STAR CONSTRUCTION Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It wasn't for me.
Operator (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYAugust 29, 2017
With right supervisors was not so much chaos, actually good. With other sups I found it discouraging. You would get promised extra wages and wouldn't see it. Get sent to do a job with inadequate tool source.
Pros
There was a job/work
Cons
not paid wages promised
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will not let woman Advance
Office Manager/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pelham, ALAugust 10, 2017
I enjoyed my job at Star, but if you are a female, you will never be anything other than what they consider a grunt, unless you choose to sleep your way to the top.I was a woman more qualified than most men, but couldn't promote due to the fact that I was Female. I was even told I could look for a job at other places, that Star did not allow females to hold supervisor position by the vice president.
Pros
Nonw
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
operator
Operator Mini Backhoe (Current Employee) –  Montgomery, ALAugust 2, 2017
backhoe, pole digging, cable drop line, ground cut cement grinding, transmitters platforming, and slet layout to various jobs, transformor communications
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Star i great place to work looking for something like it so i will love my job
Laborer (Former Employee) –  AlabamaJuly 9, 2017
My review of star construction would be but I miss it there was a good place to work yet friendly people coworkers I got to work alongside AT&T people they were great I've learned many skills job set leadership and to do what needs to be done without any complications enjoyed working longer hours because it really wasn't light work it was more like something I'd want to do for the rest of my life but under the circumstances there was a bid on the AT&T contract and we missed it and so a new company come in took over I was not one of the ones who stayed some did stay in a majorly quit that group was called the danella I won't say anything bad about them cuz there was anything to say that they didn't show in person with mistreating new employees and talking down to them but other than that they bring you equipment in new trucks and I am a telecom worker
Pros
I loved it
Cons
That they lost the contract of AT&T
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and stressful place
Knox/Chatt Field Clerk (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNJuly 8, 2017
50-57 hours a week because of the turn over and demands. Can not leave for the day without permission. Can't complete one task without being interrupted to take on another task.
Pros
relaxed dress code
Cons
overworked, stressful environment, employee morale is low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work
Master Contractor Locate Technician (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 23, 2017
good people to work with as far as the labors and foreman's go. they trusted my marks and would call me with any questions and the where times where they would ask for help doing some jobs that needed a locator as well as i would need there help at times, we tried to look out for each other because with this job there was no such thing as job security. Management was pretty good i got along with the supervisors, Hardest part of the job i would say was trying to find where random contractors hit fiber lines due to the fact that most lines AT&T puts in these days are 9 fiber (unlocatable) with out tracer wires.The best part of the job for me i would say was that i was the bottom of the ladder i had more responsibility and i loved it. With that i learned more about utility installations and the one-call system. My typical day would be arrive at the office around 6 a.m. and start putting my jobs and ticket number into the system get the new jobs for the day go out and get the job put on the One call system and mark the AT&T and head to the next one
Pros
Pay
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is absolutely nothing good about this company, it was a HORRIBLE place to work!
Aerial Lineman (Former Employee) –  Spokane, MOJune 19, 2017
Don't let Aerial supervisor lie to you, you're promised decent pay, then they lower it after a month, you're promised 4/10's, that never happens, you're promised never going out of town, I was out of town every week for the first 6 months I worked there, they try and call you out every weekend, then write you up for not going on a call out, even when you had requested and been granted days off. Was told this place will always come before my friends and family, and that it was my life, and that I would adhere to my supervisor when ever he called! It was a horrible experience, and I wouldn't suggest someone I hate working there! being 31 years old making minimum wage, working weekends at McDonalds would have been a better experience!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Builder worker (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 1, 2017
Great company to work for. Wish they could win more bids. I have worked for them several years and hope to continue when work picks up.
Pros
Good people to work for
Cons
Work has been slow, difficult to stay busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TeamWork was a valuable Custom
Inventory Control Manager (Former Employee) –  Monroe, LAJanuary 23, 2017
Daily activities included ordering equipment, materials and inventory for Telecommunication crews. Input of issues and transfers of inventory products. Managing the Solomon system and keeping a detail account of all shipments. Maintaining a balance of par levels at all locations in the State,
Pros
Salaried Employee, Safety Consultant and Managing
Cons
Salaried Employee, Holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sometimes there not good to work for to mutch rushing to get the job done .
Pole Truck Operator (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYJanuary 10, 2017
I do not wish to say good or bad about them I am just wanting to find another job. they are ok I guess . they have a two hour window to get to broke pole jobs , some times that isn't enough , they rush you and don't care if its safe or not .
Pros
different work ever day i like a challeng
Cons
not getting paid for holidays and being off on them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love all my jobs
Construction Assistant (Former Employee) –  Decatur GeorgiaJanuary 4, 2017
In charge of training maintenance and relationship. Job requirements include opening and closing restaurants. Party promotions event planning basically trying to excel in everything I do
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place is a joke
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYDecember 7, 2016
This use to be a ok place to work. Then some of the management left and the new management is a joke. People with no experience got picked to do jobs over people with experience. All depended on who the favorites was. New management didn't think you should have time at home with your family, I could go on for days.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Lead Man (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXNovember 29, 2016
Good environment to work at,a lot of travel,learns more about machine and construction .there's not much to say about the company
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Trouble with pay checks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No good
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Scott, LANovember 23, 2016
Great place to make good money just don't have there stuff together very very very poor management and the supervisor does not know what's is going on in the field the guys in the field know more then the office great money and benefits just very very very poor management from the Scott yard all the way to dycom witch who is own by star
Pros
Great money
Cons
Very very poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company and upper management!
AREA MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYOctober 13, 2016
I worked here for about 2 years and will gladly say it was the best job I ever had! Amazing advancement opportunities, support staff, and corporate office. Unfortunately for me it did not work out for me to stay, but anyone who has or does work here that have given it there all, I think, would agree that this is a great place to work and a company someone should be proud to work for! Thanks.
Pros
Staff and industry
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company To Work For!
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNMay 24, 2016
I would have never left Star Co. but i moved to Phoenix AZ, and unfortunatly had to quite. i had a great work schedule and supervisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work for
Underground Cable Installer (Former Employee) –  Muscle Shoals, ALFebruary 18, 2016
Great co-workers who stresses safety and proper ppe useage. Management could be better trained on organzational stucture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Gray Court, SCFebruary 3, 2016
Assisting in placing cable and fiber optic lines. Prepared and Repaired shoulders in the road. Also the operation of a chainsaw.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horribly understaffed and dangerous mentality in regards to there people.
Safety Administrator (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNApril 24, 2015
This organization is in need of a complete restructuring. They do not value those in the staff that provide for the company and cater to those in the company that are self centered and have alternate agendas. This company is 100% owned by its parent company Dycom Inc. that has no regard for the people of this organization. It is easy to see after working here only a few weeks that there is tension between the to institutions that if not resolved will cause the companies demise. Fair warning do not get a job her as it will be a waste of your time and you will not gain anything from the experience.
Pros
The office staff and field personnel
Cons
The management feel they own you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job until the weather is bad
o Laborer (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNMarch 9, 2015
Worked with heavy equipment. Boss never around. Worked out of state every day, home on weekends. Learned how to operate heavy equipment.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at STAR CONSTRUCTION. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
3.1