
ability to work from home
Cons
high potential to be outsourced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respect for all persons is demonstrated.
Communications Specialist (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 13, 2012
St. Vincent's associates are committed to the Mission of caring for all, especially those in need. Patients and staff are treated with respect and compassion. The staff is friendly and dedicated to excellent patient care.
Pros
liberal accrual of paid time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ST. VINCENT'S HEALTH SYSTEM. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.7

ST. VINCENT'S HEALTH SYSTEM Reviews by Location