Find companies:
Stamford Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Stamford Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful, kind, inventive institution
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Stamford, CTMarch 7, 2014
Pros: great benefits, lots of flexibility, great co-workers and managers
The Stamford Hospital was my first experience as a new nurse. The opportunities that are available to all staff is absolutely amazing. The hospital is well organized and well run. The Organization treats each employee like he or she is an integral part of the institution. Co-workers are kind, caring, compassionate and very supportive both in work and – more... personal situations.
Professional excellence is expected and delivered on a daily basis. The hospital is a Plane-tree hospital which exemplifies the type of care provided to staff, patients and family alike.
I enjoyed working in the institution. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Volunteer Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Stamford, CTFebruary 27, 2014
Excellent people to work with. very friendly employees, hard working devoted individuals. customers were extremely loyal to Macy's and very understanding during tough situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for local candidates
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Stamford, CTFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: great salary...room for advancement.
Cons: parking offsite for non clinical staff...1/2 hour lunch...no work from home policy
great management...great pay...job security...lots of opportunity to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Charge RN, Medical/Hematology Oncology (Current Employee), Stamford, CTJanuary 28, 2014
Unit clinical coordinator RN on a thirty-one bed medical/hematology oncology unit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Storage picking material off shelves for distribution
Materials Management Clerk (Relocation) (Former Employee), Stamford, CTJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: staff was fun
Cons: short break
Fast paced 8 hour day. Using stairwell or elevator as means of delivery. Usually short staffed made delivery often times slow. Spending time looking for a product out of date.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Nice employees
Case Manager Stamford Hospital on Medicine Unit (Former Employee), ConnecticutJanuary 13, 2014
Co-workers are cohesive. Dc planning and Utilization reviewing take time and require a high tolerance level for people of different backgrounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancements in career opportunities
Emergency Room Nurse (Current Employee), Stamford, CTJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: strong nursing department
Cons: salary and benefits
Stamford Hospital is a great organization and I would recommend it to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Clinical Assistant (Current Employee), Stamford, CTDecember 27, 2013
Pros: great unity
Cons: healthcare
Coworkers are the best we believe in team playing and the hardest part of my job is leaving my patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work
Clinical Assistant (Current Employee), Stamford, CTOctober 11, 2013
enjoy working at stamford hospital my experience working with staff is awesome with a group of staff working together as a team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training ground for the CPE Resident Student
CPE STUDENT (Former Employee), Stamford, CTSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: interaction with colleagues, medical staff, patients and familes made this a rich experience
Cons: travelling for over an hour from new haven to stamford was tiring
The training was tough, 10 students enrolled and only 5 completed. I was fortunate to be among the graduates! It was my first time to work in a Hospital setting, providing pastoral care to patients and families. Very challenging and rewarding experience! It was a nice year of study and practice. It laid the foundation for my current interest and expertise – more... in Chaplaincy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and professional staff. Clean, neat & orderly environment
internship (Former Employee), Tully Medical CenterSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: free food/beverages, friendly atmosphere
Cons: no windows to see outdoors
I was able to train with several other phlebotomist that were professional, personable, kind and extremely helpful. I learned so much more from them than I did in the actual classroom. Having all the hands on experience made me more and more confident and helped me learn my craft as a phlebotomist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work nice benefits
Chief Accountant (Current Employee), Stamford, CTAugust 22, 2013
Pros: a lot of employee activities and good benefits
Cons: no career advancement
Overall Stamford Hospital is a good place to work , unless you have a desire to advance in your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Medical Technologist/Blood Bank (Current Employee), Stamford, CTAugust 20, 2013
Pros: free lunches of holidays, recognition by lab management, free shuttle from train station to hospital
Cons: it's all about the rns not the ancillary departments
Stamford Hospital is a Planetree Hospital and the institution not only upholds the Planetree values for all of its patients but all of it employees.
