Find companies:
Star Furniture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

Star Furniture Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an interesting experience
Lead Delivery Assembler Associate (Former Employee), Bronx, NYMay 20, 2014
I loved the job since day 1 sadly I had to stop working there because of school work and because I love hate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful environment with amazing people. An amazing product is easy to sell.
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Sugar Land, TXMay 1, 2014
Pros: free lunches for mandatory scheduling, special events (like christmas and cinco de mayo) are fun, house calls with licensed designers, special orders when we create unique pieces of furniture, bonuses for certain types of sales quotas, personal discounts on our own furniture.
Cons: we work all weekend, every weekend. once a month, i attend a mandatory sales meeting 30 miles away at 8 am on my day off.
This is an incredible work environment. My colleagues and management are kind, supportive, and always available with help and knowledge about the products and industry. We work together very well. The furniture is beautiful and competitively priced. I always feel good at the end of the day when I've sold these products to my customers. We sell furniture – more... in the good/better/best range and our customer service from sale to delivery to resolution of complaints is beyond any company I've ever worked for. The scheduling is tough. I can only stick with the hard schedule because I love this job so much. I love my colleagues, my management, my customers, my products-- and truly, I love the job of sales. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful job
Sales and Delivery (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 14, 2014
not a good company to work for. bad culture, heavy lifting, unfair work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great wearhouse job
Warehouse Specialist (Former Employee), Katy, TXFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: back breaking labor
good pay just long work day
management was good
got Sundays and Mondays off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Lead Driver (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: bonuses and stability
Cons: layoff
Great Day
All of my driving experience
Management was great, gained a lot of friendships
Layoff
People
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with summer cookouts and workplace lunchtime kithcen
Delivery Driver/Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Anmoore, WVJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: good work enviroment
Cons: sometimes have to work really long hours due to customers.
Drove stock picker/fork truck to get furniture, checked and rewrapped all furniture. Delivered and set up all furniture to customer specifications the next day.I learned many life lessons and workplace know how from this job and consider it a great place.Management are overall good and fair.Some of the best 'help whenever possible" coworkers when i – more... was there.Some of the furniture was really heavy or/and awkward as well as some of the houses/businesses.I liked just about everything about this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Furniture with a company that feels like family!
Office Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 29, 2013
Pros: working with friends
Cons: paying for healthcare
Walk in the front door to problem, that I can only fix. Creative solutions to resolve issues (Thinking out on the box!). Managing both sales team and office staffs of two different location. Keeping salesperson motivated to achieve their sales goals. Helping offices associates creative solution to help upset customer with-in the guilt line of the company – more... policies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Manager
Office Manager (Former Employee), West Union, WVOctober 17, 2013
I would get the mail sort it out and then start putting the information in the computer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collections via phone -Scheduling repossessons and skip tracing
Accounts Specialist (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 8, 2013
Pros: learning more on skip tracing through different programs
Cons: compensation
Got better opportunity with another company-but did enjoy my time with company, got discounts on merchandise
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 4, 2013
Days at work never lag and we are always "on the move". Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
star
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), katy texasAugust 16, 2013
Pros: customers co workers
Cons: hours
star was a great place to work..enjoyed working with co workers and meeting differnt people..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Work
Office Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 22, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: long crazy hours
Sound company to work for, but a horrible benefits and surely a dead end job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place as a beginning supervisor with excellent work life balance
WAREHOUSE SHIPPING MANAGER (Former Employee), Katy TexasJune 17, 2013
Pros: 45 hour work week
Cons: no opportunity to grow
The entire staff at Star Furniture is very tenured which presents challenges for promotion opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My thoughts of Star Furniture
SALES CONSULTANT (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 17, 2013
Pros: slow pace
Cons: home life suffers
Standing at the front of the store, you would engage clients as the come into the store and find out their needs. I would them show them a few choices based on thier needs and give product presentations for the clients. I would continue to talk to clients and ask for the sale, where I would finalize all transactions. Continual follow-up is the key to – more... future success. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no life, extended work hours, often times nonprofitable, incompassionate to sales
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 15, 2013
Pros: environment, creating a home or lifestlye
Cons: no interpersonal relationship skills in some areas
I've loved all my workplaces, esp. with AIG, you can help clients achieve their financial goals. But there comes a time when employee human relationships value for the benefits of performance. Lee Iacocca "PEOPLE,PRODUCTS, and PROFITS", are what matters in bussiness
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deliveries
Delivery/Driver (Current Employee), Elizabeth, NJApril 22, 2013
Cons: no healtcare and very long hours.
On a typical day at Star Furniture the work day begins at 9:00am and ends at 7:00pm on Monday through Saturday. At this employment I have learned how to professionally deliver and assemble furniture to customers. I have also assisted in service calls for repairs on damaged or broken furniture. Management was fair and reasonable. My coworkers were easy – more... going and very helpful in teaching me the ins and outs. The hardest part about my job is carrying heavy furniture. The most enjoyable part of my job is being outdoors and working with others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment.
Unloader/Loader (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 16, 2013
I was able to get hands on experience with building furniture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You meet interesting people.
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 21, 2013
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: pay is not consistant and hours are long
This company advertise one thing for pay opportunity and it is not what it seems....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The employees and management were like family.
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXDecember 21, 2012
Pros: great hours, great perks for good sales months.
Cons: nothing really.
Greet customers and provide information on product they were in search of. Learned alot about furniture and how it was made, and the different grades of quality. management was always availaible and every one, even mgrs were on a first name basis. Coworkers very helpful at all times, the hardest part of the job was the new products and the product knowledge – more... associated. The most enjoyable part of the job was the family atmosphere of the store, very comfortable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE FUN PLACE TO WORK
Customer service & collections on furniture loans (Former Employee), 16666 BARKER SPRINGS RD HOUSTON TX 77084October 10, 2012
Pros: bonus every month per quotas
Cons: n/a
VERY NICE JOB FOR BEGINNERS & ALL AS I STARTED MY COLLECTIONS CAREER WITH THIS COMPANY & LIKE IT VERY MUCH BECAUSE OF GREAT BENEFITS IN RETURN