Find companies:
Stanford University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
138 reviews

Stanford University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
energetic, motivating, busy day
Department of Surgery, Research Associate (Current Employee), Hagey Research LaboratoryJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: campus culture
Cons: to some extent bureaucracy
stanford is a symbol of excellence, self motivation, innovation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJanuary 17, 2014
Volunteered at Stanford University for a Stanford - CAL Berkeley football game selling food (concessions). Everything was great and it definitely gave me good work experience!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great working with such gifted scientists.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: free commuter passes.
Cons: hard to get around campus quickly as it is so big!
A typical day at Stanford University is going in to work and managing a professor's life in terms of scheduling their day, making travel arrangements, assisting in preparing grant, and also interacting with postdoctoral fellows from all over the world! I have learned that being patient is the great virtue one could possess as I have watched scientists – more... take years to complete one paper for journals such as Nature and Science. My coworkers all loved working in academia and most of the people that I worked with at Stanford have been around for years! The job required a high level of intelligence and being a quick-change artist as your planned tasks for the day could change quite suddenly. Stanford University is a wonderful place to work!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful benefits, but difficult for staff members to advance
Faculty Affairs (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: health benefits, gorgeous campus, caltrain pass, training/education reimbursement plans
Cons: some faculty are brilliant, some are brilliant and mercurial..and some just mercurial
As a staff member, it can be an exceptional treat to be around people who are at the top of their fields and who are making world-class discoveries. The flip side of the coin is that in an academic environment, faculty members rule the roost -- whether or not they have appropriate management skills. At times, I've seen skilled, well-educated staff members – more... put down or not allowed to advance forward in their careers due to mercurial decisions made by faculty. Some faculty run amazing workgroups, and some don't -- do your research during your interview process before you join a given department. Stanford has excellent benefits, including staff training reimbursement. Work-life balance is publicized a great deal, but in practice varies from department to department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and rewarding workplace environment.
Logistics Program Manager (Former Employee), Stanford, CAJanuary 8, 2014
Enjoyed diverse programs and passion out into each program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment to learn and perfect your craft
Contractor (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: stanford university campus has a great vibe from everyone there; students and faculty alike
This is a an environment of constant learning and growth. What can be a challenge to some is constant change and high expectations, while others thrive in this environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and sense of community
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Stanford, CADecember 2, 2013
Pros: gorgeous campus, great staff
Cons: required work on weekends, lots of politics to navigate.
Large organization, somewhat unwieldy.
The Department of Public Safety is a serious department that oversees the safety of the campus community.
In the Records Department I reviewed officer cases and entered information into the department's database. Record-keeping is a fundamental part of the organization. All activities of this police department – more... are public records and copies of cases were provided to the public with redacted confidential information.
My co-workers were dedicated and hard-working.
The hardest part of the job was doing 12 things at once well.
The most enjoyable part of the job was participating in events on campus and being able to take classes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers very supportive
Mechanical Design Specialist (Former Employee), Menlo Park, CANovember 30, 2013
Very interesting technology, chance to learn ultra high vacuum design standards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't hold your breath
Life Science Research Assistant (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CANovember 25, 2013
Don't expect to be treated well, it won't happen. You will work too long and too hard and not be paid nearly what you're worth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day at CISAC/Stanford University
Administrative and Finance Analyst (Current Employee), Stanford, CANovember 24, 2013
Pros: given the ability to keep pushing myself further and further
Cons: training was not adequate. however, i found ways to help myself out.
My day would begin following up on previous tasks that have not been completed. Overlook all emails, make sure I have answered questions and/or direct individuals to the proper assistance. Go over financial monitors for all sponsored awards/grants. Review and approve all reimbursements, travel card and pcard expenditures and transfer journals. Check – more... on our suspense account to see if any individuals labor schedules were not set up correctly and complete a labor distribution for all. I have learned so much about sponsored awards and grants. How to follow policy and procedures to ensure Stanford and CISAC were in compliance will all policies and procedures dictated by federal government. I have also gained experience handling labor schedules and distributions for human resources. I enjoy working with all the principal investigators and research assistants. It is a highly compatible relationship for our end goals. Hardest part of the job was to keep everyone on board. As each individual has his or her own way of processing information. However, with organizational skills and communication it became less of a problem. My most enjoyable part of the job is helping people. I find great reward in answering people's questions and seeing the end results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, location
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CA 94303November 6, 2013
Contract position, moved on to another that was to turn to full time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer at Stanford
Swim Camp Coach (Former Employee), Stanford, CANovember 6, 2013
I really enjoyed my time at Stanford but there are some definite communications issues between departments, but I feel most companies are like that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Life Science Research Associate (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAOctober 8, 2013
Pros: flexibility of work hour
Cons: pays not enough for living in bayarea
There is certain degree of freedom in job. There are many smart people around, so you can learn a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive, focused, goal oriented and self motivated
Electrical Designer, CAD Supervisor (Former Employee), SLAC National Accelerator LaboratoryOctober 5, 2013
Supervisor responsibilities involve daily decisions regarding designers in support of engineering projects for the site. You must be
patient, direct, decisive, open and fair. You learn to enjoy your coworkers while maintaining a supervisory role. You are often face you making tough decisions regarding long-term employees. The satisfaction come when – more... see you ing a high profile project being completed on time and within budget. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ANything is possible here
Teaching Fellow (Former Employee), Stanford, CASeptember 30, 2013
A great place to work at and/or study. You are only bound by what you tell yourself, and the people I have worked with are super smart and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and motivating work place
Database Admin / Project Director (Current Employee), Stanford, CASeptember 13, 2013
A typical work day for me is to oversee, manage, design and create new ways to share our research to scholars and students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people, more formal atmosphere
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Stanford, CASeptember 10, 2013
Pros: a beautiful campus
Cons: a lot of walking to your car
A corporate ladder feel. Many late afternoon social gatherings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Medical Center
Senior Project Manager (Current Employee), Menlo Park, CASeptember 1, 2013
Excellent however many projects handled simultaneously at same phase of development
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Sr. SW Program Manager (Current Employee), Stanford, CAAugust 30, 2013
goo company to work. very flexible hours. allows working remotely. good kids benefits. great team work.
bad thing is long commute
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for tenured faculty, terrible for staff
Web Developer (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAAugust 27, 2013
Pros: flex hours (for exempt employees), good family benefits
Cons: high local cost of living, limited advancement, low market salaries, unreasonable liberalism
Want to work for a great place that demands 110% but will never pay you enough? This is it. Environment is very political and others will try to take credit for your work.

About Stanford University

The Stanford Technology Ventures Program is dedicated to accelerating high-technology entrepreneurship education and creating – Read more

Stanford University Photos