I currently work in a very busy large city Blood Bank in the hospital's lab. I am a Senior tech and my typical day consists of not only matching blood products for transfusions but working and educating – more... Medical Residents on the processes of lab testing to aid in patient care. I am also involved in the department's budget, maintaining work flow and troubleshooting/problem solving with any issues that may arise on any given day. The management of the lab and the hospital work well together and we, as employees, truly appreciate being recognized and having our needs met. My co-workers and I are a very cohesive team and work well together. The hardest part of my job is trying to multitask on a very busy day when the department is short staffed. I have learned to multitask quite well and prioritize my workload accordingly. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I am working with a Medical Resident or visiting students and what I am teaching them suddenly "clicks" in their mind and I can see the satisfaction on their face. It's all worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and always something different
Patient Access Trainer (Current Employee), Stamford, CTAugust 18, 2013
Pros: friendly co workers
Cons: short breaks, no parking
Every morning i walk in i do not know what to expect there is something always changing. A new program or process is always developing. I learned to accept changes and be prepared for anything. My co workers depend on me to help explain anything that is new to them. My managers depend on me to execute any new process without disrupting the patient flow. – more... The hardest part of the job is making sure that everyone is on the same page, The most enjoyable part of the job is watching everything come into play smoothly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very busy
Switchboard Operator (Former Employee), Stamford, CTAugust 12, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: open 365 days a year
I enjoyed my time working at Stamford Hospital. The people are friendly and u can advance in the hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
Volunteer (Former Employee), Stamford, CTMay 6, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: i didn't get paid
A typical day at work would be registering patients for blood work. I learned that the process of registering a patient for blood work isn't as easy as I thought. It took a lot of steps inorder for me to be able to walk them to where they would get their blood work done. My manager was very cool, understanding and patient. She helped me to be able to – more... learn quickly on what I am suppose to be doing and have a good time doing it. I only got to volunteer with two women, but they were awsome. They taught me new things everyday. The hardest part of the job was learing how to work their computer software. But it is easy once you get a hang of it. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping the spanish people understand better since I speak spanish. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, multi-faceted posisition which requires much attention to detail.
Unit Coordinator (Former Employee), In the Van Munching Rehabilitation UnitMay 1, 2013
Pros: i am helping people who are sometimes severely ill.
The pace at which I work is according to the number of patients in the unit. I learned how to organize and manage the work load while making sure the patients needs are met at all times. I maintain the patient charts ensuring that required documentation is filed. Arrange transportation for transfer after discharge. Close out patient chart after discharge – more... and forward to Medical Records Dept.

I love my co-workers. They helped me learn what I know concerning patient care, paperwork, etc. No part of this job is really hard. It does get very busy. The most enjoyale part of the job is the people that I work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and great people
X-ray Tech (Current Employee), Stamford, CTApril 15, 2013
Great place and great people
We are busy and the day goes by quickly. They are will to train you only if you are full time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intersting, Challenging and Busy Work Environment
EMT/Emergency Room Technician (Current Employee), Stamford, CTFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: opportunity to learn so much in the field of emergency medical care.
Cons: per-diems do not receive benefits; shift work can be difficult to adjust to, pay scale could be increased.
Every shift is a different experience, as to be expected in Emergency Medical Care in a hospital emergency room setting. Team work is a must to keep up with the many responsibilities every Tech, RN and MD has in order to provide quality care to acute and chronic patients. Shift work can be a strain on a body as it takes time to adjust to different hours. – more... One gathers confidence and feels satisfied after they have helped a patient and the patients family. The role of a Tech in this setting is somewhat demanding as there is so much to do. Every day a Tech can learn something new as the experiences are vast. This hospital is a Planetree designation and they do represent it well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Environment
x-ray tech (Former Employee), hospitalJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: i had two great managers
Cons: unpleasant environment. managers unware of environment on floor.
Depending on which department one works in, SHS may be a great place to work. In order to be comfortable in the dept. I worked in, one had to be on a good terms with the minor minions who were in charge of that modality. If one was not, the witch hunt would start until one either left on their own or they were fired based on trumped up charges. Friends – more... of the minions were advanced and had special privileges or favors. The others had no chance to further their careers. Different rules for different people. It is a relief not to work there. – less