STAR TRIBUNE Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 25 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sorry but nothing good about that job
Machine operator (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMay 27, 2016
i'm trying my best do not say anything bad , but those people don't respect your breaks, and they don't care about your life outside work, it's a part time job, and they will always force you to stay even if your shift end, and if you refuse you will be the bad guy .
Pros
free lunches durning the holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNNovember 22, 2015
for a every other week job this job is pretty handy and nice when it comes to quick money and the employees are nice to work with.
Pros
giving people
Cons
early morning
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work hard
Custodian/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMay 19, 2015
With increased production you need to be able to work hard and work continuously. If you just do what you're assigned, pay attention, and aren't you will do just fine.
Pros
Pay, work experience
Cons
Hours per week
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for.
Human Resources Director (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN 55488May 5, 2015
Excellent Company to work for; great teamwork environment and commitment to the mission. Now located in a new building with very modern furniture, access to skyway, and up-to-date technology.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed a short work time each day and beautiful sunrises.
Newspaper Delivery (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNMarch 4, 2015
Time management was always the order of the day. I learned to make the best of my time by organizing. I placed newspaper sections so that I could assemble quickly. I used cartons that would allow me to retrieve papers quickly.

Managers were pleasant. Incentives were given on time; I was a recipient.

My co-workers were pleasant and in a hurry.

The hardest part of the job was having to leave the car when snow and ice were present.

The most enjoyable part of the job was customer satisfaction.
Pros
being able to complete my route on time
Cons
ice under snow
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging work environment
Warehouse, PKT Foreman (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJanuary 6, 2015
As the Star tribune struggled to deter bankruptcy, it became a challenge to deal with a part time work force with unskilled workers and consistent turnovers as the drive to eliminate full time individuals of 20 years or more to lower wages and cut benefits. While understanding the company’s goal for survival in an age of a digital world, I appreciate the opportunities I have had at the Star tribune but do not foresee any further professional nor personal growth and feel it has come time for change.
Pros
a challenging experience
Cons
lack of professional growth
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable office environment
Senior Interactive Designer (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNDecember 15, 2014
Best place to work. Co-works are very nice. Manager is super nice. I have flexible schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A newspaper committed to its readership and to its employees
Copy editor/Letters editor/Reporter/News assistant (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNDecember 11, 2014
A rewarding environment in which to work. The staff is top-notch, but leadership is somewhat isolated from its staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place and good people!
Lead Data Maintenance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNNovember 20, 2014
I worked here for over seventeen years and had many promotions. It was a good place for job advancement. It is the newspaper industry, so there was a bit of a bump in the road when the internet hit hard and the company was well behind the curve on keeping up.
Pros
good people, job advancement opportunities
Cons
poor leadership, wasted meeting time, behind in news media technology
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn job experience.
Journeyman (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 4, 2014
good place to learn how to use various equipments and gains job experience on learning to communicate with people.
Pros
lot of work hours.at time.
Cons
not a gaurantee job to last pernmatley.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
Fleet Class B CDL Driver (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 4, 2014
Pick up old news papers.The most enjoyable part of the day is when you get done with the last newspaper of that day
Pros
get to use the gym room
Cons
have to pay to park in the parking lot at the job
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
132
carrier (Former Employee) –  Chaska, MNMarch 25, 2014
have to wake up early in the morning and stuff papers for that day and the next then deliver them before 8 am.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management says one thing but does another
Sales (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 13, 2013
Co-workers were great and we had all of the tools needed for success. Unfortunately sales goals are completely unrealistic to hit on a month after month basis.

I see reviews about how Star Tribune is forward thinking but I see them as being 5 years or more behind the digital marketplace.

I learned that Star Tribune feels that they are the biggest driving force for businesses in MN. Just because you are Star Tribune doesn't mean businesses should feel lucky to advertise with you.
Pros
supplied great tools for success
Cons
zero worklife/homelife balance unless you are single, my manager lied directly to my face on more than one instance.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved being employed at the Star Tibune.
Fleet Driver (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 29, 2013
While at this employer, I learned a lot about truck driving and customer service. All the fellow drivers are readily available to assist you in anything you need. What I enjoyed the most was all the friends I made. The worst part about working was the overnight shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Retention Specialist (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 8, 2013
Management was great, co-workers awesome schedule was fexible.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labor intensive industry.
FLEET DRIVER (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 8, 2013
Daily load papers while driving to multiple state locations.
Pros
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stuck in cold or hot warehouse.
Newspaper Delivery (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJuly 24, 2013
To much for the time expected.Workers are fine,I liked managment,
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work, industrious.
Route Carrier (Former Employee) –  Chaska, MNJune 4, 2013
Enjoyed manager, difficult work, co-workers nice, weather difficult, learned survivability.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive media company with excellent leadership
Sr. Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNApril 21, 2013
Leadership is very forward thinking and looking for the best trends in the media industry. They are willing to make the best choices and investments for the company. One of the major downfalls is that management is not always doing the best to develop their sales people, some managers would rather handle the sales presentations and relationships than allow their sales people to do so.
Pros
good vacation time, competitive pay, excellent resources
Cons
at times they have unrealistic sales goals, micro-management
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
star tribune
Advertising Coordinator/Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNFebruary 18, 2013
good people and ok compensation. Decent product to sell for a very strained industry.
Pros
work/life balance, flexible pto
Cons
career advancement, compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNo3

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture