Starboard Cruise Services Employee Reviews

Found 48 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Retail Shop Manager (Current Employee) –  USAJune 28, 2017
Great for travel and to save money. There is allot of potential for growth within the company itself. Starboard Cruise Services you have the ability to work on many Cruiselines all over the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo divertido.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  U.S.AMay 26, 2017
Trabajar en un crucero te exige el 101%, cada día es diferente, y muy acelerado, existen momentos tranquilos pero momentos de rush total, promociones, eventos, mi trabajo en general era sugerir productos a los pasajeros, esa era mi prioridad, pero de igual forma la parte logística de la tienda, siempre estar al pendiente de las necesidades de mi Manager.
He aprendido bastante en esta compañía, manejas muchas emociones. Los managers son muy exigentes, y agradezco eso ya que ellos fueron mis mentores en todo, mis compañeros, como en todo trabajo existen todas las personalidades, siempre tratando de crear un ambiente tranquilo, y adecuado, siempre trabajamos en equipo.
La parte mas difícil del trabajo es cuando algún pasajero tenia algún tipo de problema, eso es muy difícil, ya que tu eres la cara de la compañía tienes que saber como dirigirte y resolver cualquier tipo de problema.
Lo que mas me gusto de esta compañía fue el haber viajado, conoces diferentes culturas, personas, ciudades.
Pros
Viajar
Cons
contratos de 6 meses sin un dia de descanso.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creadores de gerentes de ventas
Gerente de Ventas (A bordo) (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 20, 2017
Una empresa internacional y multicultural en la cual se puede aprender a administrar equipos grandes de trabajo en un ambiente diverso. Orientada a l superacion de metad y obtención de resultados, dando valor a lo más preciado de una empresa que es el recurso humano.
Un constante aprendizaje y superación global, muy intereesados en tomar al equipo de ventas entero como la base principal del éxito
Pros
Oportunidades de superación
Cons
Se labora en sitios distantes del mundo
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and motivated work place, very friendly people and professional.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  36th street Miami, 33166 Miami (United State)May 2, 2017
Starboard provide opportunities to grow as a person and also as a professional, always improving and implementing new and effective techniques to support employees and prioritizing people constantly.
Pros
Nights off
Cons
1 or 2 hours brake depends of the opening hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelent Company
Help Desk Technician (Former Employee) –  Doral, FLApril 25, 2017
A lot of benefits, excellent workplace culture, a lot of projects, very professional work environment, a lot of activities for employees, very good team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente lavorativo provocatorio
commessa addetta alle vendite (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLO, USAApril 18, 2017
Lavorare per dritta e una sfida ogni giorno. Perché abbiamo una missione per vendere sogni per i crocieristi nel mondo.
Questo rende il lavoro così impegnativo. Ci viene insegnato a usare tecniche di vendita molto avanzate e moderne in modo che possiamo raggiungere gli obiettivi di vendita settimanali.
Al di là della sfida di vendita tutti i giorni, siamo chiamati a vivere con persone di altre culture e credenze.
La gestisce capisce che la squadra e multicultura, facilitando tutti gli obiettivi compreendimento ei nostri doveri all'interno del negozio e la nave.
Pros
cultura
Cons
el cibo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique Business
Accounting Manager (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 12, 2017
Starboard is an unique business, we are the Concessionaires in most of the Cruise line companies. It is a, exciting and challenging company. Benefits are excellent.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Complicated
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to Gain Experience
Logistics Coordinator - Packing Material (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 1, 2017
Working for Starboard is great to:
Gain Experience
Develop yourself
Learn a new business
New type of retail industry
The cons are:
Compensation
Management culture
Advancement opportunities do not go hand to hand with salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Want to travel the world and earn money at the same time?
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  everywhereDecember 6, 2016
Working with Starboard was a wonderful experience. It was hard work most of the time, so it's probably the best way for young people to gain life experiences. Not to mention the perks of being able to see the world, I've traveled to over 30 countries with this job.
Pros
travel, free food, meet a lot of people
Cons
away from home, long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job if you like to travel
Sales Associate / assistant Manger in training (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 19, 2016
This job allows you to work and travel, it's a very diverse environment you get to meet people from all over the world learn about there culture and form great friendships. The good thing is that you get to work on different ships with different itineraries and they come up with different activities for the employees to enjoy them selves .
Pros
you get to travel, you get to meet new people, you get to experience and learn about other cultures, your form great friendships, you get the opportunity to develop on your skills, you Learn new skills, your giving the opportunity to be more than just a work, you become a part of a family.
Cons
if like me your bothered by the open waters for days on end then you won't enjoy it to the fullest, you get sea sickness, you have drills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Luxury boutique manager (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 10, 2016
Its a great experience i was always supported by the management and team the only thing is we don't have any benefits as we work on cruise ship Its all on commission and very small basic
Pros
great pleasure travelling and learning
Cons
No Benefits commission base
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A empresa oferece todo o suporte para um rapido crescimento.
Sales Associate - Promo Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 2, 2016
A empresa foca muito no capital humano, valorizando cada interecao e com uma forte cultura de respeito ao proximo, criando um agradavel ambiente de trabalho.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International development company
Corporate Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  MiamiApril 27, 2016
Cruise line industry. Fast paced. Good benefits. Allows work life balance. Growth opportunities available but it takes a long time. Pay in not competitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Travel Workplace
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 8, 2016
Every working day consisted of serving guests with the highest customer services skills, talking to them on a personal and sales level making sure you knew exactly what they required and even making sales when they weren't expecting to purchase anything.

