Stanford University Employee Reviews in United States

Found 214 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place for research and every day learning new stuff
Postdoctoral Researcher (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAApril 21, 2016
-Interacting with lots of smart people helps to improve the knowledge every day.
- Very interesting and creative projects/research
- The hardest part of the job is high workload and responsibilities
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and grow
Research Mentor (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAApril 20, 2016
Very challenging problems are tackled in the graduate labs here. Excellent environment to expand your knowledge and really sharpen your mind with some of the best and the brightest.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAApril 20, 2016
- challenging yet rewarding
- great way to get research experience
- high standard encouraged high work ethic and produced good work that gave me invaluable skills
Pros
good on resume
Cons
big time commitment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAApril 17, 2016
Data analysis, policy analysis, project management and work with smart people to make huge impact on public education.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAApril 14, 2016
Professional environment that values it's employees and treats everyone fairly. Campus is beautiful and will be one of my fondest memories of being there.
Pros
Clean and Professional Work environment
Cons
Undefined job description
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Stability and great co workers
Life Science Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAApril 13, 2016
Very high paced and stressful workplace due to the nature of the job. But the team effort of great coworkers made it doable and less stressful.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Very cramped working conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Video Creative Director (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAApril 9, 2016
Great place to work. Every day was a new experience and provided endless opportunities to learn and grow. Culture of innovation and constant strive for excellence.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a wonderful job
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAApril 7, 2016
this is a wonderful job grate hours and very fexible would recomend this job to everyone. I love working with people and this is a very hands on job
Pros
the pay and hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great wellness and commuter perks for employees
Sr. Human Resources Administrator (Current Employee) –  Student AffairsApril 3, 2016
Stanford University provides excellent wellness and commuter benefits/programs for its staff. Free Caltrain and GO pass for all public transit bus options. Free shuttles to and from campus to caltrain station in Palo Alto. Free shuttles/buses to east bay for commuters.

Easy and convenience wellness screenings for all regular staff. financial incentives for those who participate in wellness programs.

Child Care subsidy grants in addition to dependent day care spending accounts available for all qualifying employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good work place
Linux Admin / Cloud Admin / DevOps Engineer (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAMarch 16, 2016
Good, Place to work productive and good work place Helps you grow and learn and survive Nice place costly place. thats all
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Executive Chef - General Manager (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAMarch 15, 2016
This is and was the best place to work for in my life.
What a great staff and place to be.

I learned so much from this job and sadly had to leave.
Best place to work for.
Pros
Great university
Cons
The best nothing as the best
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intellectually stimulating environment to work in. The campus itself is beautiful and accessible.
Visiting Scholar (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMarch 9, 2016
Stimulating and exciting educational environment. Great opportunities to contribute intellectually. An extremely gifted student population. This educational environment could benefit from increasing the diversity of the student population in some educational areas.The campus itself is a very attractive physical environment.
Pros
Attactive campus
Cons
Could increase emphasis on diversifying student population.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMarch 4, 2016
I have a lot of great memories from this job. Everyday brought a new opportunity to learn and to teach what I learned to so many others. Days could be challenging but they were always very rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Web Administrator/ Journal Production Editor (Current Employee) –  655 knight way, Stanford, Ca, 94305January 23, 2016
I've enjoy working here but not always competitive pay with Silicone Valley. They have helped advance my career in many ways
Pros
Work/Life Balance, Benefits, Time off, Training
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJanuary 13, 2016
I love Stanford. I met a lot of talent people in campus, attended numbers of great seminars, took quite a few classes. And the work experience made me grow to an independent scientist.
Pros
Great resources, people, and weather
Cons
Not enough money
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Student Fundraiser (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJanuary 5, 2016
Awesome. it was truly great and i fully enjoyed my time. It was a great college job that left me plenty of time to commit to school work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work.
Telecommunications Attendant (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CADecember 29, 2015
A typical day is you come in and answer phones. Aside from the "fine print" that's all you do. It pays well and the people in the office are great. They are very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good university, I like to do research there.
Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CADecember 16, 2015
It is a beautiful university, I like to do research there. I had a lot of profs who served as my mentors, always willing to help and share advice.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work
Animal Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CADecember 8, 2015
fun place to work with doctors,student and coworkers.the work place nice,people are always high educated which is nice to work with..
Pros
nice place, a lot of ot and hoiliday pay.good benifits..
Cons
very strict security and holiday work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Registrar
Registrar/Insurance Verifier (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CANovember 23, 2015
I LOVE working with the public and helping people. I really fit into this position and it has been a big benefit for me just for those reasons. However, when big corporations take over and do not take care of there employees it can be draining. Made many, many friends here and really enjoyed my job as a Registrar.
Pros
Helping others, friendly people, healthcare
Cons
Benefits, and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 221 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture