Find companies:
Star Career Academy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Star Career Academy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Director of Financial Aid (Current Employee), Audubon, PAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: i am learning
Cons: n/a
I am learning a great deal by being here!
My co-workers are great!
I enjoy every part of my job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Location
Admissions Coordinator (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 25, 2014
Pros: great location
Cons: no advancement
I enjoyed my time at Star, it became a little High School at times. But overall, I did my work and clocked out on time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help students with trainging for their career choice
Admissions Coordinator (Current Employee), Newark, NJJune 20, 2014
Pros: learning environment
Cons: short breaks
key holder
enroll students
high call volume
student service
gate keeper
orientation packaging
filing , faxing, scanning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no loyalty
maintanence (Former Employee), syosset ny 11791April 29, 2014
Cons: will fire you with no hesitation
I was employed at the star career academy for 8 yrs.due to an work related accident I was forced to go out on workmans comp,51 days later while getting ready to undergo one of many surgeries I need due to these injuries the school director called me and informed me my services were no longer needed and I was being terminated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work-you set up your own hours.
Surgical Technician Instructor/ Department Chair (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: good benifits
We help students gain the knowlege needed to have a successful career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place to work
Director of Financial Aid (Former Employee), PhiladelphiaDecember 11, 2013
Cons: everything you can possibly think of
Ever since so called new management took over, this school has been going down hill. The moral is no longer there. There's no respect and no loyalty to the employees.
The Philadelphia campus is ran by the worst CP ever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor communication, very unprofessional management
Lead Baking & Pastry Chef Instructor (Current Employee), philadelphia, paNovember 12, 2013
Cons: constantly changing policys and procedures
huge mistake working here
very unprofessional
constant changing of policy and procedures with out training or notice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot .
Administrative Assistant Intern (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYOctober 6, 2013
I did my Internship, at Star Career Academy for 4 months, and loved ever day of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
school
Dialysis Technician Training (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 28, 2013
Cons: horrible everything
i wouldn't recommend anyone to attend this school. everything they said that they would do they did not comply with anything they promised. I had a very bad experience i will not attend this school again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Admission Rep/S.S./T.A. (Former Employee), Clifton NJSeptember 17, 2013
Pros: company growth
Cons: no breaks, no lunches and vacation time refused
Hear about the ADOA tell me about her personal life
Self management
Is driven by what is said and not productivity (loves gossip)
With exception of a few, co-workers are great to be around, helpful
Not being able to work bcause the ADOA wanted to talk about her pesonal life and say we where in a meeting.
The students and the help I was able to provide – more... them with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work Day
Executive Secretary/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Township of Brick, NJSeptember 17, 2013
Audited Records
Database Management, Excel, Access, CampusVue
Delegation follow-up
Expense Reporting
Federal Express, UPS, and certified mail
Monitored and Maintained Front Desk Office Procedures
Ordered supplies, greeted clients, and assisted students and instructors with miscellaneous needs
Organized filing system
Prepared Timesheets, Audited Lost – more... Time Records, Prepared purchase orders
Prepared State agencies and corporate reports
Print progress reports, diplomas and final transcripts
Met all deadlines for submitting confidential daily, weekly, monthly and quarterly reports
Scheduled and confirmed appointments
Sorted mail, shredded of sensitive documents

Seeing clients succeed at chosen field of study, enjoyable part of day – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Firing everyone and cutting hours
Manager (Former Employee), Clifton/NewarkSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: nice tv commercials
Cons: old programs without good job opportunities. terrible management.
Interesting to see all these planted good reviews...
They are not true at all and are all a marketing scheme to cover for the poor management implemented at Star.
Just walk in to a campus and see for yourself!

Employees are embrassed to work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making Career dreams come true ~
Current Employee (Current Employee), Clifton, NJSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: location and commute
Cons: advancement opportunities
Successfully work within a team-oriented, scripted environment to conduct phone and or face-to-face interviews and select potential students from an initial intake phone interview through enrollment and registration. Meet and exceed daily, weekly, monthly, session and annual target goals for enrollment and completion of students as determined by Star – more... .
Our locations is a satellite school of Newark.
Most enjoyable part is recommending students for enrollment.
Hardest part is not being recognized and appreciated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Instructor for Medical Assistant and CT (Current Employee), Clifton, NJAugust 29, 2013
Pros: comfortable, working more than tree years.
Cons: commute, drive 26 miles onway.
Company is good. They just change the corporate. I moved from Bloomfield NJ to Edison NJ last year. I have to drive about 26 miles on way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An orgainized and efficient way of learning
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Egg Harbor Township, NJJuly 30, 2013
A typical day consists of dealing with the administrative aspect during the first half of the day. During this time the students learn about relevant real world medical assistant duties such as filing, scheduling patients, processing insurance claims, as well as learning the anatomy and physiology of the human body.

The second half of the day, after – more... lunch, the students then begin to perform the clinical aspects of the office. In the beginning of the course the students learn to properly take vitals as well as record them in a precise, orgainized manner. As the students progress in their knowlege they move on the Phlebotomy and eventually learn how to administer injections, perform EKG's, obtain sugar levels and fill capillary tubes through dermal punctures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience at Star
Instructor (Former Employee), Norristown, PAJuly 24, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: unorganized, lack of communication, in consistency in hours of employment
Star Career Academy is a vocational school that offers several vocations. The campus that I worked at is very spacious and modern. However, Star seems to be having a strong problem with student retention. Because the cosmetology program is fairly new, upper management seems to be in the formative stages of how to teach, what to teach and when to teach – more... it. There is inconsistency within upper management which does not help the faculty in carrying out the duties of teaching. Because the student enrollment and retention is so low job security is not a true option at Star. The key to having a thriving cosmetology program at Star is that they must revamp the curriculum so that it is a continuous flow. If they do this there enrollment will increase and job security would increase. Another problem that I encountered at Star is the inability to adequately supply the clinic area and the classroom areas with the supplies needed to perform practical procedures required by the state to train the students. Many times teachers, myself included purchased supplies so that a lesson could be taught. Star Career Academy could really excel if they would make some major operational changes to the educational process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fund raiser days/Months
Admission Representative/Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee), Clifton NJJune 8, 2013
Typical work day-Handle all incoming calls (leads) to recuite new students for upcoming classes. What have I learned-Being with Star I have learned many new skills in which will assist me in my medical field. Management- In the department I am currently in I pretty much manage myself. CO-Workers- are great very helpful. Hardest part of the job- Keeping – more... up with the numbers to fill in the classes and changes that come along with this or any other career. Most enjoyable-The most enjoyable part of the job is making a difference in a students life knowing they are starting on the right path for a career. Involoving them in fund raiser to engage with the community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alot of information
Dialysis technican/patient care (Former Employee), Syosset, NYMarch 5, 2013
Even though star career is a school for culinary and medical (dialysis tech) . It helps you get prepared for a career that you would enjoy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Security Officer Loss Prevention, Lodging Property (Current Employee), Manhattan, NYMarch 1, 2013
Pros: great management.
Cons: no benfits, no 401k, not a career job.
I would start off by saying I learned a lot! I learned more then I though I would of. I learned about and how to do OSHA form Injury, illness, and incident report's. I learned more about Protection of assets, dealt with cash, merchandise, etc. The hardest part? I enjoy what I do, I make the best of what I have. The management part from when I walked – more... in I was shadow, but when my supervisor gain trust and seen what I was capable of I pretty much ran the show. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being able to see how for profits schools work...Admissions for most part are the caring soul of this school
Admissions (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 5, 2013
I had the pleasure of lasting over 6 years at this institution. Saw it grow from 120 students to over 700. What kept me getting up every morning to go to work was the over all pleasure to help the students. That is NOT what the mentality in for profit schools is but THE ADMISSIONS DEPARTMENT (most of them anyway...but you'll always see a riff raff in – more... a suit here and there) will always help you if you are right for the program in mind. There are always budgets, but the main idea its to help people change their lives. Career Academy did always go out their way to help students reach their goals. But it always starts and finishes with ADMISSIONS. Keep up the good work. – less

June 5, 2014

Follow up...I see that when one door closes another one opens; I was terminated at the right time for the wrong reasons. But SCA is not the pro-employee, prostudent school it once was. Its about filling that classroom no matter what corner gets cut to make it happen. Boy oh boy...run far and run quick...STAR is not a shinning Star but a falling Star.

About Star Career Academy

Star Career Academy provides interactive training in a work related environment to best prepare you for your career. Our teachers – Read more