St. Vincent de Paul Employee Reviews in United States

Found 78 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent volunteer opportunity
Administrative/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Erlanger, KYMay 18, 2012
During my volunteer time I took incoming calls for people in need of help. I used a multiline phone, checked voicemails, and used Microsoft Outlook to email the churches for their help. The hardest part of the job was having to hear about the struggles so many people were going through everyday. The best part of my job was being able to help these same people with food, rent, utilities, furniture, and clothing. It was nice to give people a little relief from all there hardships.
Pros
helping people in need, wonderful co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Work Place To Be Apart Of.
Retail/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Parkland, WaFebruary 12, 2014
I was a cashier there working with customers was a amazing feeling for me. I learned how to run the cash register i how to be professional in a business type place. All my managers were very intelligent always teaching us something new. All us co-workers worked together wonderfully helped one another out all the time. I enjoyed my job so much i met so many amazing customers i cant say there was a hard part of my job is was pretty laid back but we always made sure we got the job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very helpful, humbly
Customer service/cashier (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIOctober 23, 2013
On a typical day, we would help over a dozen of families with daily needs, food, clothing and household needs. I felt great coming and leaving work daily. I learn so much, but more importantly how to be so appreciative of the things I have. I was a key holder responsible for opening and closing the store, daily paperwork,handling deposits. My co-worker and I work good together.hardest part of the job is when I couldn't help some. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting donations.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn new things
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 30, 2013
Assist homeless, low-income families, and elderly clients with clothing, housing, food share, medical, also getting their identification cards
Helping the elderly and the homeless get transportation to medical appointments
Read to children and help with homework in the reading room
Provided emotional support to clients in distress
Provided resources to clients that are struggling with drug and alcohol issues
Served their meals to their seats
Pros
work experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to volunteer
Hungry for more (Former Employee) –  South hill, WAOctober 19, 2013
I neatly arranged twenty-five cent table, with greeting shoppers to whoever I handed out flyers, put shoes in correct position and organized clothing
Basic or simple=not much to learn
Both managers had had been understanding, helpful and always out to assist me in whatever I did
co workers there were friendly
I liked being able to communicate with the customer
Pros
break if i needed one
Cons
did not get hourly wage
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly Workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIJuly 26, 2014
I enjoyed working for St. Vincent De Paul because one of my most favorite feelings in the whole world is being able to make someone smile! I enjoy working with and around people. I also greatly appreciate all of the great skills and qualities I've gained through St. Vincent De Paul.
Pros
help with personal items that i needed
Cons
not a legitimate job, short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteer postion
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 28, 2014
I was able to help people with less fortunate luck, look for jobs and housing or open email accounts. I kept the computer lab open during hours that the normal staff was off. I was the nighttime supervisor of the computer lab. It was a great place to help people that really are thankful for the help.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for second chances.
Retail Associate (Current Employee) –  Waukesha, WIJune 27, 2013
A typical day of work has it challenges but this place is typically a great place to work. The atmosphere is a family type place. All different kind of people to work with adds for a greater learning experience. I love working with other people and the cause of helping others.
Pros
helping others
Cons
could use more hours or money.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, organized and enjoy working with people
Head cashier (Current Employee) –  slinger, wiSeptember 11, 2013
my dad starts out with strengthen my area. sort my department , price and put. the days I open I get the cash drawers ready for start up. do the deposit. I do the same when I closed.
Pros
letting poeple know the good things about the place
Cons
being able 2 buy things and always finding thing i liked
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Slinger, WINovember 15, 2014
Very Friendly co workers and the environment was clean. Easy to talk to the customers who come in. Everyone has respect to each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great part time job while I was caring for family.
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Post Falls, IdahoFebruary 5, 2014
Not much to say here....

I was a cashier, Pricer, Inventory guy, Cleaner ....
I worked in the warehouse pricing and cleaning and selling furniture...
This was a "jack of all trades" job and lots of fun...
The core position was customer service face to face with the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a very fun place to work for, it gives you a lot of job to work here.
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 21, 2013
I would recomment working for St.VincentDePaul to anyone asking.
Pros
it is a fun place to work, you make friends, go to meetings to learn new things and to pray, and to discuss new ways of doing your job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Organization staffed by wonderful people
FRONT OFFICE VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CADecember 16, 2013
The people who staff the office of St Paul De Vincent in Roseville are the most charitable, compassionate, understanding people I've ever worked with. If you have an opportunity to work or volunteer/community service here you should do it.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very helpful and easy to work with
Kitchen Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 4, 2014
I worked in the kitchen doing meals for the homeless. I worked mornings in the kitchen and worked on the computer in the afternoon.
We had a great supervisor and co-workers.
Pros
we had a great supervisor
Cons
i moved out of the area and could no longer work there
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to grow and develope new pastoral skills
CPE Chaplain Intern (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CADecember 22, 2012
St. Vincent was where I learned to work with alchohol abuse, mental illness, and various addictions while providing pastoral care. St. Vincent provides hope to those who are homeless through practical and spiritual means
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people. Cashiered & sorted & stocked clothes.
sales clerk (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEAugust 31, 2012
Close to my home. Good people to work with. Liked helping people as a cashier. Sorted also, which I didn't mind.

Liked my supervisor & co-workers.
Pros
close to home
Cons
no healthcare.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
got the oportunity to work around customers
Materials Manager/cashier (Former Employee) –  WIMarch 28, 2013
Loved working here very friendly work environment. Boss was able and willing to work around my schedules.
Pros
being able to help customers
Cons
pay was only 5.15 an hour
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Magical atmosphere and amazing people.
Camp Counselor / Life Guard (Former Employee) –  Santa Barbara, CAAugust 5, 2014
Seriously these are the best people on the planet. I don't know why I stopped going. I still talk to these people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Shoreline, WAApril 13, 2012
This is a good place to work or even volunteer! All of the employees have great attitudes but the manager was hard to get along with.
Pros
discount on furniture
Cons
by the time you get your pay, there is nothing left to choose from.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and interesting
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Eugene, ORSeptember 17, 2014
the job wasn't hard to do, was just a temp job, workers got a discount on store items
Pros
good people
Cons
part-time
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St. Vincent de Paul. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 93 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
4.2

St. Vincent de Paul Reviews by Location