Find companies:
Star Career Academy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

Star Career Academy United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational environment
School of Medical Assisting (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 31, 2015
An okay place to work. Not so good job security. Room for advancement depends on your current position, No room for advancement for health instructors. No benefits .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Externship Coordinator/ST Instructor (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYJanuary 27, 2015
Pros: met nice people
Cons: n/a
This company had zero sense of loyalty and appreciation for hard work and dedication. Its only focus was making the numbers, the one good thing about this company was the few colleagues I was able meet due to being employed there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
MEDICAL ASSISTANT INSTRUCTOR (Current Employee), freeholdJanuary 11, 2015
Busy place
keeps you on your toes
always something to do
work 10 hour days 3 days off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AMAZING place to work
Lab Assistant (Current Employee), Audubon, PADecember 10, 2014
It was a lot of fun and intense, everyone was so full of energy and fast paced! I have learned so much with them and i would recommend working for them any day! There was never a time where you felt ashamed to ask how to do something. Everyone was there to help one another and support them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Corporate Admissions Manager (Former Employee), Berlin, NJOctober 29, 2014
great place to work.. management and staff great- good culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
work study student (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 20, 2014
Pros: free uniforms
Cons: short breaks
Star Career Academy is a very good school. I love it because its hands on and its a foundation for me now and where i want to be in the near future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Director of Financial Aid (Current Employee), Audubon, PAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: i am learning
Cons: n/a
I am learning a great deal by being here!
My co-workers are great!
I enjoy every part of my job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Location
Admissions Coordinator (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 25, 2014
Pros: great location
Cons: no advancement
I enjoyed my time at Star, it became a little High School at times. But overall, I did my work and clocked out on time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help students with trainging for their career choice
Admissions Coordinator (Current Employee), Newark, NJJune 20, 2014
Pros: learning environment
Cons: short breaks
key holder
enroll students
high call volume
student service
gate keeper
orientation packaging
filing , faxing, scanning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no loyalty
maintanence (Former Employee), syosset ny 11791April 29, 2014
Cons: will fire you with no hesitation
I was employed at the star career academy for 8 yrs.due to an work related accident I was forced to go out on workmans comp,51 days later while getting ready to undergo one of many surgeries I need due to these injuries the school director called me and informed me my services were no longer needed and I was being terminated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work-you set up your own hours.
Surgical Technician Instructor/ Department Chair (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: good benifits
We help students gain the knowlege needed to have a successful career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place to work
Director of Financial Aid (Former Employee), PhiladelphiaDecember 11, 2013
Cons: everything you can possibly think of
Ever since so called new management took over, this school has been going down hill. The moral is no longer there. There's no respect and no loyalty to the employees.
The Philadelphia campus is ran by the worst CP ever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor communication, very unprofessional management
Lead Baking & Pastry Chef Instructor (Current Employee), philadelphia, paNovember 12, 2013
Cons: constantly changing policys and procedures
huge mistake working here
very unprofessional
constant changing of policy and procedures with out training or notice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot .
Administrative Assistant Intern (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYOctober 6, 2013
I did my Internship, at Star Career Academy for 4 months, and loved ever day of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
school
Dialysis Technician Training (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 28, 2013
Cons: horrible everything
i wouldn't recommend anyone to attend this school. everything they said that they would do they did not comply with anything they promised. I had a very bad experience i will not attend this school again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Admission Rep/S.S./T.A. (Former Employee), Clifton NJSeptember 17, 2013
Pros: company growth
Cons: no breaks, no lunches and vacation time refused
Hear about the ADOA tell me about her personal life
Self management
Is driven by what is said and not productivity (loves gossip)
With exception of a few, co-workers are great to be around, helpful
Not being able to work bcause the ADOA wanted to talk about her pesonal life and say we where in a meeting.
The students and the help I was able to provide them with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work Day
Executive Secretary/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Township of Brick, NJSeptember 17, 2013
Audited Records
Database Management, Excel, Access, CampusVue
Delegation follow-up
Expense Reporting
Federal Express, UPS, and certified mail
Monitored and Maintained Front Desk Office Procedures
Ordered supplies, greeted clients, and assisted students and instructors with miscellaneous needs
Organized filing system
Prepared Timesheets, Audited Lost Time Records, Prepared purchase orders
Prepared State agencies and corporate reports
Print progress reports, diplomas and final transcripts
Met all deadlines for submitting confidential daily, weekly, monthly and quarterly reports
Scheduled and confirmed appointments
Sorted mail, shredded of sensitive documents

Seeing clients succeed at chosen field of study, enjoyable part of day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Firing everyone and cutting hours
Manager (Former Employee), Clifton/NewarkSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: nice tv commercials
Cons: old programs without good job opportunities. terrible management.
Interesting to see all these planted good reviews...
They are not true at all and are all a marketing scheme to cover for the poor management implemented at Star.
Just walk in to a campus and see for yourself!

Employees are embrassed to work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making Career dreams come true ~
Current Employee (Current Employee), Clifton, NJSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: location and commute
Cons: advancement opportunities
Successfully work within a team-oriented, scripted environment to conduct phone and or face-to-face interviews and select potential students from an initial intake phone interview through enrollment and registration. Meet and exceed daily, weekly, monthly, session and annual target goals for enrollment and completion of students as determined by Star .
Our locations is a satellite school of Newark.
Most enjoyable part is recommending students for enrollment.
Hardest part is not being recognized and appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Instructor for Medical Assistant and CT (Current Employee), Clifton, NJAugust 29, 2013
Pros: comfortable, working more than tree years.
Cons: commute, drive 26 miles onway.
Company is good. They just change the corporate. I moved from Bloomfield NJ to Edison NJ last year. I have to drive about 26 miles on way.

About Star Career Academy

Star Career Academy provides interactive training in a work related environment to best prepare you for your career. Our teachers – Read more

Star Career Academy Salaries

Assistant Instructor
$41,000 per year