Find companies:
St. Vincent de Paul
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
63 reviews

St. Vincent de Paul Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Office Specialist I (Former Employee), Eugene, ORDecember 6, 2012
Pros: low-cost health care and life insurance
St. Vincent de Paul was an excellent company for which I worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Volunteer (Former Employee), Portage, WINovember 21, 2012
Pros: employer gives back to the needy in the community
Cons: i cannot think of any cons.
I helped to sort donations, price items, worked the register. I met many interesting people. Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
St. Vincent De Paul
Volunteer (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 2, 2012
Working as a volunteer for St. Vincent De Paul was a good experience. They are a very good organization who do much needed charity work all around the valley.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Friendly and Full-time
Cashirer/Stocker/Customer Service (Former Employee), Eugene, OROctober 25, 2012
I would still be with this company if they were able to allow part-time employees. Physically, standing more than five hours a day was difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Receptionist (Current Employee), Appleton, WIOctober 3, 2012
Pros: friendly
Cons: not enough work
A friendly, nice place to work. I do special projects, filing, answer multi-line telephone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive facility
Dock Worker (Current Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 28, 2012
Pros: world's best manager
Cons: as a p/t employee, no healthcare
always enjoyable job with great co-workers and manager. hard work pays off. l receive donations from the public on the rear dock. other duties as assigned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people. Cashiered & sorted & stocked clothes.
sales clerk (Former Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 31, 2012
Pros: close to home
Cons: no healthcare.
Close to my home. Good people to work with. Liked helping people as a cashier. Sorted also, which I didn't mind.

Liked my supervisor & co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I have learned and the enjoyment I recieve in HR
Internship in the HR Department (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 25, 2012
Pros: benefits
A typical day at St. Vincent de Paul Society Thrift Store would be checking in with my manager on what needs to be done for the day and what the priorities are. In the department I work for, Human Resources, is constantly engaging the community but creating a homeless recruitment center in a vacant room in the building and a dance studio where volunteer – more... dance instructors teach the employees/customers several dance styles. During the a typical day my boss and I work on our projects together in addition to posting job positions for the whole society, interview those best fit, and taking care of the day to day needs.

I have learned working in Human Resources your primary responsibility is to keep the businesses assets protected and the employees assets protected. This department has many different tasks that require skills in multi-tasking and being proactive.

Management is decentralized but great at collaborating together. All those in management have been there for over five years and all share the same desire to be compassionate to the unfortunate.

My co-workers do an excellent job developing new ideas to grow the company.

The hardest part of my job is have to go through the process of terminating. I have only had to do it once but was so far the hardest task from my position.

The most enjoyable part of my job is being part of a department that involves everyone who works for St. Vincent de Paul. It exposes me to different aspects of the business. I also enjoy expanding the companies’ facility to help strengthen the companies culture and their involvement in the community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked hard but laughed always
asst. manager (Former Employee), Morris, ILJune 1, 2012
Pros: was like working in giant garage sale
Loved working physically would never be surprised at what was donated. Met and spoke with many regular customers,also got to know certain items that would interest them in buying.Learned many things about customer service ,working with employees and helping many community service workers.I enjoyed the physical side of our work. The hardest part of my – more... job was my most enjoyable.I was in charge of maintaining offsite storage for all merchandise. Weekly truck would be loaded and shuffled in all kinds of weather,also maintained stock laodin and using my personal truck – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hones people
Store Manager (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMay 30, 2012
This is very hard and very rewarding work. The society is a beacon to those in need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent volunteer opportunity
Administrative/Customer Service (Former Employee), Erlanger, KYMay 18, 2012
Pros: helping people in need, wonderful co-workers
During my volunteer time I took incoming calls for people in need of help. I used a multiline phone, checked voicemails, and used Microsoft Outlook to email the churches for their help. The hardest part of the job was having to hear about the struggles so many people were going through everyday. The best part of my job was being able to help these same – more... people with food, rent, utilities, furniture, and clothing. It was nice to give people a little relief from all there hardships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Shoreline, WAApril 13, 2012
Pros: discount on furniture
Cons: by the time you get your pay, there is nothing left to choose from.
This is a good place to work or even volunteer! All of the employees have great attitudes but the manager was hard to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be of service. No real advancement opportunities
Baler (Former Employee), Bend, OregonDecember 29, 2011
Pros: an opportunity to be of service
Cons: part time work
Great fun place to work with an array of different people to work with and for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
General Operative (Former Employee), DroghedaOctober 9, 2014
Cleaning, Sorting Clothes for the shop, Assisting on the van. delivering furniture to homes and collecting furniture from homes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive place doing lots of great things for the public
Volunteer in soup kitchen (Former Employee), Dublin, Bow LaneAugust 21, 2014
i thoroughly enjoyed working in the S.V.P's soup kitchen in Bow Lane. This experience gave me a true feeling of satisfaction and a job well done. it was almost heart wrenching at time, we would see families and individuals so down on their luck, and to see the appreciation in their eyes felt enlightening. This was a great place to volunteer and i would – more... definately consider later in life picking up where i left off – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Sorter/Clerk/Office Assistant (Current Employee), Sarnia, ONMarch 25, 2014
Working at the St. Vincent de Paul has been a very positive experience. I meet many different people and enjoy speaking with them. The job itself keeps me quite busy and the days go by quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
help with food
Food Bank Sorter (Former Employee), Prince George, BCMarch 8, 2014
sort food for places. so that they can give it to people. it helps people out that do not have food. if they are homeless with out food then they can go to this place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace where you benefit from helping others.
Volunteer work (Former Employee), Hervey Bay, QLDFebruary 20, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job would definitely be finishing the day knowing that you have donated your spare time to help such an amazing corporation run its day to day procedures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great place to work, Too bad it didn't last long
General Labourer (Former Employee), Windsor, ONJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: the nicest people you'll ever meet. steady work. never run of things you need to accomplish
Cons: short time working there. was only a temp
I loved working here, It was great to meet kind warm people of all sorts of backgrounds. The jobs and tasked preformed were labor intensive but if you know what you were doing it was a breeze

You fist start off with collecting donations that the trucks would bring in or people that would drop off donations. Then a team of people would sort threw the – more... donations looking for quality from new to gently used clothing. What ever wasn't good enough to make the cut would then be throw into a compactor and was then bailed for donations that were sent overseas to 3rd world countries. Other clothing items (such as t-shirts with prints) were cut into rags that would be given to the salvation army to help the less fortunate bathe or do general cleaning.

Nothing went to waste here. The old electronics that were donated were inspected for mercury batteries that were removed and disposed of properly. Other electronics that were not able to be salvaged or deemed out of date were stripped of all metal compensates and were sent to the recycling bin for drop off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
St. Vincent De Paul
Sales and Customer service representative (Former Employee), DublinDecember 19, 2013
Pros: good working atmosphere
Cons: parking space
I am a fun person to work with. Very communicative. I am also efficient and always on time. I have worked alone and as a team too.