Find companies:
St. Vincent de Paul
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
49 reviews

St. Vincent de Paul Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Retail / Fitting Room Associate (Current Employee), Frisco, TXMarch 25, 2014
Pros: get to learn a lot
This is the place to work. The leadership is good and the environment is fun and relaxed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very helpful and easy to work with
Kitchen Volunteer (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 4, 2014
Pros: we had a great supervisor
Cons: i moved out of the area and could no longer work there
I worked in the kitchen doing meals for the homeless. I worked mornings in the kitchen and worked on the computer in the afternoon.
We had a great supervisor and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Work Place To Be Apart Of.
Retail/Cashier (Former Employee), Parkland, WaFebruary 12, 2014
I was a cashier there working with customers was a amazing feeling for me. I learned how to run the cash register i how to be professional in a business type place. All my managers were very intelligent always teaching us something new. All us co-workers worked together wonderfully helped one another out all the time. I enjoyed my job so much i met – more... so many amazing customers i cant say there was a hard part of my job is was pretty laid back but we always made sure we got the job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great part time job while I was caring for family.
Store Associate (Former Employee), Post Falls, IdahoFebruary 5, 2014
Not much to say here....

I was a cashier, Pricer, Inventory guy, Cleaner ....
I worked in the warehouse pricing and cleaning and selling furniture...
This was a "jack of all trades" job and lots of fun...
The core position was customer service face to face with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Organization staffed by wonderful people
FRONT OFFICE VOLUNTEER (Former Employee), Roseville, CADecember 16, 2013
The people who staff the office of St Paul De Vincent in Roseville are the most charitable, compassionate, understanding people I've ever worked with. If you have an opportunity to work or volunteer/community service here you should do it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community based company dedicated to helping others.
Shift Lead (Former Employee), Everett, WAOctober 25, 2013
Pros: great employee discounts and friendly environment.
Cons: no room for advancement and unstable management.
St. Vincent de Paul is a wonderful non-profit organization that is dedicated to helping the community. I support all they stand for. My favorite part of my job was working with the customers and helping those in need. The atmosphere is upbeat and positive. My co-workers were fun and enjoyable. Being a small retail store there was not a lot of room for – more... advancement. They did not however give regular employee reviews or raises. The hardest part of my job was when monthly funding was at its max and their were still so many people in need. The was a very high employee turnover and management was changed often. Overall it was a great place to work short term. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Volunteer Work/Community Service (Former Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 23, 2013
Pros: free leftover at the end
Cons: standing for long periods of time.
A typical day at St. Vincent De Paul would be to come in and prepare/bag the food that was to be handed out when people arrived. I learned what its like to be independent because no one holds your hand the whole time you really have to catch on fast and work really hard to get through the day and to get the job done. my co workers were all really great – more... and really bubbly people and always ready to help and ready to work , when i got there everyone sort of knew eachother and i did not know anyone but they were really open to bringing me in and showing me sort of what to do. The hardest part of the job was telling the families with young children they can only have a certain amount. the easiest part was being really happy and talking to the "costumers" and sort of getting to know how things worked and how just overall working as a team and helping people out was the best part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very helpful, humbly
Customer service/cashier (Former Employee), Detroit, MIOctober 23, 2013
On a typical day, we would help over a dozen of families with daily needs, food, clothing and household needs. I felt great coming and leaving work daily. I learn so much, but more importantly how to be so appreciative of the things I have. I was a key holder responsible for opening and closing the store, daily paperwork,handling deposits. My co-worker – more... and I work good together.hardest part of the job is when I couldn't help some. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting donations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to volunteer
Hungry for more (Former Employee), South hill, WAOctober 19, 2013
Pros: break if i needed one
Cons: did not get hourly wage
I neatly arranged twenty-five cent table, with greeting shoppers to whoever I handed out flyers, put shoes in correct position and organized clothing
Basic or simple=not much to learn
Both managers had had been understanding, helpful and always out to assist me in whatever I did
co workers there were friendly
I liked being able to communicate with the – more... customer – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Custodial/food service/volunteer (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIOctober 16, 2013
Pros: free food & clothes
Cons: short breaks
i worked at St Vincent De paul as a server i cooked and cleaned for the homeless
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great caring workplace, with outstanding management.
Warehouse Supervsor (Former Employee), Eugene, OROctober 4, 2013
Pros: quick advancement.
Cons: low starting wages.
Overall best work enviroment. Management went out of way to ensure best employees would be advanced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, organized and enjoy working with people
Head cashier (Current Employee), slinger, wiSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: letting poeple know the good things about the place
Cons: being able 2 buy things and always finding thing i liked
my dad starts out with strengthen my area. sort my department , price and put. the days I open I get the cash drawers ready for start up. do the deposit. I do the same when I closed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laughs and Comfort
Cashier (Former Employee), West Bend, WISeptember 11, 2013
Pros: monthly potlucks
Cons: unaffordable health insurance
Overall, was a enjoyable place of employment. I enjoyed meeting and interacting with customers.At the job site I learned to be accomodating and versitile while enforcing store policies. Management changes were not in the best of interest,which made favortism in coworkers. Having three store locations not all store rules wre enforced.The customers were – more... my high light of my day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Volunteer (Former Employee), Spring Hill, FLSeptember 5, 2013
They kept me busy, I was always helping customers and employees. Great work environment. Everyone works together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn new things
Volunteer (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIJuly 30, 2013
Pros: work experience
Assist homeless, low-income families, and elderly clients with clothing, housing, food share, medical, also getting their identification cards
Helping the elderly and the homeless get transportation to medical appointments
Read to children and help with homework in the reading room
Provided emotional support to clients in distress
Provided resources – more... to clients that are struggling with drug and alcohol issues
Served their meals to their seats – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
Material Handler and cashier (Former Employee), Marinette, WIJuly 17, 2013
Cons: boss was very disrespectful
my co-workers were a blast to work with, enjoyed meeting all different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience working with the homeless economically disadvantaged population.
Ozaman Manor - Senior Homeless Shelter (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 9, 2013
The most enjoyable was working with disadvantaged people of multi-cultures peoples
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very short stepping stone
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Huntington, NYJuly 9, 2013
Pros: medical
Cons: management has no concept of how to manage, unprofessional managers
I have always wanted to work for a non-profit organization that helps people. Working for this organization was a lesson learned. Don't get me wrong, there are some people that this organization has helped and I have felt some pride in it. On my end, working in the warehouse, management is scared to crack the whip, so the majority of employees just – more... work at 50%. In a time when so many people are applying for a job, this company hires very young adults without checking references when true adults willing to work hard are passed by. The general manager spends more time downgrading his older female employees knowing they have no other choice but to take the criticism and trying to make sure he looks good for his higher ups while leaving the assistant manager to do all the work. Granted the assistant manager has a strong work ethic and comes from a non-profit background. In short, during a rough economy I held tight to this job, bit my lip and stuck it out. Now that jobs are emerging, I am making a run for it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for second chances.
Retail Associate (Current Employee), Waukesha, WIJune 27, 2013
Pros: helping others
Cons: could use more hours or money.
A typical day of work has it challenges but this place is typically a great place to work. The atmosphere is a family type place. All different kind of people to work with adds for a greater learning experience. I love working with other people and the cause of helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A interactive workplace with different people everyday.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 15, 2013
Pros: flexible workday
Cons: healthcare
• Supervised and coordinated 25 volunteers on various tasks each day to ensure team distribution efforts where coordinated.
• Delegated five assignments daily to 25 volunteers based on their experience and interests.
• Used communication skills both written and oral to organize five volunteer groups of five people each to complete various task.
• Created – more... strategic leading to efficiently organize and distributed sorted donated materials for distribution in area stores. – less

1 2 3