Stanford University Employee Reviews

Found 301 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Arrogant People Work Here
Administrative Associate (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAJune 23, 2017
Stanford overall is a great place to work because of good benefits, but you have to get in with the right group/team, otherwise you'll be miserable, as there are a lot of pretentious people working here. Seems as if they all were born with a bottle of grey poupon in one hand and a gold spoon in the other.
Pros
great benefits, free classes
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAJune 19, 2017
Stanford provides a nice work environment with opportunities for to do research while teaching. Prospects for advancement aren't good, but my current position is awarding and fulfilling.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing opportunity
Summer intern at Stanford University (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJune 17, 2017
This really was more of an internship that a job. the research was intriguing, the people were fun and motivating to work with, and I enjoyed the opportunity to learn the ropes of medical research during my time there.
Pros
Great work culture and easily accessible superiors.
Cons
At times a little dull, but for the most part very fulfilling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful campus, but toxic culture
Senior Research Analyst (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJune 16, 2017
Excellent place for faculty and students for research and innovation, but not necessarily that's the case for staff. Culture varies depending on where you are on campus, so it is hard to generalize.
Pros
beautiful campus
Cons
hard to get promoted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and Ok Work Life Balance
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJune 14, 2017
Flexible work schedule
Telecommute Option
Two week holiday shutdown is nice (Christmas and New Years)

Days can be long. Culture can be challenging. Silo environment, specifically for HR professionals. I believe they are trying to work on closing the gap.
Pros
Flexibility, Two week holiday shutdown
Cons
Stagnate growth potential
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Students are #1
Buyer III (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAJune 14, 2017
My colleagues are the best people on the earth!

I was awarded and recognized for my continuous contributions.

Academia not always easy to work in.

Too many meetings.

No work life balance.
Pros
Beautiful Community
Cons
No work, life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Career Opportunities
Cross-cultural curricula development (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAJune 14, 2017
Stanford University is highly ranked, due to its excellence in both education and student selection. The necessary intensity of study can be difficult, for those with families and other obligations. Overall, Stanford provides extremely well, for both its students and staff. Stellar opportunities for career support and growth, in all fields. Notably, as an instructor who has spent many years working with athletes, I was deeply impressed with the standards for education required of students engaged in all sports, on campus.
Pros
Pure excellence
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, difficult
Stewardship Reporting Coordinator/Manager (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAJune 12, 2017
Not an easy place to work. I was given the title of "manager" but had nobody to manage, just a ton of work and not enough time to do it. I worked long hours and was very stressed out and ended up leaving.
Pros
Salary and benefits
Cons
Work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great community and work/life balance
IT Product Manager (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAJune 11, 2017
Stanford University is a great place to work. There are great benefits offered, there is a culture of people who like to help each other out, and the work/life balance is observed by almost everyone. There are long project life cycles and you learn quickly how to navigate the political environment.
Pros
Work/life balance, ability to learn new skills, investment in their workers
Cons
Long project lifecycle, need to navigate political culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAJune 9, 2017
You get to interact, work, and collaborate with very brilliant people from all over the world. It is a business minded school so everyone is trying to figure out the next step...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top university in the world for EE, CS, and many others
Research Associate, Electrical Engineering (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAJune 8, 2017
I was a research associate at the Center for Radar Astronomy (now STAR Labs), it was the highlight of my research life. Stanford's environment and the school's administration is second to none.
Pros
Best university culture in the world
Cons
Hard to get faculty position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Administrative Services Manager (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAJune 5, 2017
Job Work/Life Balance, Compensation/Benefits, Job Security/Advancement, Management, Job Culture were all excellent.

I recommend working at Stanford to anybody, no matter what your skill set or experience level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CAJune 3, 2017
Stanford University School of Medicine is a nice place to work, however, pay increases are difficult to come by. Hard work, extra effort are difficulty for the institution to reward.
Pros
beautiful
Cons
tight with money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Zone Engineer - Facility Engineer (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJune 2, 2017
No complains. Friendly, Silicon valley environment, fast paced, with excellent benefits program. My team was always supportive, they care for the mission of the Institution.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in acedemia that is rewarding and challenging
Desktop Support Analyst Intern (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMay 30, 2017
Open door policy
Tasks are learly defined
team meetings to discuss pressing issues
Work on customer (Stanford community) issue.
Working with latest desktop technologies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Intern (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAMay 25, 2017
During the two summers that I worked at Stanford University I spent my time putting data into an excel spreadsheet for documenting and studying coral samples and seeing how EL Nino patterns affected them. The grad students and professors there were great and I learned a lot about geology as well.
Pros
Experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry level job
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMay 23, 2017
Stanford was a great place to work. The only reason I left was that Stanford can not compete with the salary's biotech offers. As far a science, the benefit to working here is doing cutting edge work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
3D Lab Technologist (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAMay 20, 2017
Felt right at home here. Only left to be closer to family on the East coast. Lots of perks. Able to take the train to work instead of driving in CA traffic!
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace!
Men's Basketball Intern (Current Employee) –  Stanford, CA 94305May 13, 2017
Great workplace!

Easy to show up to work and perform to your highest potential. Friendly staff who are encouraging and helpful. Best athletic department in the country!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Start Your Career
Associate Director of Major Gifts (Former Employee) –  Stanford, CAMay 10, 2017
I had a very good experience at Stanford, working there 13 years and starting in events management before moving into a role as a development officer (fundraising).
Pros
beautiful campus, very strong benefits, 401K match, ability to monitor some classes, work-life balance
Cons
pay scale is lower relative to similar work in for-profit Silicon Valley
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stanford University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 315 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0