STA Travel Employee Reviews in United States

Found 10 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Working Environment and Management
Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 28, 2015
STA Travel was an exceptional company when based in Los Angeles. I've lost track of most of upper management over the years, but my time at STA Travel was integral in my personal and professional development and offered me a chance to learn I had a passion for travel.
Pros
Travel
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to apply skills, learn and be creative.
Travel Advisor (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 28, 2014
This company gave you the independence and knowledge to help people with travel itineraries.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Professional and passionate people
Travel Help and Wholesale Expert (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZSeptember 1, 2013
Young spirit company. International experience, Great managment.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
HR Representative (Former Employee) –  lewisville,txMay 30, 2013
great company to work for.
takes care of employees.
great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STA Travel is an amazing company to work for
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Lewisville, TXMarch 11, 2013
I have been with STA Travel for 6 years. This company is so vibrant and I have learned skills and trades that will benefit me for years to come. I belonged to a second family while working here. I would encourage anyone to apply for a position with STA Travel, as it will be an experience they would never forget.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Online Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 14, 2013
A positive place to work where creativity is encouraged. Senior management care about employees and marketing campaigns are different.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Discount Student Travel Agency
Travel Advisor (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAJune 5, 2012
Helped students and teachers book flights, hotels, tours, study aboard trips. Learned how to use Sabre and multiple travel booking engines. The management was very involved and helpful. They encouraged us to sell to meet our goals and earn reward trips. The hardest part of the trip was dealing with cancelled flights or bad weather. The most enjoyable part of the job was earning repeat clients and receiving post cards and updates from their journeys...creating memories is awesome!
Pros
incentive trips for top sellers
Cons
the store closed
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company changes directions more often than the wind
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  ArizonaMarch 3, 2012
STA Travel is one of the worst companies I have ever worked for. The upper management is absolutely clueless about which direction this organization needs to go it, therefore they implement significant changes almost weekly. There have been three "presidents" in the last five years, and many VPs have either left or been replaced during that time. Also, the sales staff are never given an opportunity to give feedback on company policies or even the computer systems that are used to sell products and services. The company changes partnerships and relationships with vendors so frequently that it is hard to keep track. Also, the VP of Sales is in way over her head....should have probably stuck to being an operations manager as that is her real talent. There are also significant issues with upper management favoring employees while alienating others....most notably being when the recent president takes male sales staff to a local gentlemens club. Unfortunately, HR just turns and looks the other way when a grievance is raised.
Pros
good opportunity for career growth.
Cons
low wages, demotivated company culture, and very high turnover.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7 1/2 years down the drain....
Senior Travel Advisor (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 3, 2011
STA provides little or no upward mobility for career development and if you are not in the top 15% top sales group you will get little or no attention in general. They seem to think that only good sellers equate to good leaders when job history of their managers will prove that unfounded. I was with the company for 7 1/2 years and had 5 mangers in that time frame and was even passed up for promotion to that position even though I was the most qualified and then had yet another inexperienced person put into this position who coma equipped with very little leadership skills. As well when reached out to upper management about issued regarding this I was always told to sell more but that otherwise I wasn't good enough. Very little support here unless you are making the company big $$ and very little compensation for it in the end except for a month off each year and the opportunity to travel at a slightly discounted rate.
Pros
plenty of time of per year to travel, travel discounts
Cons
little or no chance of upward career mobilty, little or no support from management, noncompetive pay
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1

See more STA Travel reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture