Find companies:
Stanford Hospital & Clinics
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
74 reviews

Stanford Hospital & Clinics Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stanford Hospital was a great environment to work in. Most of the employees loved their job and this was reflected in their work performance. A typi
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAAugust 29, 2014
Pros: a great place to learn and grow.
Cons: changes in management and organization, employees felt uncertain about their exact roles, and job security.
Stanford Hospital was a great environment to work in. Most of the employees loved their job and this was reflected in their work performance.
A typical day at work had its standard, mandatory duties: answering phones, greeting people, typing documents, etc. An exciting aspect of working at the Hospital was everyday presented new challenges and projects.
Management – more... definitely maintained an open door policy.
Co-workers were always willing to help one another and we had a great team.
The hardest part of my job was prioritizing the many tasks.
The most enjoyable part of my job was interfacing with many people in many walks of life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Radiology Technologist (Former Employee), Redwood City/Palo AltoAugust 19, 2014
Pros: opportunity to grow and learn
Great place to work at!
Wonderful management!
Team work!
Excellent benefits!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to work with a high nutrition need population
CLINICAL DIETITIAN (Former Employee), Stanford, CAAugust 8, 2014
My job entailed working with BMT (blood and marrow transplant) patients. It was eye opening to see how crucial nutrition support and diet education was for this specific population to improve health outcomes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be prepared to work your butt off along with everyone else
Payroll Director (Former Employee), Stanford, CAAugust 2, 2014
Pros: company mission and values, location
Cons: location
Great company to work for! You have the opportunity to work with the brightest people in the world in a hospital setting that is gorgeous (what's not gorgeous about California weather!) On the flip side, the location is in the heart of the Silicon Valley, so very expensive and crowded. Excellent senior leadership team! Very competitive and challenging – more... so if you like to work hard, this place is for you! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Environment
Customer liaison for quality issues (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJuly 28, 2014
Operating on the ICU and CCU machines and making sure that they work properly for the patients in the hospital at the BioEngineering department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital Food & Beverage
Food & Beverage Server (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: free foods
Cons: kitchen back house work
Grab my scannerr and schedule for delivery throughout Stanford hospital, for quick and effective deliveries to multiple units in the hospital. I learned more about food safety and prevention of diseases while delivering meals, brochures, drinks, protein shakes and various supplements to patients frequently. My most difficult task was kitchen duty shifts – more... where I had to waash hundreds of plates and silverware including pots and pans certain shifts when I wasnt on schedule for delivery. The chefs were awesome individuls who worked well and efficently for years. I enjoyed most my time there and didnt have a chance to make permanent – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Med/surg nursing
RN/Charge Nurse (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAJune 10, 2014
Pros: team work environment
Cons: challenging work load
The inpatient medicine unit posses a physically, emotionally, and mentally challenging work environment for nurses and other staff in direct care of patients. Our patient population is vast and requires a broad nursing and medical knowledge base.
A typical work day is a 12.5 hour day and it's go go go! We start our day with a "huddle" going over the – more... needs and concerns of the unit and patients. We do bedside shift report and sign off in the patients rooms and include them in the discussion so that each patient is at the center of the report and has a welcoming introduction to oncoming staff. There is great team work involved on our unit and this is key in providing excellent nursing care!
I have learned a lot about the Cystic Fibrosis and transplant patient population while working on this unit at SHC. I've learned lots of new medications associated with this pt population as well.
I think one the most enjoyable parts of this job is being able to work with such dedicated and amazing nurses. It takes a group of strong individuals to "get the job done," and we have just that!
The most gratifying part of the job are those moments when I know I have truly made a difference in someone's life by caring for them. Having a patient hug me with tears in their eyes and praise me with thanks is very rewarding.
As with most nursing, the hardest part of the job is multitasking in such a highly demanding environment. Working as hard a I do has lead to exhaustion! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well rounded work enviornment
Billing Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee), Redwood City, CAMay 27, 2014
Pros: supportive work enviorment
Cons: business office was in 2 locations.
Probably one of the best places I ever worked. I had an outstanding Manager whom I learned a lot of lasting "work and life" leasons from. I left for higher pay....big mistake!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast pace
Medical Assistant/ hospital float (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAMay 14, 2014
Pros: out standing patient care
Cons: over booking to many patient .
busy fast past . great coworkers always lending a helping hand.outstanding Dr.s patient care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stanford Culture
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Stanford, CAMay 14, 2014
Pros: variety of tasks, positive attitude, beautiful campus and hospital
Cons: no healthcare, long commute, minimal hours
I am thoroughly satisfied with the culture at Stanford Hospital. There is true support and open communication at all times, allowing for an enjoyable and satisfying work experience. A typical day at work would encompass processing billing documents, ordering office supplies, filing student reports, or entering data. Everyone is comfortable with wearing – more... multiple hats and setting priorities in their daily tasks. I have learned a good deal about scheduling, processing documents, withdrawing patient health information from clinical documents, and the value of a workplace with open communication and support. The most difficult part of this position is monitoring hours as there are multiple grants I am currently paid by, each requiring a specific percentage of my time. The most enjoyable portion of this position is the interaction with multiple departments and their positive attitudes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at and great group of people
Emergency Room Unit Secretary (Former Employee), Stanford, CAApril 14, 2014
I loved how faced paced it was and if you needed help someone was also there to do so. I enjoyed waking up every day cause I knew I got to go work for a great group of people and feel like you made a difference in someone's life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong leadership and cohesive
Project Manager (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAApril 14, 2014
Pros: challenging work and strategic work, professional environment, ...
Cons: revolving door of leaders, medium to high turnover, ...
At the leadership level, most are all at that level as they earned it.

