Find companies:
Stanford University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
131 reviews

Stanford University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location and facilities
Assistant Director (Current Employee), Stanford, CAMarch 10, 2013
Pros: beautiful campus and location, near caltrain, brand new facilities, intelligent and inspiring people, good work/life balance
Cons: low salary and promotional increases, culture can be tough to adapt to
The GSB facility is brand new, beautiful, functional and inspiring. It's a great place to work and have enjoyed my time here. Culture can be tough to adapt to (it's very high context) so that was a challenge, but once you have acclimated it becomes enjoyable being in such an institution where so much is going on and you can interact with different brilliant – more... and interesting people everyday...including students, professors, and visitors (incl many CEOs). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My role at Stanford University
Student Services Manager (Current Employee), Stanford, CAMarch 4, 2013
Pros: work-life balance, great people, challenging work environment
Cons: dept. inefficiencies, poor management, poor job cards, lack of hr presence at dept. levels
I really enjoy the challenge and learning that comes with working in a large academic institution. I have 15 years of experience independently managing offices, personnel/ process management, and multiple projects simultaneously in high volume and changing environments. I take great satisfaction in knowing that the people I support can rely on me to – more... provide excellent service with a high level of discretion and independent judgment. I also have supervised and worked with HR teams and supported them with training, employee relations, and managing work flow so it is as efficient as possible. Lastly, I enjoy and have relavent experience with event management, developing department and devision standards, and implementing new policies and procedures to ensure that faculty, directorate, staff, and their personnel are being provided the highest quality service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project/Program Director
Projects Director (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAFebruary 19, 2013
Infrastructure, Applications, Operations, Network and Desktop Projects Director
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Research assistant (Former Employee), Stanford, CAFebruary 15, 2013
Pros: working with great minds
Cons: compensation
Great place to work for work life balance, not current with salary trend in CA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked part time for off campus private research center
Research Assistant, Team Leader (Former Employee), Off CampusFebruary 14, 2013
Pros: interesting work, being part of ground breaking scientific discoveries in the intrest of mankind.
Cons: part time no benefits, studies end - job ends.
Interesting work, involving human research, behavioral psychology, Management very pleasant and caring of workers and subjects. Co-workers pleasant and hard working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smart employees
Office Administrator (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: keeping up with the latest computer technologies
Cons: educational
Working from 8am to 5pm for last 20 years was a rich experience. I worked with scientists, mechanical engineers and people from all over the world. The hardest part of the job was that the employees were so smart and their educational backgrounds were tops.
Best part of the job was working with the international community of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, friendly environment to work in
Events Manager (Former Employee), Stanford, CAJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: staff friendly, great benefits and compensation, work environment was friendly
Event Mangement: in our group we had a conference Manager and one other Event manager besides myelf. The events were given out by the conference manager and the Event Managers managed the events they were given. We work together as a team to work out any problems. We met once a week to discuss our Event Portfolio and our Event timelines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very high energy atmosphere
Residential & Dining Enterprises, Project Manager (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: respectful work enviroment and professional
Cons: currently a temp worker, would like to be a "full time employee" fte
There are always new challeneges coming your way, working at the University is like no other typical construction projects that you are commonly used to as far in the construction industry.
At first you will hear a lot of "That is not how we do trhis here at Stanford"
This place has a lot of learning curves, protocals, people/contacts to learn, but – more... once you have hurdeled that it is a realy nice place to work at.
Everyone is friendly and compassionate about their duties to where you will feel like you are all on the same page and reaching the same goals, also, everyone here are respectuful and professional which makes for a really enjoyable work place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love Stanford!
eProtocol System Analyst (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAJanuary 1, 2013
Pros: great benefits and educational options
I get the chance to interact with doctors and researchers on a daily basis. The benefits are good, and the job is very stable, however, in my particular position, I don't have any upward mobility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small, up to date pediatric unit
Travel RN (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CADecember 12, 2012
The pediatric unit was small.The diagnoses were varied and interesting. The hardest part of the job was getting back to back admissions and implementing doctor's orders rapidly when this occurred. A typical shift included admissions and discharges, starting IVs, administering meds and treatments, feeding babies and toddlers, and giving support to families. – more... I enjoyed working with my fellow nurses, pediatricians, respiratory therapists, and other staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location, salary, educational benefits and wonderful people
Asst. to the Sr. Assoc. Athletic Dir./SWA (Former Employee), Stanford, CADecember 7, 2012
Pros: great people, students and community.
Cons: long hours during peak season.
Treating people well as an employer results in high productivity and happy staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Counseling students and families on financial aid options.
Senior Financial Aid Counselor (Current Employee), Stanford, CADecember 2, 2012
Busy environment in which multi-tasking is a must. Deal with student and parents in high stress situations where financial options are provided in a confidential and secure environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY SHORT ASSAIGNMENT
Ultrasound Technologist (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CANovember 14, 2012
Pros: beautiful, healthy coffeteria
BIG MEDICAL CENTER IN PALO ALTO , WHERE I HAD SOME GOOD HIGH RISK OB EXPERIENCE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful culture and work ethics
Administrative Associate (Former Employee), Stanford, CANovember 7, 2012
Pros: a well renowned organization
Typihcal day at work invoived supporting 38 HVAC technicians as well as two other shops (as needed). Wondreful group to work for and with. Loved being the vein of the university and being able to provide and assist with servicing the university
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Receptionist (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAOctober 29, 2012
Pros: free lunches, great pay, and benefits
Cons: n/a
I enjoyed working at Stanford University. They took very good care of me while I worked there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace that is always changing.
Event Manager (Current Employee), Stanford, CAOctober 24, 2012
Great place to work. The dynamics of the University is always changing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting experience
Statistical Consultant (Former Employee), Stanford, CAOctober 3, 2012
I am happy to receive a lot of positive feedback from my clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware
worked there (Former Employee), Stanford, CASeptember 20, 2012
Worked there -- poor management in many departments on campus.
Be careful of others taking credit for your hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun place to work
Prep/Line Cook (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CASeptember 19, 2012
Pros: free food, experience
Cons: short breaks
Learned to be a team player and responcibilities,to be suffient ,and many new ways to cook
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviroment
Player Guest Coordinator (Former Employee), Stanford, CASeptember 17, 2012
Pros: the pay, benefits, campus perks, atmosphere
Cons: traffic
Stanford University is a excellent place for employment. The atmosphere alone is energetic and motivating. This employer motivates its employess to reach their potential and beyond by treating their staff with love and respect. The possiblities for advancement are endless once fully employed and even though im employed seasonal its a job I looking forward – more... going to every chance I can. – less

About Stanford University

The Stanford Technology Ventures Program is dedicated to accelerating high-technology entrepreneurship education and creating – Read more

Stanford University Photos