Find companies:
Stanford University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
138 reviews

Stanford University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hell like enviroment
MLT (Former Employee), UniversityAugust 8, 2013
Pros: you don't have to workout outside job.
Cons: low wage and more work
You can work like dog but no management is satisfy. They just think of themselves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CLS position at the HLA Lab
CLS HLA tech (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAAugust 8, 2013
Pros: compensation and benefits
Cons: high turn over due to management
The people in the lab are hard workers, intelligent, and meticulous to details. They are great co-workers. The lab is often busy and requires you to work weekends and night shifts.

The director and manager like to micro manage and do not appreciate their employees. The management is horrible. There is a high turn over in the lab. At least, 2 or 3 workers – more... quit or get fired every year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management great! Friendly co-workers, great benefits
Media Production Specialist (Current Employee), Stanford, CAAugust 7, 2013
Pros: campus, benefits, co-workers
Typical day at work can get a little repetitive, but you'll find that anywhere. The great thing about working here is that you're consistantly learning new things/software. Management has a really great balance of being your friend but knowing when to draw the line and be a great boss. Co-workers are GREAT, some of the best and smartest people. One – more... of the most enjoyable things about working here is the campus. If you need to get away for a few minutes a walk around the beautiful campus can really put things into perspective. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prison-like environment
Purchasing Card Program Administrator (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAAugust 5, 2013
Pros: ok benefits
Cons: incompetent and poor management
A typical day at work was to answer questions, solve problems, and interact with outside contacts. I learned to administer the corporate credit card program. My management was incompetent. My co-workers were friendly and helpful. The hardest part of the job was when they instituted a "call center" instead of allowing me to directly speak to clients. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job was helping others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It could have just been my department but this is not a good place to work.
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Stanford, CAAugust 1, 2013
The business manager pleased the faculty and those under her who kissed up. Most of my job involved sponsored research accounting. It has to be right or the department can loose the funding with the possibility of Stanford loosing all of its funding. I'm a very knowledgeable, dedicated worker but I don't play games. The working conditions were tense. – more... After 23 years of service I was laid off. My last day at work was my best day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A university
Associate Director of Development (Former Employee), Stanford, CAAugust 1, 2013
• Actively consulted major gift fundraising staff on high net worth alumni by analyzing biographical and financial information among prospect donors, and advised senior staff on targeted cultivation and solicitation strategies.
• Analyzed market fundamentals and led capital markets research to consult the major and principal gift fundraising team on – more... lucrative industries, recent IPOs, M&A activity and executive transitions to identify prospects with major gift capacity.
• Conducted a three-part training series aimed at educating the fundraising staff on how to use Blackbaud, a modeling and data analytics provider, and identified 2,500 new prospects.
• Supervised assigned staff including training researchers, promoting career development and hiring new staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great research environment
Research Scholar (Current Employee), Pediatric DepartmentJuly 30, 2013
This is one of the best places to conduct research, filled with experts with diverse specialties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stanford is a fun place to works and study.
Research assistant (Former Employee), Stanford, California.July 24, 2013
Pros: the weather is nice.
Cons: very high standards for written english.
I learned much working at Stanford. So did all mu colleagues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Stanford, CAJuly 22, 2013
Stanford University offers many opportunities for your future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have enjoyed working where I am
Senior Account Representative (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAJuly 22, 2013
I have been with the hospital for 15 years and I am finally looking to move up the career ladder since I have been in school for the last two years working on my education to further my career goals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great research environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Stanford, CAJuly 21, 2013
The research environment is great with excellent colleagues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Project Manager (Former Employee), Stanford, CAJuly 18, 2013
Pros: benefits are great
Cons: pay could always improve.
I enjoyed a great deal about working at Stanford: top-notch research institute, top-notch people to work with, great benefits and great location and flexibility of work hours are wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Travel Surgical Technician (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJuly 17, 2013
Contractor wasn't involved with the everyday runnings of the hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Linear Accelerator Center, Intern (Former Employee), Stanford,CAJuly 17, 2013
I was an undergraduate when I worked for Stanford. It was interesting and I was able to learn new methods in the science field. My co-worker was awesome as was management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJuly 17, 2013
Pros: great enviroment, well managed department
Cons: pay
Over all my experience was good. My manager was great, too bad I was a temp employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Approaching Stanford Project Coordinator (Current Employee), Stanford, CAJuly 15, 2013
Stanford has great benefits! The salary isn't as good as it could be, however, the campus is beautiful and people are very welcoming and approachable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable learning experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Stanford, CAJune 27, 2013
Pros: free lunches, laid back atmosphere
Cons: often tedious and repetitive
Performed basic low-level research assistant work, like hunting for information online, calling people, and entering information in spreadsheets. Learned a lot about the redistricting cycle and how to use ArcMap. Fellow research assistants were a pleasure to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware of Medical Center Development
Declined to state (Former Employee), Stanford, CAJune 24, 2013
If you are a Development Officer or want to work in Alumni Relations stay clear of Medical Center Development. Management is a nightmare, room for advancement is restricted to those that are friends with higher level managers and associate VP's and overall it is a poorly run group. It's reputation across campus as a bad place to work is well known. – more... Stanford has good benefits but the overall salaries are much higher outside of academia. Note that raises are often non existent and at most no more than 3% max due to internal policies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved my job
Admin. Assoc IV (Former Employee), Stanford, CAJune 3, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: new boss who didn't know her job- had to train her
life was good as long as you get your job done
made great friends and great benefits
loved to go to work everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent research environment.
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee), Stanford, CAMay 8, 2013
This is an excellent place to do research and work with leaders in the field.

About Stanford University

The Stanford Technology Ventures Program is dedicated to accelerating high-technology entrepreneurship education and creating – Read more

Stanford University Photos