Find companies:
Stanford University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
113 reviews

Stanford University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware
worked there (Former Employee), Stanford, CASeptember 20, 2012
Worked there -- poor management in many departments on campus.
Be careful of others taking credit for your hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun place to work
Prep/Line Cook (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CASeptember 19, 2012
Pros: free food, experience
Cons: short breaks
Learned to be a team player and responcibilities,to be suffient ,and many new ways to cook
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviroment
Player Guest Coordinator (Former Employee), Stanford, CASeptember 17, 2012
Pros: the pay, benefits, campus perks, atmosphere
Cons: traffic
Stanford University is a excellent place for employment. The atmosphere alone is energetic and motivating. This employer motivates its employess to reach their potential and beyond by treating their staff with love and respect. The possiblities for advancement are endless once fully employed and even though im employed seasonal its a job I looking forward – more... going to every chance I can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving and fun workplace
Office Clerk (Former Employee), Bellwood, ILSeptember 10, 2012
Love working for stanford it was a very enjoyable place it was hard working but it paid the bills and the people was an absolutly a joy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It can be a great place to work
Life Science Research Assistant (Former Employee), Stanford, CAAugust 18, 2012
Pros: nice campus, good benefits
Cons: lower pay
I would assume the experience varies greatly with each lab. My lab was full of young professionals who also got their work done. Work life balance is what you want it to be. Pay is on the lower side (as oppose to industry) but good benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work where you can advance your career, they value education and self improvement
Administrative Associate (Former Employee), Stanford, CAAugust 17, 2012
Pros: great benefits!
Amazing, you can take classes on campus that benefit your career so you can move up and get into a new/higher position.

All employees were good to work with, compatible. We had weekly meetings within our team to keep communication open and know what others were up to and expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice work place
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Current Employee), Stanford, CAAugust 15, 2012
The campus is really beautiful. The most enjoyable part of being a member on campus is the opportunity to communicate with so many talented people and learn from them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with great staff and team members.
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Stanford University in Stanford, California.August 8, 2012
Pros: i have a great team that i loosely work with.
Cons: guests are sometimes surprised at my arrival and a little rude.
From day to day I start by getting my Housekeeping cart ready for the day, stocking full of amenities, sheets, blankets and towels.
From there I have a list of rooms requesting room service. Throughout the day I clean up in the rooms that have requested service and make the beds with new sheets and blankets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and united workplace
Receptionist/ Office assistant (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAAugust 6, 2012
Pros: example: free lunches, etc.
Cons: example: short breaks, healthcare, etc.
A typical day at work consisted of constant interaction with fellow co-workers and outside customers. Although our department was exceptionally large management and co-workers made the environment comfortable and easy to maintain. Everything about this job I absolutely enjoyed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and great co-workers
groundskeeper (Current Employee), Stanford, CAAugust 6, 2012
Pros: example: free lunches, etc.
Cons: example: short breaks, healthcare, etc.
only worked as a temp, worked from 6am-2:30pm. hardest part of job was the heat. best part was the coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace where everyone's ideas are brought to the table
Life Science Research Assistant (Former Employee), Stanford, CAJuly 30, 2012
A large university that has an abundance of programs and departments that work together to develop best practices in their field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Political, very structureed
Director IT (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJuly 27, 2012
The environment is very political, very controlled with little ability to perform duties without being micro managed at all levels
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Live and a Great Environment
Clerical/ Administrative Associate (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJuly 26, 2012
Pros: the job and people you work with.
Cons: this is up to the person that works here. my cons migh be different from others.
I loved working at Stanford University. I was an office assistant and absolutly loved it. The work was wonderful which was general office duties and much much more. I was also placed in charge of approving P-card purchases after about six months. The position only ended because it was a part time position that did not go permenent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Educating
Office Assistant Multi-Department Coordinator IV (Former Employee), Stanford, CAJuly 16, 2012
Intensive Medical Care. Great Place to Work. Extreme high pressure
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Rewarding Experience
Operations and Logistic Manager (Former Employee), st. croix and AntiguaJuly 7, 2012
Pros: very flexible hours, exceptional compensation benefits
Cons: long hours and frequent travelling
Stanford 20/20 LLC was a sporting company which once marketed the highest paid tournament in sporting history (20 million price money). The company was based on development of grass roots cricket (sports) in the entire carribbean. A total of 22 islands actively participated in tournaments in the region. The most rewarding part of this job was working – more... closing with the Heads of Government and the famous sports celebrities of all sporting deciplines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious about their work and environment, but knows when to relax
Information/Escort Service Desk (Former Employee), Stanford, CAJune 25, 2012
They require you to do not only your best, but provide the absolute best work out of anyone. But, they also know that one should not be too serious
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Project Enginer (Former Employee), Stanford,CAJune 22, 2012
Pros: total freedom to move about the campus
Cons: poor office facilities. i moved several times. cubical was very small and noisy.
As a Project Manager I was allowed to anage entire projects in the Housing Division with a minimum of supervision.
Great co-workers. Able to maintain my physical fittness at the gym at Stanford.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large campus, plenty of outdoor spaces to enjoy.
Lead Gardener/Gardener (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAJune 5, 2012
Needed to learn how to get around campus quickly when I first started working, since the campus was so large. There was a sizable variety of work to be done do to the wide range of requirements set by the various departments, organizations, and individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling job - helping people in the healthcare field
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Stanford, CAJune 3, 2012
Pros: good benefits - free commutes
Cons: hours were long and unstable at times
I really enjoyed working at Stanford because of the atmosphere of fulfillment at work. Helping people out when they are at their most vulnerable, being ill, is a very fulfilling job. My co-workers all enjoyed working together as we all were working toward the same end goal of making sure the patients were taken care of to the best of our ability. I – more... always felt that every patient was a VIP and worked as long as it took to make sure that everything was taken care of for quality of care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intellectually stimulating
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Stanford, CAMay 31, 2012
A great work atmosphere with nice co-workers and supervisors. Intellectually stimulating place where one gains skills as he or she goes along.

About Stanford University

The Stanford Technology Ventures Program is dedicated to accelerating high-technology entrepreneurship education and creating – Read more

Stanford University Photos