Find companies:
Stanford University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
129 reviews

Stanford University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day at CISAC/Stanford University
Administrative and Finance Analyst (Current Employee), Stanford, CANovember 24, 2013
Pros: given the ability to keep pushing myself further and further
Cons: training was not adequate. however, i found ways to help myself out.
My day would begin following up on previous tasks that have not been completed. Overlook all emails, make sure I have answered questions and/or direct individuals to the proper assistance. Go over financial monitors for all sponsored awards/grants. Review and approve all reimbursements, travel card and pcard expenditures and transfer journals. Check – more... on our suspense account to see if any individuals labor schedules were not set up correctly and complete a labor distribution for all. I have learned so much about sponsored awards and grants. How to follow policy and procedures to ensure Stanford and CISAC were in compliance will all policies and procedures dictated by federal government. I have also gained experience handling labor schedules and distributions for human resources. I enjoy working with all the principal investigators and research assistants. It is a highly compatible relationship for our end goals. Hardest part of the job was to keep everyone on board. As each individual has his or her own way of processing information. However, with organizational skills and communication it became less of a problem. My most enjoyable part of the job is helping people. I find great reward in answering people's questions and seeing the end results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, location
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CA 94303November 6, 2013
Contract position, moved on to another that was to turn to full time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer at Stanford
Swim Camp Coach (Former Employee), Stanford, CANovember 6, 2013
I really enjoyed my time at Stanford but there are some definite communications issues between departments, but I feel most companies are like that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Life Science Research Associate (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAOctober 8, 2013
Pros: flexibility of work hour
Cons: pays not enough for living in bayarea
There is certain degree of freedom in job. There are many smart people around, so you can learn a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive, focused, goal oriented and self motivated
Electrical Designer, CAD Supervisor (Former Employee), SLAC National Accelerator LaboratoryOctober 5, 2013
Supervisor responsibilities involve daily decisions regarding designers in support of engineering projects for the site. You must be
patient, direct, decisive, open and fair. You learn to enjoy your coworkers while maintaining a supervisory role. You are often face you making tough decisions regarding long-term employees. The satisfaction come when – more... see you ing a high profile project being completed on time and within budget. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ANything is possible here
Teaching Fellow (Former Employee), Stanford, CASeptember 30, 2013
A great place to work at and/or study. You are only bound by what you tell yourself, and the people I have worked with are super smart and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Short Term Online Course in Finance (Former Employee), IndiaSeptember 26, 2013
It is known for its excellence. The courses offered are very instrumental in giving education to those who aspire for knowledge in various fields.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and motivating work place
Database Admin / Project Director (Current Employee), Stanford, CASeptember 13, 2013
A typical work day for me is to oversee, manage, design and create new ways to share our research to scholars and students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people, more formal atmosphere
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Stanford, CASeptember 10, 2013
Pros: a beautiful campus
Cons: a lot of walking to your car
A corporate ladder feel. Many late afternoon social gatherings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Medical Center
Senior Project Manager (Current Employee), Menlo Park, CASeptember 1, 2013
Excellent however many projects handled simultaneously at same phase of development
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Sr. SW Program Manager (Current Employee), Stanford, CAAugust 30, 2013
goo company to work. very flexible hours. allows working remotely. good kids benefits. great team work.
bad thing is long commute
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for tenured faculty, terrible for staff
Web Developer (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAAugust 27, 2013
Pros: flex hours (for exempt employees), good family benefits
Cons: high local cost of living, limited advancement, low market salaries, unreasonable liberalism
Want to work for a great place that demands 110% but will never pay you enough? This is it. Environment is very political and others will try to take credit for your work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hell like enviroment
MLT (Former Employee), UniversityAugust 8, 2013
Pros: you don't have to workout outside job.
Cons: low wage and more work
You can work like dog but no management is satisfy. They just think of themselves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CLS position at the HLA Lab
CLS HLA tech (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAAugust 8, 2013
Pros: compensation and benefits
Cons: high turn over due to management
The people in the lab are hard workers, intelligent, and meticulous to details. They are great co-workers. The lab is often busy and requires you to work weekends and night shifts.

The director and manager like to micro manage and do not appreciate their employees. The management is horrible. There is a high turn over in the lab. At least, 2 or 3 workers – more... quit or get fired every year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management great! Friendly co-workers, great benefits
Media Production Specialist (Current Employee), Stanford, CAAugust 7, 2013
Pros: campus, benefits, co-workers
Typical day at work can get a little repetitive, but you'll find that anywhere. The great thing about working here is that you're consistantly learning new things/software. Management has a really great balance of being your friend but knowing when to draw the line and be a great boss. Co-workers are GREAT, some of the best and smartest people. One – more... of the most enjoyable things about working here is the campus. If you need to get away for a few minutes a walk around the beautiful campus can really put things into perspective. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prison-like environment
Purchasing Card Program Administrator (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAAugust 5, 2013
Pros: ok benefits
Cons: incompetent and poor management
A typical day at work was to answer questions, solve problems, and interact with outside contacts. I learned to administer the corporate credit card program. My management was incompetent. My co-workers were friendly and helpful. The hardest part of the job was when they instituted a "call center" instead of allowing me to directly speak to clients. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job was helping others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It could have just been my department but this is not a good place to work.
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Stanford, CAAugust 1, 2013
The business manager pleased the faculty and those under her who kissed up. Most of my job involved sponsored research accounting. It has to be right or the department can loose the funding with the possibility of Stanford loosing all of its funding. I'm a very knowledgeable, dedicated worker but I don't play games. The working conditions were tense. – more... After 23 years of service I was laid off. My last day at work was my best day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A university
Associate Director of Development (Former Employee), Stanford, CAAugust 1, 2013
• Actively consulted major gift fundraising staff on high net worth alumni by analyzing biographical and financial information among prospect donors, and advised senior staff on targeted cultivation and solicitation strategies.
• Analyzed market fundamentals and led capital markets research to consult the major and principal gift fundraising team on – more... lucrative industries, recent IPOs, M&A activity and executive transitions to identify prospects with major gift capacity.
• Conducted a three-part training series aimed at educating the fundraising staff on how to use Blackbaud, a modeling and data analytics provider, and identified 2,500 new prospects.
• Supervised assigned staff including training researchers, promoting career development and hiring new staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great research environment
Research Scholar (Current Employee), Pediatric DepartmentJuly 30, 2013
This is one of the best places to conduct research, filled with experts with diverse specialties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Stanford, CAJuly 22, 2013
Stanford University offers many opportunities for your future.

About Stanford University

The Stanford Technology Ventures Program is dedicated to accelerating high-technology entrepreneurship education and creating – Read more

Stanford University Photos