Find companies:
Stantec Consulting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
114 reviews

Stantec Consulting Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress for lower than industry pay.
Geologist (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 16, 2013
High stress for lower than industry pay. Management concerned with $ rather than treating employees legally right/fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stantec Intern
Intern (Current Employee), Butler, PAAugust 21, 2013
Pros: some free lunches, friendly employees
I am required to fix errors on drawings using the programs provided such as AutoCADD, Microstation and REVIT. Also, I am required to calculate loads on panels and other power equipment such as generators. I use other programs such as excel in order to adjust panel schedules and other lists to make tasks easier. During my time at this company I have – more... worked with other areas of study such as mechanical, plumbing and architecture. Plotting, scanning and emailing drawings are also part of my job description. Everyone is very helpful when I have questions and are willing to help me understand and learn from them. I enjoy the feeling of designing and helping create buildings that will be used in all aspects of life. The most difficult part of this work is getting multiple tasks given to me at the same time but I also enjoy the pressures and the tasks make the days seem shorter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Project Manager / Senior Project Architect (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 13, 2013
Nice work environment and good pay.
Management is a bit weak.
Difficult to win projects because company required multipliers are so high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field office with no support staff
Environmental Specialist (Current Employee), Canton, OhioAugust 4, 2013
utilization (billable hours) must remain high or you are asked to stay home
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed by a bunch of Bozos
Engineer (Current Employee), Scarborough, MeJune 20, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: job stability rates way too high
Great people to work with before they bought us. Stantec management couldn't put on a one man parade. Felt like I was assimilated by the Borg of Star Trek. They spent more time worrying about advertising tag lines than selling services

November 12, 2014

don't delete this, things have not changed. Can't hire additional resources because pay and benefits suck compared to industry norms

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy going to work
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Laurel, MDJune 18, 2013
I really enjoy working for Stantec (previously Greenhorne & O'Mara). We have a great group of employees here. At the moment we are transitioning over to Stantec and the hardest part is not really knowing what position I will end up in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love this company
Piping Designer (Former Employee), Scarborough, MEJune 13, 2013
Pros: people
a great company to work for. great people, great work. fun and enjoyable place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with traditional care for employee
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Irvine, CAApril 29, 2013
Pros: great benefits and beautiful and caring enviroment
Cons: the company progree depended on the housing market
Very exciting workplace in the Archeology Department. Seeing Artifact for the first time and learning and researching the History. Bidding for projects and setting up in the field Lunching and Safety Meeting outside by current digs. The hardest part was getting out of the office on time. You felt so excited about current projects. Most enjoyable was – more... how the company monthly took care and honored all employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time with Stantec. Would recommend company to friend and have done in the past.
CADD Technician and Designer (Former Employee), Rochester, NYDecember 19, 2012
Stantec is an International firm with more than 10,000 employees and many interesting and challenging projects. The Rochester office has a family type atmosphere, but always works with a professional design firm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work environment
Senior Project Manager (Current Employee), Newark, NJDecember 18, 2012
Pros: new managerial skills
Cons: having to deal with difficult client situations
I've acquired managerial skills in running a team of engineers. I've also learnt how to deal with clients and juggle their needs/requirements. The hardest part is trying to understand and navigate the client's internal systems and get information out/in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Project Manager (Former Employee), Tucson, AZDecember 16, 2012
Typical worday : 7- 5

I oversaw a team of 5 civil designers working on residentiual land devevelopment project for a Masterplanned Commnuniuty
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team concept, encouraged growth
Sr. Project Manager (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 28, 2012
Pros: benefits, cross marketing, diversified work
Cons: poor upper management
Good company to work for. Good benefits. Company encourages cross marketing of skill sets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for starting a career and getting experience
Civil / Structural Technologist (Former Employee), Rochester, NYNovember 10, 2012
Pros: 40 hour work week, clean offices, free beverages
Cons: healthcare, hourly wage
Work could begin at 7:30 pm and could end by 4:30. Employees were very knowledgeable in working skills and would teach skills needed to others to get work done. It was a good learning environment for those just starting a career in design or engineering. Management was professional and involved with project teams over the duration of the project. Co-workers – more... at the same levels were very competitive with each other and formed cliques. Multiple female employees did not follow company dress and were warned multiple times. The company is a Canadian based corporation and healthcare benefits were terrible. At the wage I was making I could not afford my contribution to healthcare and make a car payment at the same time. At Stantec you can have a college degree, but it might not be the right college degree, and if you have the degree it may not be from the right college. Engineers coming in should start with having completed their FE Exam for better pay and treatment. The offices were well maintained and clean. Most enjoyable part of the job was the in house training and product seminars. If you are a coffee drinker, the coffee stations are very nice in many offices. Based on where you are in your career this could be a good place for you or if you are able to handle office cliques and other office issues. It was not the place for me at the time. Lack of a good wage and not being able afford healthcare accompanied by the office cliques and unneeded competition were my main reasons for leaving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, and interesting work but long work hours, extended travel at minimum pay
PROJECT SCIENTIST, WATER RESOURCE DIVISION (Former Employee), Topsham, MEOctober 20, 2012
Pros: good benefits, good work environment
Cons: not much room for advancement
I've worked on several diverse projects in a multitude of settings across the U.S. I had the opportunity to work with a diverse group of people from scientists and engineers to construction worker and government officials. However, there was a lot of travel involved with little room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Instrument Operator (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 7, 2012
hours are available as long as there is not another economic setback
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
DATA ANALYST FOR PIPELINE RESEARCH (Former Employee), Bedford, TexasSeptember 28, 2012
Pros: pay and benefits were great!
Cons: too many bosses!
I worked for them doing pipeline searches and it started off pretty good but then it got to the point where they didn't have any work for me to do as they were waiting to see if they got any more jobs. Guess some would of been satified just getting a paycheck but I got bored playing solataire for 3 wks so I found another job. I felt I was probably fixing – more... to get laid off anyway. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE COMPANY BEWARE!!
Geologist (Former Employee), UniontownSeptember 15, 2012
Pros: paycheck and leaving
Cons: management is awful, women were sexually harassed (it was our fault), hr did nothing about harassment, misguided on projects, backstabbing jerks
Stay away from this company. Management is awful and they are back stabbing!! If you have an issue, believe me, the entire company will know about it. The office I worked in allowed harassment. HR did NOTHING about it. Oh wait, they did....all the women were laid off except one who was blackmailing one of the managers in another office.

The company – more... will work you to the bone, and then tell you that there isn't enough money to pay you for the work you did.

STAY AWAY – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Survey Cad Technician (Former Employee), Denver, Co.August 23, 2012
The work day was good and challenging. Also learned new drafting software and gained some great experience. Enjoyed working next to my co-workers and bosses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company culture changed after being sold.
Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee), Duluth, GAJuly 24, 2012
Pros: learned what i no longer was interested in doing career wise.
Cons: too much workload expected by one individual.
This company was a blessing and a curse at the same time. Overall it was a very stressful and demanding work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have eyes on the back of your head
former employee (Current Employee), sarasota, FloridaJuly 10, 2012
Cons: above
If you dont drive a BMW, a MINI, a MERCEDES....etc you don't have the right to have an opinion unless you are an engineer. People that do the real work get stepped on. The non workers that only talk get ahead for some reason? If your nose is not up in the air like the rest you will be let-go. Stantec seems to dislike millitary vets.

About Stantec Consulting

Stantec knows you don't become one of the top global design firms by standing around. Through more than 150 locations in North – Read more