The daily culture of checking-in or huddles can be taxing and not necessary for non-patient areas.

Service excellence was embedded into culture DNA very fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive by providing flexibility
Clinical Research Trial Manager/Coordinator (Former Employee), Stanford, CAApril 9, 2014
daily identification of inclusion and exclusion of complex critically ill ICU patients for study eligibility
Primarily responsible for the overall management of the study which includes subject recruitment, site audits, plus study close out.
•Comprehend study design/implementation; administer coordination of the assigned set of research protocols to – more... assure efficiency and regulatory compliance – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and provides growth for development.
Clinical Laboratory Supervisor (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAMarch 1, 2014
A good place too work that is focused in delivering quality patient care. It is challenging and there are opportunities for growth and development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Pharmacist Student Clerkship (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAFebruary 27, 2014
Very intellectual environment and great opportunity for learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and much space for advancement
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAFebruary 26, 2014
Medical Assistant - Assist with vitals, procedures,translation,injections,lab process,stocking,autoclaving,messages,triage,medical advise under supervision,ordering supplies, maintains logs for quality control, and osha standards LOVE IT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people to work with
Manager, Clinical Effectiveness (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAFebruary 5, 2014
SHC is passionate about improving quality of healthcare delivered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity for advancement.
HOUSEKEEPING SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Palo Alto, Ca.February 4, 2014
Pros: healthcare plans. free access to cal trains.
Cons: pay for parking. small chance of an exposure to pathogens.
Employees would have a short meeting at the beginning of each shift with the supervisor to review current or go over any changes in rules, policies and procedures. Then we would go to our assigned work areas where we performed our duties with little supervision. This was excellent because it gave me and my co workers a chance to help each other and – more... problem solve on our own especially when the work load became very heavy. The best part of the job was helping patients and families with questions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stanford was a great place to work
Assist nurses (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJanuary 27, 2014
the hospital is a great place to work because i like helping people get better..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive organization with many learning opportunities
Patient Account Representative III (Former Employee), Stanford, CAJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits, learning opportunities, helpful co-workers
Cons: limited staff
A typical day would include co-worker interaction with varies projects.
I learned how to interact with different ethnic groups.
Management was very helpful and always encouraged us to excel in our position.
My co-workers were all team players.
The hardest part of my job was limited staff at times.
The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to – more... help patients resolve their problem accounts. – less

1 2 3 4

About Stanford Hospital & Clinics

Stanford Hospital provides both general acute care services and tertiary medical care for patients locally, nationally and internationally. – Read more

Stanford Hospital & Clinics Photos