I learned about many high ticketed luxury brands, Customer care, Visual and creative display, The importance of teamwork.

The managment were fun and friendly, approachable management makes the work easier and alot more fun, this reflects to the customers also.

The hardest part of the job would be being away from family and friends for 6 months at a time, but this made up with the amazing people you would meet.

Being able to Travel and earn.
Pros
Travel, Experience, Meeting people worldwide.
Cons
6 months away from home, Food.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My boss/SVP is an incredible team leader.
Director of Store Planning and Design (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 18, 2016
• Store Planning and Design Team Leader in the development, execution, and construction management of all assigned Vendor Shops, Major/Minor Renovations, and New Ship Build Projects.

• Introduced and implemented new planning and design processes to execute project initiatives and expedite project deliverables. Processes include Square Footage Programming, Merchandise Meeting Executive Reviews, Block Planning, Location Plans, High-wall Packages, Schedule Timelines, and Letter of Intent Approvals.

• Maintain governance of brand experience and consistency through training, design review, and critique.

• Partner with the merchandising and cruise line directors in determining strategic allocation of shop construction, visual, and maintenance budgets.

• Develop concept sketches into innovative and constructible projects.
Pros
Excellent Team Structure
Cons
Coke - No Pepsi (in the vending machines)
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel Workplace
Retail Assistant / Beauty Specialist (Former Employee) –  Miami Fl.February 16, 2016
a typical day at work consist of around 14 hours, which you help provide service in the retail industry.
I learned many skills, from the beauty side to visual merchandising which where my main areas.
I loved all of my co-workers which is always a bonus, they were from all different parts of the world.
Hardest part of my job was the 6 months being away from home, especially Christmas time, but the job I loved, travelling, seeing the world and all the different cultures.
Pros
free board free meals
Cons
long hours contract work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Werken op een Cruise Schip
Juwelier, Luxury Boutique Manager (Current Employee) –  miamiFebruary 7, 2016
Een dag werk kan verschillen van 6 uur tot 11 uur op een dag, dit komt omdat de winkels BTW vrij moeten ze dicht in de haven. ik heb geleerd om met verschillende culturen te werken en een echt team player mentaliteit te ontwikkelen. De collega's hebben allemaal een andere nationaliteit, daardoor is de sfeer heel goed er valt altijd wat te leren van elkaar. het moeilijkste van deze baan is een half jaar of langer van huis te zijn, aangezien je altijd op reis bent. Het leukste is dan ook om elke dag op een andere plek in de wereld te zijn en hierdoor een grote persoonlijke groei te ontwikkelen.
Pros
voorzien van een goede kamer, eten en eigen recreatie ruimtes.
Cons
een half jaar weg zijn van je familie
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working and travelling all around the world
Assistant Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 3, 2016
Best place to work as we get to travel all around the world for free,
very good management team looking after all the staff and very friendly team
Pros
Free travelling and foods
Cons
Away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and fun job
Retail sales associate/Jewelry & watch specialist (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 23, 2015
Enjoyable, fun and productive. Apart from the occasional long days at sea, an overall good job. The commission based salary seems a bit of a gamble but can pay off at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working 14 Hour Shifts But fun and full of Learning
Retail Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Ft LauderdaleNovember 20, 2015
Sea Days are 14 hour days of consistant selling and can achieve between 30-60,000$ a day

When in port Tax and duty free store and therefore we are not open but can explore the Carribbean and relax. once we leave port we work till 11.30PM
Pros
See new places every week
Cons
Long Hours 72 hours a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Starboard Cruise Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 62 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0

CEO Approval

95%
21 ratings
Add your rating

Starboard Cruise Services Reviews by Location