Find companies:
Staples
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,467 reviews

Staples Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place To Work
Easy Tech Associate (Former Employee), Harrison, OHSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: it's a job
Cons: management, lack of training, understaffed
Staples is a terrible place to work, especially for a tech sales associate. I was expected to do everyone else's job and then got reprimanded for not meeting sales goals. I don't know how other locations operate, but Harrison, OH store has ridiculously inept management. If you're not in their little clique and don't hang out with them and play World – more... of Warcraft, they treat you like dirt. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day behind the Copy Center counter
Copy Center Associate (Current Employee), TexasSeptember 1, 2014
Clock in and assist customers desires, putting in all orders through the Solution Builder then providing them what they need done.

Learn how to run, fix, and changes most machines. ( copiers, fax machine, laminater, cutting machines, etc.)

Worked in a great friendly environment.

Hardest part was learning to fix machines on my own and best part was – more... making sure customers were pleased with their orders. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same thing different day.
Tech associate (Current Employee), Wilmington, DESeptember 1, 2014
Pros: none.
Cons: no health care, pay isn't great, system is bad, management.
A typical day at work would be coming in to see nothing has been done while i'm not there and then assessing all the statuses of the customers computers at where still in store. I'd then run an audit for the whole tech bench to make sure everything is accounted for and then begin working on the computers at hand. I actually have learned quite a bit – more... from this job from other associate who knew more then i and then from just personal experience with computers. Management is very rude and not caring of your well being and more worried about making money then selling the customer the correct product. Their mindsets i found not in the right place when it came to the customer they simply wanted the sale, and not to help them. The hardest part of the job was the deal with the management and other employees. The most enjoyable part of the job was help the customers and a polite way to find the right product and have them happy in the long run i made sure they were comfortable with what they were getting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice overall place to work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 1, 2014
nice overall place to work...a few changes are needed to overall make the job the true "perfect" place to work..2nd shift is the hardest shift to work for due to the long hours and start and end time of the shift that kinda makes it hard to have a social life outside of the job. i give it a overall 4 out of 5 stars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staples
PART-TIME ASSISTANT TO THE DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 31, 2014
STAPLES IS A GREAT PLACE TO LEARN INTERPERSONAL AND CUSTOMER SERVICE SKILLS. IT IS A VERY FAST PACED ENVIRONMENT AND TEACHES ONE TO MULTITASK EFFICIENTLY.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work team, bad management
Mobile Tech Associate (Former Employee), Tampa FLAugust 31, 2014
Pros: provided a break, training was sufficient. solving complex computer problems was fun.
Cons: really bad management. managers had distorted expectations.
Provided great customer service, ensuring all customer needs were met on time. Used creative solutions to resolve issues with customer's technology. Most difficult part of the job was the amount of tasks distributed. You were expected to be the inventory team, the computer technician, sales associate for practically all departments, and a cashier. The – more... duties were numerous and the store was severely understaffed. You were always pulled away from the task at hand. The most enjoyable aspect of this job was the process of solving sometimes complicated computer problems. It would have been a great learning experience for beginners in information technology. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviornment
Copy and Print Supervisor (Current Employee), Centennial, COAugust 31, 2014
Staples is great as long as you love customer service. I tend to love it and marketing because in the copy center that is what we are all about. I love working one on one with potential life long customers and developing lasting relationships with them and my team. Working in the office industry means that you run into all kinds of people. Managers, – more... CEO's, and etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasant and organised working environment
Easy Tech Associate (Former Employee), Rochester, NYAugust 30, 2014
Pros: breaks, good expirance
Cons: low wage
i was a sales associate so i would sell customers technology like computers, cell phones, tablets, and printers as well as services like computer repair. the management was all ways very helpful and respectful. the co-workers always made it a very nice workday, most of which became personal friends and always helped if the managers were not available. – more... i loved being able to help customers and got to learn about fixing computers which i have always wanted to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last resort... Well, maybe.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), 10251 NE Cascades PKWY Portland, OR 97220August 29, 2014
Pros: team work, clean environment
Cons: management, poorly trained employees
A typical day at Staples was good at first, but after a while i resented coming to work. I took a minute to figure stuff out because I was not properly trained and my manager blamed that on me. I learned a lot about people, customer service and how to be a better retail employee. The management there was awful. When I first met him he was polite and – more... professional. After a few weeks it was easy to tell he was actually a bully and although his first impression was good, he was someone who took his bitterness out on everybody else. I asked for a day off of work and for three weeks straight I got 8 hours a week. My co-workers for the most part were awesome. Helpful, polite and understanding. One in particular was flat out rude, but there is always one in the bunch. The hardest part of the job is when the manager was in a "bad" mood because that made everyone else's job that much harder. The most enjoyable was being able to assist customers and work in a place where your co-workers made it a fun environment to work in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you had asked me to write this two years ago...
Certified Technician (Current Employee), Port Charlotte, FLAugust 28, 2014
I loved Staples when I first started there two years ago. Unfortunately management and the corporate culture changed. They have done away with full time positions below supervisor and manager, and good luck getting one of those positions. There are people in my store who have been there for 10+ years just moving into management. This job is sale, sale, – more... sale. Forget customer satisfaction and actually doing what you were hired for, just get out there and make your numbers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, got along with all coworkers.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Farmington, NMAugust 28, 2014
Great experience working at Staples just under lazy management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A struggling market with increased expectations on the bottom line.
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Beloit, WIAugust 27, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: poor budget forecasting by not accounting for change management involved in new projects.
People were great, making delivery deadlines on a consistent basis while overall maintaining a great attitude in an ever changing environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Copy and Print Center Associate (Former Employee), Hollister, CAAugust 27, 2014
Staples employees have a great work ethic and are very helpful to customers, they pride themselves in using their training daily to create the best work environment possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever
General Manager (Former Employee), North Richland Hills, TXAugust 27, 2014
Pros: really big on education and training
Cons: laid off due to downsizing
Terrific Staff...First Retail Management Job...Great Customers...Structured Enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and career advancement
Sales and Services Manager (Former Employee), piscataway, NJAugust 26, 2014
Pros: benefits, career advancment, recognition
Cons: no help, hard to balance work and school
fast paced environment with not a lot of help... They offer benefits for full time employees... They also recognize employees within and internally promote rather then looking for outsiders. People are usually great to work with...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A New Opportunity
National Account Manager (Former Employee), Framingham, MAAugust 26, 2014
Time for a new opportunity using my diverse skill set. After seven years and several roles the opportunity to drive change and create profit through my experience became limited.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), West Orange, NJAugust 26, 2014
Cons: paid really bad
this is a place for younger people to work , not for adult who have bills , because the pay is so bad
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good natured place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Provo, UTAugust 25, 2014
Pros: simple tasks
Cons: low wages, minimum hours
Staples started out good but then they cut hours and changed benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good needs to revise some of its work plans and pay more.
Sales Associate, Cashier, and Freight handler (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: whole foods was right next door.
Cons: did now give enough hours to support a bill based life.
good job for a teen wage wise.but great on teaching inventory counting ,freight unloading as well as sorting and restocking using item numbers to make for a well organized in store warehouse. the hardest part of the job was balancing the register with other peoples lunch breaks. My Co workers were awesome and ready to assist where it was needed an i – more... think they were a great part of the experince working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Retail Environment
MANAGER (Current Employee), 06791August 24, 2014
Staples is showing its age, and growing pains of a company trying to catch up to the modern retail environment.

About Staples

There’s a whole lot more to Staples than you probably ever imagined. As the world’s 3rd largest internet retailer – Read more