Find companies:
St. Vincent de Paul
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
63 reviews

St. Vincent de Paul Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Customer Service (Former Employee), Slinger, WINovember 15, 2014
Very Friendly co workers and the environment was clean. Easy to talk to the customers who come in. Everyone has respect to each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteer postion
Volunteer (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 28, 2014
I was able to help people with less fortunate luck, look for jobs and housing or open email accounts. I kept the computer lab open during hours that the normal staff was off. I was the nighttime supervisor of the computer lab. It was a great place to help people that really are thankful for the help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love people? You'll love this place!
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Waunakee, WIOctober 8, 2014
Pros: great people, great deals, excellent healthcare
Cons: working outside in the snow
St. Vincent de Paul is a county run series of thrift stores that are run by a non-profit lay Catholic (meaning they are not connected to the church) charitable organization. Dane County SVDP runs the largest customer based food pantry, women's and Men's temp housing, a pharmacy along with vouchers for those in need to receive free clothing and household – more... items.

People from the local community bring donations to the store and the employees ensure they are properly bagged or boxed and they are sent to the central processing facility to be priced and dispersed through the 7 Dane County stores.

Each day a truck goes to each store and drops off a load of priced clothing, miscellaneous items, linens, furniture and more to each location. These items are unpacked and placed throughout the store. Most days this is a 2-3 hour task.

Customer service is the most important part of this position! From regular customers to first time shoppers we try to ensure they all feel welcome and wanted. I had several regulars who brought cookies at least once a week because they loved us so much!

Hardest part is working the donation truck in whatever weather comes your way! But it is what keeps the business running so it is one of the most important pieces as well!

Merchandising experience, or a willingness to learn is a must! While we run a thrift store we like it to look like a boutique. It is a lot of fun and very satisfying to here the customers ooo and ahh over your work!

If you want a job were you are working for the good of mankind and getting great deals on clothing, household items and more...this is the place for you! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place I have ever worked.
Cashier (Former Employee), Eugene, OROctober 8, 2014
A typical day at St. Vinnie's would have included ringing up customers, helping them find just what they needed, putting more merchandise out onto the sales floor and arranging furniture and clothing into displays. I also had the added benefit of counting out cash drawers, calculating the books, making bank deposits and opening and closing the store. – more... The manager at the store I worked at was the best, she really cared about her employees and made sure we were doing our jobs without being condescending and she was also an advocate for her employees when she felt they deserved recognition for their hard work. She was also very good at dealing with stressful situations with ease. My co-workers were like family, they were the best bunch of people I have ever worked with. The pay was excellent and the benefits were amazing, my whole pregnancy was covered, including all Dr. visits and the birth itself. The scheduling was pretty consistent, there were two shifts that the cashiers worked, opening and closing, and our schedules changed every three months or so. Overall it was a fun and great place to work, I would work for them again in a heartbeat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and interesting
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Eugene, ORSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: part-time
the job wasn't hard to do, was just a temp job, workers got a discount on store items
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
-LOGISTICIAN (Former Employee), Sudan, TXAugust 24, 2014
Pros: free lunches .
Cons: all provided
When expert red visit us on 23/2/2011,at juba I was alone in logistic department so I that was my typical days at my work place.i learned a lot of things like dealing with different Mains of staffs and different entice group of people.i have managed all the cars and generators and other equipment that belongs logistic department. My co workers are so – more... co- operative with me both at work and outside. Only when materials are not provided accordingly work become hard. When am busy at work, I enjoy my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Magical atmosphere and amazing people.
Camp Counselor / Life Guard (Former Employee), Santa Barbara, CAAugust 5, 2014
Seriously these are the best people on the planet. I don't know why I stopped going. I still talk to these people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly Workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Oshkosh, WIJuly 26, 2014
Pros: help with personal items that i needed
Cons: not a legitimate job, short hours
I enjoyed working for St. Vincent De Paul because one of my most favorite feelings in the whole world is being able to make someone smile! I enjoy working with and around people. I also greatly appreciate all of the great skills and qualities I've gained through St. Vincent De Paul.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
Cashier (Current Employee), Kenosha, WIJuly 25, 2014
Pros: its a job opportunity
Cons: not enough hours i am looking for.
Working hard, organizing clothes and items on shelves, Enjoyable part of my job is helping people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to get job expierence
Volunteer (Current Employee), Oshkosh, WIJuly 24, 2014
Learned you have to be patient and not rush things. Work as fast as you can with out loosing the quality if your work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
St. Vincent de Paul
Volunteer Services Coordinator (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 24, 2014
Feeds, Clothes, Houses, and Heals the poor. I have to write more in the review so this is me writing more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual office environment
Supervises Intake Worker (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIJuly 6, 2014
I have learned much from working with the SVDP volunteers and other management staff. The most rewarding thing is seeing them help the families of Milwaukee. The most challenging is being productive and efficient while not having a structured day to day task list.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Retail / Fitting Room Associate (Current Employee), Frisco, TXMarch 25, 2014
Pros: get to learn a lot
This is the place to work. The leadership is good and the environment is fun and relaxed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very helpful and easy to work with
Kitchen Volunteer (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 4, 2014
Pros: we had a great supervisor
Cons: i moved out of the area and could no longer work there
I worked in the kitchen doing meals for the homeless. I worked mornings in the kitchen and worked on the computer in the afternoon.
We had a great supervisor and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Work Place To Be Apart Of.
Retail/Cashier (Former Employee), Parkland, WaFebruary 12, 2014
I was a cashier there working with customers was a amazing feeling for me. I learned how to run the cash register i how to be professional in a business type place. All my managers were very intelligent always teaching us something new. All us co-workers worked together wonderfully helped one another out all the time. I enjoyed my job so much i met – more... so many amazing customers i cant say there was a hard part of my job is was pretty laid back but we always made sure we got the job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great part time job while I was caring for family.
Store Associate (Former Employee), Post Falls, IdahoFebruary 5, 2014
Not much to say here....

I was a cashier, Pricer, Inventory guy, Cleaner ....
I worked in the warehouse pricing and cleaning and selling furniture...
This was a "jack of all trades" job and lots of fun...
The core position was customer service face to face with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Organization staffed by wonderful people
FRONT OFFICE VOLUNTEER (Former Employee), Roseville, CADecember 16, 2013
The people who staff the office of St Paul De Vincent in Roseville are the most charitable, compassionate, understanding people I've ever worked with. If you have an opportunity to work or volunteer/community service here you should do it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering
Receptionist (Current Employee), Missouri City, TXNovember 9, 2013
Pros: helping people in need.
Cons: seeing the friends upset
Helping people in need of help with food, utilities and clothing. Asking friends if they are in our zip codes. Helping fill out and reviewing the paper work. Making sure they have the right information and if not to bring it with them on the next visit. Making sure that they understand the qualifications that are needed. Working with postive people. – more... When a friend comes in and gets upset because they have have already come for the month or they are not in our zip codes. Seeing the friends happy and getting thank you's and hugs from them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community based company dedicated to helping others.
Shift Lead (Former Employee), Everett, WAOctober 25, 2013
Pros: great employee discounts and friendly environment.
Cons: no room for advancement and unstable management.
St. Vincent de Paul is a wonderful non-profit organization that is dedicated to helping the community. I support all they stand for. My favorite part of my job was working with the customers and helping those in need. The atmosphere is upbeat and positive. My co-workers were fun and enjoyable. Being a small retail store there was not a lot of room for – more... advancement. They did not however give regular employee reviews or raises. The hardest part of my job was when monthly funding was at its max and their were still so many people in need. The was a very high employee turnover and management was changed often. Overall it was a great place to work short term. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Volunteer Work/Community Service (Former Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 23, 2013
Pros: free leftover at the end
Cons: standing for long periods of time.
A typical day at St. Vincent De Paul would be to come in and prepare/bag the food that was to be handed out when people arrived. I learned what its like to be independent because no one holds your hand the whole time you really have to catch on fast and work really hard to get through the day and to get the job done. my co workers were all really great – more... and really bubbly people and always ready to help and ready to work , when i got there everyone sort of knew eachother and i did not know anyone but they were really open to bringing me in and showing me sort of what to do. The hardest part of the job was telling the families with young children they can only have a certain amount. the easiest part was being really happy and talking to the "costumers" and sort of getting to know how things worked and how just overall working as a team and helping people out was the best part. – less

1 2 3 4