Find companies:
Stanley Steemer Int. Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
147 reviews

Stanley Steemer Int. Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Crew Chief / Carpet (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 21, 2014
Job was fun and liked our customers but not enough pay for the hours you worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive, fun, and productive
CSA Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee), Dublin OHAugust 7, 2014
Pros: fun work place, competitive, and payed well
Cons: short breaks, working every saturday was required
A typical day at Stanley Steemer is fast pased, receiving inbound calls and selling customers products that are practical for them. I learned a lot about customer service skills and how to enhance customer relations. The management was very effective and always engaged with the call centers improvement. My co-workers where always helpful, anytime I – more... needed help on a call they where happy to assist me. The hardest part of the job was taking very similar calls on an everyday basis. The most enjoyable part of the job was the competition, it was incentive based which made it a fun atmosphere – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job was ok
Crew Chief (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 16, 2014
job was ok what keeped me their was the buddies around me pushed me to want to work there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and long days
Crew Chief (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIJuly 3, 2014
Pros: different everyday
Cons: long work hours
clean houses typically 4-6 jobs a day, 10 hours a day. Experience in direct communication with customers. Enjoyable place to work, but long hours and very demanding job during busy parts of the year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great way to meeting people.
Sales, Service Technician and Dispatch (Former Employee), Miami, FLJune 29, 2014
I really have to say that Stanley Steemer jump started my career and experience. It was my very first job in experiencing employment. they gave me an opportunity to build customer service experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boys club
Call Center Supervisor (Former Employee), USAJune 17, 2014
Pros:
* Great work/life balance
* Immediate supervisor is amazing

Cons:
* No advancement
* Left hand never seems to know what the right is doing
* Does not take employee suggestion well
* Major boys club
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Crew Cheif (Current Employee), Aurora, ILJune 17, 2014
We start everyday with a morning meeting. The crew chiefs set up the partners for the day. We get inspected for correct work attire. We then get sent our routes, and start our jobs. Everyday I go to customers houses, and talk to them about our products. My partner and I then work on the order that was scheduled for the home. Then I take the bill, and – more... contact headquarters to let them know we're finished, Then we clean up, and head to the next job! I work very well with fellow employees, and haven't let down my superiors. The hardest part of the job is the never knowing what I'm getting paid, and I never know when I'll be coming back home to my family due to unset hours. The most enjoyable part of the job is when I get add on my truck. (meaning I sell products, and get a decent percentage.) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
office manager
Office Manager /Commercial Sales Representative (Former Employee), York, PAJune 8, 2014
Micro-managed from 200 miles away. There is no trust with this company or proper compensation for a long work week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job, fairly easy work
Crew Chief (Former Employee), Bloomington, INJune 5, 2014
Pros: decent pay, learning experience
Cons: hours, on call
Good company to work for overall. The pay is part commission, part hourly. Pay is what you make it. You learn a lot in working here. Things like professionalism, sales, and leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work if you don't have anything else going on in your everyday life.
Assistant & Crew Chief (Current Employee), UtahJune 4, 2014
Pros: money
Cons: no life
Don't get me wrong this job has helped me a bunch but there are just too many things that are hard to deal with. I learned a good work ethic here but the way this business is run won't exactly make the employees happy. This company is totally geared toward customer service meaning they care all about the customer and the employess are the ones who get – more... crapped on. There aren't any set hours because if someone calls in at 6 PM then the company will go out of its way to secure that customer by getting a crew out there right away. This results in unhappy employees and low quality work. The crew has no option but to go do the job or else suffer the consequences from managment. You start everyday out at 7AM and work until whenever they say you are done. The pay is all commision but many customers do not realize that and expect you to do all these things for them at a discount but if you were to do that then it's basically working for free. Which happens alot especailly at jobs where there is a disatisfied customer. A crew has to go back at their expense and redo most of the job at no charge to the customer. Which is great for them but then the employee isn't getting paid. I think these main reasons are why there is such a high turnover rate in this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place but people with negative intentions
Cleaning Technician (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 25, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: environment
Worked here for about 6 months an the experience was great i just wish the management would worry more about their workers and not have worker boss worker around
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
blah
Crew Chief/Sales (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMay 19, 2014
blah blah blah blah, clean carpet, get watched over and do stupid stuff to prove you work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, very low pay
Carpet Cleaning Technician (Former Employee), Broken Arrow, OKMay 13, 2014
Pros: getting to see a lot of things you normally wouldn't. i.e. landscapes, cities, nice houses, gross houses
Cons: everything
Worked at Stanley Steemer for four years because I had to provide for my family. Lots of promises that never are backed up. Long hours spent driving and you're paid by commission so while you're driving you're not making any money. My checks averaged 500-600 every two weeks and that's with 80+ hours. They set up games to try and inspire people to sell – more... more product but the prizes are things such as 5 dollar gift cards to QuikTrip and 15 dollar gift cards to WalMart after asking you to make them thousands.

Ridiculous place to work for.
Don't waste your time.
Trust me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with lots of travel
Carpet Cleaning Technician (Crew Chief) (Former Employee), Deer Park, NYMay 11, 2014
Pros: meet new people every day, learn something new while i'm at it
Cons: long hours and dirty job
This job isn't for everyone and it isn't the cleanest or the most fun to do. But if you stick with it and learn the craft the interesting co-workers and countless people you meet on a weekly basis more than make up for all the hard work. Let me express again that this is tough work and you will definitely bulk up on all the furniture moving, cleaning – more... and setting up of the trucks throughout your work day. There is money to be had here but keep in mind that it all depends on how much you're willing to sell and how well you work with the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got to meet alot of people.
Carpet Technician (Former Employee), Kingston, WAMay 9, 2014
Pros: meeting new people.
Cons: no longer work there.
Great company I enjoyed this job and it was my first. Lasted 3 years until recession hit and had to be layed off. Meeting new customers daily was the highlight of this job and seeing the reaction of customers when I cleaned their carpet and scheduled for next cleanings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating
Crew Chief Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 24, 2014
Pros: free of manager breathing behind your neck
Cons: exact time of ending shift
prepping the truck for the day, while your partner stood around or showed up at start of shift. Didn't learn much. It was cleaning carpets, so it wasn't hard. Management was ok, they just didn't take into consideration certain opinions. The hardest part was not knowing what type of day you were going to have. One day we can have enough customers for – more... a full check. Other days you went to work, and you weren't on the list to go out. So they waste your time and gas to know if you work or not. The most enjoyable part, was heading home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carpet cleaning at it's best.
Crew Chief (Former Employee), Louisville, KYApril 15, 2014
Pros: drive around and have a sense of freedom and independence.
Cons: did not know when you would be getting off work.
Great service. People truly care about the customer and their home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stanley
Carpet Technician (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 25, 2014
great people to work with keeps you on your feet and ready to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales...sales...sales
Sales Representative/Customer Service (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 25, 2014
meet numbers set forth by manag.................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting New People all the Time
TECHNICIAN/SALESMAN (Former Employee), Riverview, FLMarch 18, 2014
Interacting w. new Customers everyday Problem solving Making the Customer Happy

1 2 3 4 5

About Stanley Steemer Int. Inc.

Stanley Steemer has been cleaning carpets since 1947, the year our founder, Jack A. Bates, invested $2,300 into a home-based carpet – Read more

Stanley Steemer Int. Inc. Photos