Stanford University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be great.
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaFebruary 15, 2018
Management really mistreats workers.What used to be a beautiful place to work in,has turned into more like a prison.In fact,many of us refer to the new head honcho,as "the warden."It has become very difficult to even get a vacation approved for more than 2 week duration.And we're no longer allowed to take vacation at Christmas time.As well as several other times of year being blacked out.Employees have been fired for being injured.They even tried to fire a worker who got cancer,and had to do chemo.One worker hurt his back,and while out on injury,his insurance was dropped by human resources.And when he went to HR to inquire within what happened,he was snapped at by the head lady that he needed to be patient.it took him several weeks to get that reinstated.With very little help from HR.Very unfriendly,and unprofessional management,upper-management,and micro management.New rules and regulations daily now.Nightmare job.
Pros
Good weather.nice neighborhood.
Cons
Prison atmosphere.low wages compared to cost of living.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Communications Operator (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAFebruary 14, 2018
Loved the actual position and my coworkers. Was not fond of how management/manager communicated with department. Management looks out for there team not themselves.
Pros
working in such an amazing place with amazing people. Helping people.
Cons
Department lacks good leadership mentoring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream place
Research scientist (Former Employee) –  Palo AltoFebruary 11, 2018
at Stanford, it is all about what you can offer, if you are smart and hard worker you achieve your dreams. the management are qualified and it is all about you and your work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Life Scientist (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAFebruary 11, 2018
Great place to work, top University in the world, a lot of opportunities to learn and grow, nice benefits, extremely competitive, great location, expensive area to live around, have to drive a lot and traffic is a big problem
Pros
healthcare
Cons
expensive area, have to drive a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for science
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAFebruary 10, 2018
No doubt the best place in this world to do cutting edge science. The university is full of resources and consists of the best minds coming from all over the world. Very competitive and rewarding
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
Cost of living
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place to work
Administrative Assitant (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAFebruary 9, 2018
It is a nice place to work. It is hard to get into a role at stanford because they tend to hire internal candidates over external. The culture is nice and very relaxed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great institution
Lecturer Urdu (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAFebruary 4, 2018
Wonderful place to work in terms of faculty, level of students, facilities. Sorry to say that as a part timer, my compensation was very low. I was working in the language department, and when they resumed the language program after suspending for couple of years, they hired a native student to teach the class.
Pros
Great place to work, lot of prestige, wonderful students and teachers
Cons
Low wages for part time faculty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
HRA (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 31, 2018
Great place to work at. People eventually work here until they retired. Benefits are great, but compensation can be worked on. Very collaborative environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Intellectually satisfying
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 24, 2018
I have not been working at Stanford. I am just taking classes there.
Professional development and project management courses are
excellent and very useful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great resources
Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 23, 2018
- didn't like the culture
- beautiful campus
- expensive to live there
- postdoc is very hard work
- students at stanford are super smart and highly motivated
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience but low compensation
Assistant Clinical Research Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJanuary 23, 2018
I gained valuable hands-on experience in clinical research. However, there was not much room for growth in this field and my salary was barely enough to live on.
Pros
experience
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay...Good location...
Temporary Employee (Former Employee) –  Menlo Park, CAJanuary 23, 2018
This job was very beneficial to me in many ways.. I was a young man at the time who wasn't sure what I wanted to do in life.. This job gave me an insight on working hard to become succesful..
Pros
Good pay..Good Vacation time..Hands on training..
Cons
extreme conditions at times.. Unfair and unequal opportunity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work- life balance Terrible traffic
FACULTY AFFAIRS ADMINISTRATOR, DEPT OF MEDICINE (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJanuary 22, 2018
No work- life balance
Terrible traffic back and forth
Little no none work flexibility for telecommuting
Some Schools tend to overwork their administrative team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Communications Manager (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 22, 2018
High tech higher ed environment. Working with the world's greatest minds i the faculty. Culture was collaborative and supportive. Can't beat it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
DAPER Staff (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 18, 2018
Love the workplace culture. Amazing Campus and Facility to work at. Is a great opportunity to make connections and learn from those around. Fun filled atmosphere to be apart of!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple Functions
Project Manager-OSP (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 18, 2018
Work day included all phases of OSP work. Billing, contracts, repair, construction, relocation. Difficult to manage so many functions everyday. University shifting to academic roots. OSP work costly from time, material perspective. Hard to cut costs.
Pros
Rglar hours close to home.
Cons
Lots of uncertainty. No role organization. Limited over sight.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lead Chef (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJanuary 16, 2018
It's an outstanding place to work. Plenty of chances for advancement, many place to work on the campus. The management staff is caring and thought full.
Pros
many of options for different work options.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and environment but...
Life Science Research Professional (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 13, 2018
I love working at Stanford however my job requires me to be in the lab every single day. It would be close to perfect if I had a day off. My only time off is when I actually take time off, which is hard to do in my lab.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Work every day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work space
Recreation Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAJanuary 9, 2018
Very easy to handle, very good work environment, good clients and members. You meet a lot of different higher level position people and none of them are condescending
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure and Calm Work Environment
Director of Operations, SCOPE (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJanuary 6, 2018
Working for Stanford comes with many benefits, the most notable of which is the work-life balance afforded to most of its employees as well as the security that comes along with a higher education position.
Pros
Work-life balance, Insurance benefits, security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stanford University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 414 reviews
5220
4134
336
216
18

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture