St. Vincent Medical Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hell!!!!!!!!!
Patient Access Representative (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 30, 2013
the most enjoyable part of the job was break and lunch......
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 19, 2013
I was a volunteer so I learned how there is different departments in a hospital. How each department has a different goal b ut the all work hard for the hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I grew with the company
Customer Support/Out Patient Sched/Ins Verif Clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 7, 2013
A typical day was a hectic day. However I enjoyed the fast paced work environment while posting payments, adjustments, and charges. I learned how to Post payments and process refunds as well. The hardest part of the job was Management. We went through a number of Supervisors in a short period of time so things were constantly changing back and forth. The most enjoyable part of my day was usually when I was able to help others in any way possible.
Pros
cross training
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership is very weak
Associate (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CaliforniaJanuary 4, 2013
As an employee of the LA-based St. Vincent Medical Center: They say customer service is #1 but it really isn't. The doctors run that hospital and some of the doctors have racist views and have a serious problem when approached by a non-white person asking them to do something or follow the rules. beware if you are not "White." I know a few friends of mine who are no longer working there because of their stand against those who do not follow the mission and vision of the hospital.

Hospital is money first and patient safety/care last, did I say last, you better believe it. When i was a patient at this hospital, I didn't feel safe either. When i was a patient at White Memorial I felt respected and appropriated.

Administration needs tolerance and cultural training.

Would leave my name, but after seeing a few of my friends loose their jobs it would be a bad move.
Pros
good benefits; floors are clean, close to the freeways
Cons
staff is not supportive of each other, administration needs additional training, vision not clear, mission not clear.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gossiping,complaining coworkers.
clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 6, 2012
Rude poor customer service. Back stabbing gossiping co workers.
Pros
free parking.
Cons
rude co workers always gossiping, complaining.management had no idea where their associates where half of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Medical Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 1, 2012
Loved working here... Great people, patients, inviroment, benefits and excellent perks. However, there is room for improvement in the management area, otherwise it would have been 5 star!
Pros
great place to work.
Cons
need to hear employee complaints and follow through to make it better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Position
Administrative Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 5, 2012
Temporary position, it was okay working form them, but they did not have any hiring process at that time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Good place to work with a caring family atmosphere"
Director of Cardiology (Former Employee) –  2131 W.3rd street Los Angeles, CaliforniaSeptember 30, 2012
Leadership and employees at SVMC promote a family atmosphere.
Since it is a catholic institution priests and nun are readily seen daily.It was not uncommon to hear a prayer or reflection before division or staff meetings.
Like most medical centers leadership and management have been forced to work with less staffing.
Pros
caring, patient friendly atmosphere.
Cons
some service lines reduced due to budgetary issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best hospital in Los Angeles basin
Patient Health Care Volunteer Service (Current Employee) –  St. Vincent Medical Center, Los Angeles, CAAugust 25, 2012
I have been volunteering at St. Vincent Medical Center over a year now. It is a wonderful place for various reasons that I have discovered; friendly people all around and all floors- nurse, doctor, floor worker, volunteer workers that all make it better place for quality patient healthcare. It is a place that I enjoy free food, my working day, natural beauty - full of tree backside of the hospital backyard, calm quite remarkable place that I have discover and it is noticeable place.
I recommend everyone, job seeker, to try a job here if you have job qualification and licensing requirement. I found myself not get a job here because I do not have medical professional licensing. However, I am hoping to get an administrative job, near future, when I would have my MBA Health (in progress 13/36 units completed with www.WGU.edu) and recently I have completed the EHR/EMR HIT pro HITECH training from East Los Angeles College, (www.ELAC.edu) that an opportunity I am waiting for. If any opening that would happen, then I would have an opportunity to apply and possibility to get a full time or part time IT Health support job with St. Vincent Medical Center. If I get a job here, that would be my best rewards from it. If it would happen near future then I would be happiest man on earth - only express I would express about this place.
I am volunteering here is a great place and have a peace of mind that I do not feel boring rather enjoy my time every second while working here because work with friendly people and enjoy foods and make friends are great satisfaction at St. Vincent Medical Center.
  more... I wish you all that your working place would have such advantages - like a family atmosphere. My boss (name not mention privacy issue), volunteer coordinator, always eager to help to all volunteers and provide them daily placement upon mutual interaction that makes a great place to work and enjoy time. Thanks for you time to read my opinion. Please feel free to give me a buzz if you would like to. You can reach me at:
mujeb@msn.com
http://www.linkedin.com/in/mujeb
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 10Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St. Vincent Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.3
Culture
3.0

St. Vincent Medical Center Reviews by Location