Standard Bank Employee Reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & Friendly environment
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Lyons, ILMarch 23, 2017
Standard Bank was a great company to work for. Management was very helpful and the entire company was very nice and professional. The thing I most enjoyed about the job was helping out my co-workers and making my clients happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was great, alot of hard working people
Sales associate and teller (Former Employee) –  East Chicago, INJanuary 5, 2017
typical bank -banker hours
The management staff was willing to help you succeed, the Coworkers are all caring - close-nit bank

The job was enjoyable because of the management staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Customer Consultant (Current Employee) –  JohannesburgNovember 16, 2016
Encourage team work
Train staff frequently
A good company to work for because it encourage staff to improve the education
Pros
Encourage people first
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse cultural company with a massive SQL Server environment
SQL DBA (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, CANovember 7, 2016
There is never a dull moment at this company. There is and always will be something different and new to learn on a daily basis. The management style is a little different whereby you update management of your weekly goals and then in turn, you produce these goals set aside for yourself to benefit yourself to impart knowledge. My co-workers are helpful and we all constantly learning from each other. The most difficult part about being a SQL Server DBA is the frustration of struggling to fix something that you've never been exposed too whilst under pressure. SQL Server is still an ever growing technology and its exciting to know how broad this space is because, it varies in so many factors ranging from SSIS to BI.
Pros
No micro-management
Cons
Not a permanent employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
knowledgeable friendly staff
Universal Banker Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Oak Lawn, ILOctober 26, 2016
Friendly employees and staff. Their is a team effort everyone helps one another.Manager is very fair treats everyone the same.
Pros
close to home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team and expertise in sector
Equities Desk Trade/Sales Support (Former Employee) –  LondonJune 7, 2016
ICBC Standard Bank is a good place to work if you are interesting in African and Sub-Saharan markets where the company specialises.

I enjoyed my time with the company in dealing with a diverse team and a diverse group if clients.

Great location in hub of London.
Pros
Diverse team, supportive staff
Cons
Renumeration
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Challenging at the same time
FRONTLINE TELLER (Former Employee) –  Standard BankFebruary 22, 2016
working as a teller was a challenging, coming straight from school and working with money and have to balance everyday.
I worked there and overcame the challenges
staff were very friendly
customer care was a key
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Morris, ILOctober 26, 2015
This is a very large bank with many branches. I have worked in 4 of their branches and each was very different. Two were not fun as they were run by cliques and if you weren't part of it, then you were an outcast and treated as such. The other two were a lot of fun and I felt as a vital part of the bank. I would look forward to going to work at those two branches. (Morris on Lisbon and Gardner branches)
Pros
Great Environment
Cons
Cliques
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great place to work for
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  North Riverside, ILDecember 10, 2014
They will pay you so little to do so much work. The regional managers a regional managers don't help nor worry about the branches. I had to train my self on how to run the branch. No one is around when you need help.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Bank Teller / Representative (Former Employee) –  Lavale, MDAugust 7, 2014
Working at Standard Bank was very stressful. Doing the normal phone calls and waiting on customers filled our day. We were so busy all the time and couldn't ever get a break
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly okay
Operations Analyst (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 6, 2014
This company has been merged to another bank. Do not recommend to work for it but it is already not in the market after its merge.
Pros
Secure growth in banking business
Cons
Low Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my job
FRONTLINE TELLER (Former Employee) –  Montana-PretoriaApril 15, 2012
Capturing cash and cheque withdrawals, capturing cash and cheque deposits, helping customers with change, making sure I balance my cash in the trolley. My co-workers were very team orientated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
priductive
Accounts support officer (Former Employee) –  BlantyreJanuary 22, 2012
High motivating company which, apart from focusing on its growth in terms of profits, it also considers growing its people, its employees. As one of the leading banks in Malawi, Standard bank also pays back to its customers through helping in social services especially in building school blocks and sponsoring sports activities
Pros
christmas vouchers
Cons
medical aid
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more Standard Bank reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Standard Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 952 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9