St. Vincent de Paul Employee Reviews

Found 69 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Spring Hill, FLSeptember 5, 2013
They kept me busy, I was always helping customers and employees. Great work environment. Everyone works together.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn new things
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 30, 2013
Assist homeless, low-income families, and elderly clients with clothing, housing, food share, medical, also getting their identification cards
Helping the elderly and the homeless get transportation to medical appointments
Read to children and help with homework in the reading room
Provided emotional support to clients in distress
Provided resources to clients that are struggling with drug and alcohol issues
Served their meals to their seats
Pros
work experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
Material Handler and cashier (Former Employee) –  Marinette, WIJuly 17, 2013
my co-workers were a blast to work with, enjoyed meeting all different people.
Cons
boss was very disrespectful
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience working with the homeless economically disadvantaged population.
Ozaman Manor - Senior Homeless Shelter (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 9, 2013
The most enjoyable was working with disadvantaged people of multi-cultures peoples
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very short stepping stone
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Huntington, NYJuly 9, 2013
I have always wanted to work for a non-profit organization that helps people. Working for this organization was a lesson learned. Don't get me wrong, there are some people that this organization has helped and I have felt some pride in it. On my end, working in the warehouse, management is scared to crack the whip, so the majority of employees just work at 50%. In a time when so many people are applying for a job, this company hires very young adults without checking references when true adults willing to work hard are passed by. The general manager spends more time downgrading his older female employees knowing they have no other choice but to take the criticism and trying to make sure he looks good for his higher ups while leaving the assistant manager to do all the work. Granted the assistant manager has a strong work ethic and comes from a non-profit background. In short, during a rough economy I held tight to this job, bit my lip and stuck it out. Now that jobs are emerging, I am making a run for it.
Pros
medical
Cons
management has no concept of how to manage, unprofessional managers
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for second chances.
Retail Associate (Current Employee) –  Waukesha, WIJune 27, 2013
A typical day of work has it challenges but this place is typically a great place to work. The atmosphere is a family type place. All different kind of people to work with adds for a greater learning experience. I love working with other people and the cause of helping others.
Pros
helping others
Cons
could use more hours or money.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A interactive workplace with different people everyday.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 15, 2013
• Supervised and coordinated 25 volunteers on various tasks each day to ensure team distribution efforts where coordinated.
• Delegated five assignments daily to 25 volunteers based on their experience and interests.
• Used communication skills both written and oral to organize five volunteer groups of five people each to complete various task.
• Created strategic leading to efficiently organize and distributed sorted donated materials for distribution in area stores.
Pros
flexible workday
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
got the oportunity to work around customers
Materials Manager/cashier (Former Employee) –  WIMarch 28, 2013
Loved working here very friendly work environment. Boss was able and willing to work around my schedules.
Pros
being able to help customers
Cons
pay was only 5.15 an hour
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So So
Assistant Security Manager (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 25, 2013
This company is a great company if you are looking for a job, but not a career. Room for advancement is small, and wages rarely increase.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a very fun place to work for, it gives you a lot of job to work here.
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 21, 2013
I would recomment working for St.VincentDePaul to anyone asking.
Pros
it is a fun place to work, you make friends, go to meetings to learn new things and to pray, and to discuss new ways of doing your job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and produtive work place
Account Navigator (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMarch 7, 2013
I loved the job because not only was ineracting whit people. I was doing accountant. The management was excellent. My co workers was commited there jobs to service our community and more. I learned working for this company that valuing your customer and work could take you a far way in life
Pros
free food for meet
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great work place for college students
Staff (Former Employee) –  St.Louis,moMarch 5, 2013
if you apply makes sure its for management you get tons of benefits like 2hr breaks ,short days, and pretty much whatever you what.
I do like the cause however SVDP wasnt for me management runs you into the ground and makes it hard to balance school/work. Plus the staff was very clicky and makes you feel unwelcome. Managers also gobble anything good up for their personal resale booths or let their dealer friends have everything at a 'special' discount
Honestly horrible management + horrible people= thank god i left. SVDP St.louis should take a hard look at their staff and management.
Pros
neat stuff at low prices, good benefits
Cons
dont care managers/staff, lots of fights/arguments, incompetently run
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job
Clerk 1 (Former Employee) –  Waunakee, WIFebruary 25, 2013
Great place to work. Awesome manager! Light work load and nice fun people to work with.
Pros
great pay
Cons
it's in waunakee
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hard work
truck loader warehouse worker (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJanuary 25, 2013
go to work at 7:30 in the morning get on a truck go to several houses pick up furniture and appliances then take them back to the warehouse and where you move the furniture and appliances to there section good hard work that involves heavy lifting and dedication with friendly people. i learn how compassionate people and how to be a people person while learning how to be a hard working employee management is the best in the business. hardest part is getting furniture out of other peoples house but it is always achieved some way
Pros
makes you feel good about what you are doing for other people less fortunate
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to grow and develope new pastoral skills
CPE Chaplain Intern (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CADecember 22, 2012
St. Vincent was where I learned to work with alchohol abuse, mental illness, and various addictions while providing pastoral care. St. Vincent provides hope to those who are homeless through practical and spiritual means
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Office Specialist I (Former Employee) –  Eugene, ORDecember 6, 2012
St. Vincent de Paul was an excellent company for which I worked.
Pros
low-cost health care and life insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Portage, WINovember 21, 2012
I helped to sort donations, price items, worked the register. I met many interesting people. Great place to work.
Pros
employer gives back to the needy in the community
Cons
i cannot think of any cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
St. Vincent De Paul
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 2, 2012
Working as a volunteer for St. Vincent De Paul was a good experience. They are a very good organization who do much needed charity work all around the valley.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Friendly and Full-time
Cashirer/Stocker/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Eugene, OROctober 25, 2012
I would still be with this company if they were able to allow part-time employees. Physically, standing more than five hours a day was difficult.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Appleton, WIOctober 3, 2012
A friendly, nice place to work. I do special projects, filing, answer multi-line telephone.
Pros
friendly
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 82 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture