Find companies:
Starbucks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,440 reviews

Starbucks Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun in a Casino
Barista Trainer/Supervisor (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJNovember 21, 2014
The job would be more enjoyable, but casino life is hard on people. Which in turn means they are hard on you. Expensive coffee makes a gambler a grumbler.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Enviorment
Barista (Part-Time) (Current Employee), Arlington, VANovember 21, 2014
Pros: free drinks, discount on food, and starbucks products, and tips every week
Cons: store support, sometimes the extra long shifts...
From the first time I started at Starbucks to now, I have learned a lot. In the beginning I was scared to make the Espresso/Specialty Drinks...I still have my days when I get overwelmed at the Bar, when their are a lot of drinks; but I am so greatful for the team of people that I work with, that will assist me or anyone who is at the bar, when we have – more... our rush.I love to here new customers or regulars say you made my day, weather you are ringing them up, making their drink, or assisting them with anything Starbucks....The customers and some of the people I work with, make we want to come to work. For me the least favorite thing for me, the role of Store Support....This person takes care of keeping the store up and running (i.e brewing coffee, sweeping and mopping the store and the back line, making sure whoever is on bar, is stock with milk, flavor syrups, teas, and more, keeping the condiment bar stock for the customers, removing and emptying the trash, and more....This role just takes a lot of you..) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 21, 2014
Team oriented. Has high standards with their products and customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past, quick service, Face of the company, providing great customer satisfaction and service
Barista (Former Employee), Rogers, ARNovember 20, 2014
Pros: great experience with responsibility, free accounts
Cons: ok management, not a whole lot of opportunities
Lots of responsibility whether it be with opening the safe, balancing your drawer, handing cash, depositing and cashing checks. Always being consistent with your work and paying close attention to what your doing so that at the end of the day you know your drawer is going to balance correctly. Customer service was the most important part of this job. – more... Always having a smile on your face, willing to help customers out no matter what the case might be and making sure customers are satisfied before they leave Liberty Bank. Having leadership skills was a huge part of being a teller at a bank. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company, great place to work
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Laguna Niguel, CANovember 20, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, benefits, work culture
Cons: typical store hours are rough.. 4am or working until 11pm
I do not even know where to start. I loved working for Starbucks. This is a great first job, career or supplement part time job. The work culture is amazing and you always feel valued, no matter what your pay is. At Starbucks, I was able to pay $90/month for incredible health care, start a 401(k) and purchase stock at 22 years old. I learned so much – more... about time management, working with a team, customer service and of course, coffee. I would reccomend this job to anyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting corporate culture
Director of Business Operations and Sales (Current Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 19, 2014
Pros: free cofee
Cons: culture
Fun people to work with, challenging and rewarding work assignments, the best part is working with the frontline employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive experience, highly recommended
Barista (Former Employee), Laguna Niguel, CANovember 19, 2014
Pros: great benefits and atmosphere
Cons: a lot of standing/physical work
The work itself can seem like a lot to begin with but once you're acclimated and have formed good working relationships with your coworkers, the job will start to come more easily to you.

You should expect to work on the cash register for the first few months and eventually you'll move up to making drinks and preparing the food items. If you perform – more... well, it's possible to move up to a shift manager within 6 months to a year.

The best part of the job is making the drinks and seeing the faces of the customers when they get them. The second best is the relationships you make with your coworkers as Starbucks has a wonderful environment and really encourages you to be yourself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Barista
Supervisor (Former Employee), boston maNovember 18, 2014
• Inventory and Purchasing of all Food and beverages for Outlets
• Developing weekly schedules
• Organize and maintain store to daily standards.
• Daily coordination of all staff including; training, hiring, corrective actions, and terminations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work environment with great coffee
Sale Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 18, 2014
Pros: 50% off of all items, free employee stocks
Cons: short breaks
Every other day I opened the store with management at 4:45 a.m. I was in charge of making the daily Ice coffee and hot coffee along with the pastry case. I learned to wake up with a smile on my face and keep it on all day. Worked cooperatively with staff to maintain an orderly and friendly environment. The hardest part of this job I would have to say – more... is really nothing Starbucks Coffee company train well and make learning fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for.
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLNovember 18, 2014
Pros: benefits, tips, learning experience
Cons: some management
Starbucks is a great company to work for. I have worked in several different cities.

A typical day at work would include cleaning all equipment, working with customers and making sure their beverages are exactly how they love them. As a supervisor, I am in charge of the safe and all the money in the store. At the end of each night, I count tills, and – more... par them.

I have learned a great deal of leadership working at Starbucks. Also, I have learned that even when customer or other partners are being difficult to always give them the best attitude and resposes.

I have worked at a couple of stores in the Jacksonville area, and the management has not been up to par with the other areas I have worked in.

My co-workers are amazing. We always try to have a good time and give out best to our customers.

The hardest part of this job would be the difficult customers. Some of them you can try and try to please, but it still isn't enough.

The most enjoyable part of this job is connecting with the customers and when someone tells you that "this is the best drink ever" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Comfortable Work Place
BARISTA (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 17, 2014
Pros: free coffee, benefits, 401k's
Cons: long hours
Starbucks is by far the greatest job I've ever had. I loved my other jobs but the environment at Starbucks is completely different. I feel secure and comfortable around my coworkers. We treat one another with a very high level of respect and we give amazing customer service. Everyone Is extremely helpful and I could't make not one complaint about that – more... place I absolutely love it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome coworkers, terrible boss
Barista and Cashier (Former Employee), Arlington, TXNovember 17, 2014
Pros: free food, drinks, coffee
Cons: bad boss
always moving around. manager was emotionally and physically abusive, my coworkers and shift supervisors were awesome, i loved joking around
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy fast passed place with world class service
Shift supervisor (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 17, 2014
Quickly became a Certified Barista Trainer by exhibiting my passion and commitment to my customers
• Increased Customer Voice Reviews by delivering World Class Customer Service
• Increased overall store sales and strengthened customer relationships by suggesting whole bean coffee products and accessories to promote the Starbucks brand
• Successfully – more... managing a team by providing a positive work environment and encouraging all partners to allow their personality be part of every customer interaction
• Maintain an efficient crew of partners in a fast paced work environment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, with alot of opportunites to grow
Supervisor (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NevadaNovember 17, 2014
Pros: free beverages on our shifts and a 30% discount, on all purchases.
Cons: the lack of management.
A typical day at work is never predictable. I have learned how to manage time wisely, and how to coach partners in a way that doesn't seem offensive. My co-workers are very diverse, and most of them are going to school for different studies. The hardest part of the job, is we have so many different tasks with different expectations for them all, and – more... the most enjoyable part of the job is meeting all different kinds of people as well as the tastings that are mandatory, it educates us on our products which helps us up sell our products and beverages. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLNovember 17, 2014
I love the fact that we can get know our loyal customers by name. Its a fast paced job. I work downtown City Place in Palm Beach so it was always busy there. Great Team Great Customers and Great Jon Overall the job is a great place to meet great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, employees are a blast
LICENSED VENUE STORE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 17, 2014
Pros: free drinks & pastries, meeting new people
Cons: low pay, long hours
Free drinks!! Cool employees ever changing menu and training-
When working for this company a strong frame is needed at times to accommodate the picky customer but is easily swayed by charm and patience along with a generous smile for them to return as loyal trusted customer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Store Manager (Current Employee), Carlisle PANovember 16, 2014
Starbucks has lead the industry in caring for their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing customers
Barista/Cashier (Current Employee), Stockton, CANovember 16, 2014
I don't have any complaints I love this job and the people I work with,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A team based workplace with room to grow as an individual and amongst others
Barista (Current Employee), Downey, CaNovember 15, 2014
Pros: free lb coffee a week, free drinks on the clock, bennifits, 401k, fedility stock options, awknowledgment, and team work
My typical day at work includes the most important aspect, making a connection with customers and providing a welcoming environment and a pleasant experience. By making that human connection it establishes trust and fun.

Starbucks is an excellent company that has allowed me to grow as an individual and to learn the meaning of team work. It is a place – more... that values the human connection, and integrity is vital to Starbucks daily operations.

Through my many years working there I have and the many managers I have worked under, I've come to value most importantly a manager who runs with integrity and loves what they do as does my current manager.

When my coworkers and I get along and have the same values we work better as a team and as employees of Starbucks.

The hardest part of the job, just like many jobs is dealing with difficult customers. The most important part is to get what the customer is saying and calm the situation, so that there remains a safe environment for the customers and my coworkers. At the end of the day, as my boss likes to say, have them leave happy. Compensate their drink or give them a coupon. That makes everything easier... what's one free drink?

The most enjoyable part of the job is making the connections with amazing customers and the laughs that are shared. When you have that regular who comes in there is a unique connection, and even those that are there for the first time, making them laugh or having a good conversation goes a long way. It's nice to make someone's day and pass along a smile.

Lastly the connection made between my coworkers is always enjoyable. It matter even in the toughest of days. When you have a team you connect well with that has your back the day always goes great, no matter what happens. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Job
Starbucks Barista (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PANovember 15, 2014
It was a great experience to gain some valuable customer service skills.

1 2 3 4 5

About Starbucks

Our employees, who we call partners, are at the heart of the Starbucks Experience. We believe in treating our partners with respect – Read more