Find companies:
St. Vincent de Paul
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
53 reviews

St. Vincent de Paul Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience working with the homeless economically disadvantaged population.
Ozaman Manor - Senior Homeless Shelter (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 9, 2013
The most enjoyable was working with disadvantaged people of multi-cultures peoples
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very short stepping stone
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Huntington, NYJuly 9, 2013
Pros: medical
Cons: management has no concept of how to manage, unprofessional managers
I have always wanted to work for a non-profit organization that helps people. Working for this organization was a lesson learned. Don't get me wrong, there are some people that this organization has helped and I have felt some pride in it. On my end, working in the warehouse, management is scared to crack the whip, so the majority of employees just – more... work at 50%. In a time when so many people are applying for a job, this company hires very young adults without checking references when true adults willing to work hard are passed by. The general manager spends more time downgrading his older female employees knowing they have no other choice but to take the criticism and trying to make sure he looks good for his higher ups while leaving the assistant manager to do all the work. Granted the assistant manager has a strong work ethic and comes from a non-profit background. In short, during a rough economy I held tight to this job, bit my lip and stuck it out. Now that jobs are emerging, I am making a run for it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for second chances.
Retail Associate (Current Employee), Waukesha, WIJune 27, 2013
Pros: helping others
Cons: could use more hours or money.
A typical day of work has it challenges but this place is typically a great place to work. The atmosphere is a family type place. All different kind of people to work with adds for a greater learning experience. I love working with other people and the cause of helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A interactive workplace with different people everyday.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 15, 2013
Pros: flexible workday
Cons: healthcare
• Supervised and coordinated 25 volunteers on various tasks each day to ensure team distribution efforts where coordinated.
• Delegated five assignments daily to 25 volunteers based on their experience and interests.
• Used communication skills both written and oral to organize five volunteer groups of five people each to complete various task.
• Created – more... strategic leading to efficiently organize and distributed sorted donated materials for distribution in area stores. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
got the oportunity to work around customers
Materials Manager/cashier (Former Employee), WIMarch 28, 2013
Pros: being able to help customers
Cons: pay was only 5.15 an hour
Loved working here very friendly work environment. Boss was able and willing to work around my schedules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So So
Assistant Security Manager (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 25, 2013
This company is a great company if you are looking for a job, but not a career. Room for advancement is small, and wages rarely increase.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a very fun place to work for, it gives you a lot of job to work here.
Delivery Driver (Current Employee), Portland, ORMarch 21, 2013
Pros: it is a fun place to work, you make friends, go to meetings to learn new things and to pray, and to discuss new ways of doing your job.
I would recomment working for St.VincentDePaul to anyone asking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and produtive work place
Account Navigator (Volunteer) (Former Employee), Detroit, MIMarch 7, 2013
Pros: free food for meet
I loved the job because not only was ineracting whit people. I was doing accountant. The management was excellent. My co workers was commited there jobs to service our community and more. I learned working for this company that valuing your customer and work could take you a far way in life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great work place for college students
Staff (Former Employee), St.Louis,moMarch 5, 2013
Pros: neat stuff at low prices, good benefits
Cons: dont care managers/staff, lots of fights/arguments, incompetently run
if you apply makes sure its for management you get tons of benefits like 2hr breaks ,short days, and pretty much whatever you what.
I do like the cause however SVDP wasnt for me management runs you into the ground and makes it hard to balance school/work. Plus the staff was very clicky and makes you feel unwelcome. Managers also gobble anything good – more... up for their personal resale booths or let their dealer friends have everything at a 'special' discount
Honestly horrible management + horrible people= thank god i left. SVDP St.louis should take a hard look at their staff and management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job
Clerk 1 (Former Employee), Waunakee, WIFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: it's in waunakee
Great place to work. Awesome manager! Light work load and nice fun people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hard work
truck loader warehouse worker (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: makes you feel good about what you are doing for other people less fortunate
go to work at 7:30 in the morning get on a truck go to several houses pick up furniture and appliances then take them back to the warehouse and where you move the furniture and appliances to there section good hard work that involves heavy lifting and dedication with friendly people. i learn how compassionate people and how to be a people person while – more... learning how to be a hard working employee management is the best in the business. hardest part is getting furniture out of other peoples house but it is always achieved some way – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to grow and develope new pastoral skills
CPE Chaplain Intern (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 22, 2012
St. Vincent was where I learned to work with alchohol abuse, mental illness, and various addictions while providing pastoral care. St. Vincent provides hope to those who are homeless through practical and spiritual means
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Office Specialist I (Former Employee), Eugene, ORDecember 6, 2012
Pros: low-cost health care and life insurance
St. Vincent de Paul was an excellent company for which I worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Volunteer (Former Employee), Portage, WINovember 21, 2012
Pros: employer gives back to the needy in the community
Cons: i cannot think of any cons.
I helped to sort donations, price items, worked the register. I met many interesting people. Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
St. Vincent De Paul
Volunteer (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 2, 2012
Working as a volunteer for St. Vincent De Paul was a good experience. They are a very good organization who do much needed charity work all around the valley.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Friendly and Full-time
Cashirer/Stocker/Customer Service (Former Employee), Eugene, OROctober 25, 2012
I would still be with this company if they were able to allow part-time employees. Physically, standing more than five hours a day was difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Receptionist (Current Employee), Appleton, WIOctober 3, 2012
Pros: friendly
Cons: not enough work
A friendly, nice place to work. I do special projects, filing, answer multi-line telephone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive facility
Dock Worker (Current Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 28, 2012
Pros: world's best manager
Cons: as a p/t employee, no healthcare
always enjoyable job with great co-workers and manager. hard work pays off. l receive donations from the public on the rear dock. other duties as assigned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people. Cashiered & sorted & stocked clothes.
sales clerk (Former Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 31, 2012
Pros: close to home
Cons: no healthcare.
Close to my home. Good people to work with. Liked helping people as a cashier. Sorted also, which I didn't mind.

Liked my supervisor & co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I have learned and the enjoyment I recieve in HR
Internship in the HR Department (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 25, 2012
Pros: benefits
A typical day at St. Vincent de Paul Society Thrift Store would be checking in with my manager on what needs to be done for the day and what the priorities are. In the department I work for, Human Resources, is constantly engaging the community but creating a homeless recruitment center in a vacant room in the building and a dance studio where volunteer – more... dance instructors teach the employees/customers several dance styles. During the a typical day my boss and I work on our projects together in addition to posting job positions for the whole society, interview those best fit, and taking care of the day to day needs.

I have learned working in Human Resources your primary responsibility is to keep the businesses assets protected and the employees assets protected. This department has many different tasks that require skills in multi-tasking and being proactive.

Management is decentralized but great at collaborating together. All those in management have been there for over five years and all share the same desire to be compassionate to the unfortunate.

My co-workers do an excellent job developing new ideas to grow the company.

The hardest part of my job is have to go through the process of terminating. I have only had to do it once but was so far the hardest task from my position.

The most enjoyable part of my job is being part of a department that involves everyone who works for St. Vincent de Paul. It exposes me to different aspects of the business. I also enjoy expanding the companies’ facility to help strengthen the companies culture and their involvement in the community. – less