Starbucks Employee Reviews

Found 11,467 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a short time
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 19, 2017
Starbucks is a fun place to work and drink free coffee. It would be great for a college student or someone just looking to work part-time. Working here full-time (or just under), however, post-graduation has been very frustrating. Limited opportunities for advancement and monotonous routines make it a short-term only kind of job.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
unreliable scheduling, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 19, 2017
Had to leave company due to my pregnancy and once I was better I found another job but I would go back to that company very nice place to work at and good people too
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cultures , different languages
Barista (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 19, 2017
Learn a lot about my costumer needs
Fun place to work
Lots of diversity
Good place to grow in the company
You get 30mins break , and 10 mins every 4 hours
Pros
free lunch, tips every week
Cons
manager could be a bit more understanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun work place
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Alhambra, CAJuly 19, 2017
I loved working here you get a lot of benefits working here for this company, you become like a family with your work crew and it was fun and productive as well, You can grow in this company
Pros
free drinks
Cons
salary not that great starting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place, great crew. great learning experiece.
Open and Closer (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CAJuly 19, 2017
I learned how to working in a time management way. How to get tasks done before the deadline and in a fast and productive way. Made drinks while making sure the customers had a great experience.
Pros
benefits, discount on coffee, flexible hours available to work, worked with school schedule
Cons
not enough workers, management, started messing up hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace with excellent benefits
Barista (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 19, 2017
A typical workday consists of a well organized floor plan where partners are set at specific jobs during peak hours to reach our store goal. Working as a strong team is something I have adopted from this job. Management varies from store to store, one store may have an excellent manager whiles some others do not. The culture of the workplace is motivating and organized. Personally I do not see something being hard; in the food and customer service industry one can not please everyone so consistently having happy customers is a goal but wouldn't say hardest part. Most enjoyable part of the job is connecting with customers and meeting new people everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shift Manager
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 19, 2017
My typical day at work is dealing with call ins, making sure all employees arrive to work on time and business is opened on time on the daily. The hardest part is working when you are short handed. The enjoyable part is my employees. They are the reason why I am here at this company.
Pros
unfair raises
Cons
flexible with hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the customer is not always right
Barista (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, TXJuly 19, 2017
The job itself is fun; the coworkers you will have will most likely be wonderful. But the way that management and corporate pleases every difficult customer is ridiculous.
Pros
coworkers; benefits
Cons
high stress; poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CAJuly 19, 2017
long hours standing and running
I learned how to be a better manager,
Management was ok, their needs and desires aren't always realistic
Workplace- fun, laid back yet busy and never a slow moment
Hardest part of my job is covering when people called out as the workload was chaotic
Most enjoyable was meeting new people and seeing my regular customers
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great ideas, bad execution
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 19, 2017
Stabucks can be an amazing company to work for, however it always seems that managers get put into place and then left there even if they are single handedly destroying their store or the morale in the store. These managers get away with manipulating the district manager and HR in order to suit their purpose.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I've ever had
Barista (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 19, 2017
Without a doubt, Starbucks is the best job I have had to date. It's a great place to work when you need to figure out your career path and the benefits are a huge plus. Very flexible hours, staff is great, it's overall great energy. I've made great friends because of this job thanks to customer connection.
Pros
Healthcare, Pto, Great hours, Flexibility
Cons
All clothes smell like coffee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine for a little while but not were you want to stay in life
Barista (Former Employee) –  Cedar Park, TXJuly 18, 2017
The costumer contact was nice. I enjoyed the fast pace of the rush hours and balancing many different tasks at once. Time flew by and it stimulated your brain.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Partnership Assistant (Former Employee) –  Morton Grove, ILJuly 18, 2017
Poor management, I was told I would learn to make a variety of coffee for customers instead I wind up just doing dishes, cleaning, throwing lots of trash. This was a very bad environment.
Pros
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job with great people!
Barista (Current Employee) –  miamiJuly 18, 2017
It's a good company that works with you, not against you. They hardly ever give more than 20 hours a week so it's definitely not a place to make decent cash. Management is great.I sometimes feel overwhelmed and understaffed. Corporate has unrealistic expectations of how long closing the store should. The people are the ones that make work a lot of fun. All-in-all, a good place to work.
Pros
Free food!
Cons
Unrealistic Closing Expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good workplace
Systems Analyst II (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 18, 2017
Starbucks is a place where people are expected to expand their roles over time, eventually leading to more contributions towards process improvement and growth for the company in support of the goals for each fiscal year. This can prove to be quite challenging as more is expected from you with sometimes less resources than desired. Rewarding hard work is usually done through merit increases and promotions.
Pros
30% discounts on every day purchases is a plus
Cons
Sometimes the work-life balance is a bit off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Up-beat
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Livermore, CAJuly 18, 2017
Constantly busy, which is enjoyable
Manager was not always around, or helpful when was
Being short staffed was difficult
I learned stress control, and became more patient in situations with difficult customers
Pros
free lunch, tips
Cons
short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to move up in company if ambitious, but can be consuming
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  North CarolinaJuly 18, 2017
You ever thought that a cup of joe could consume your entire life? I didnt until I started working at starbucks. By far it is one of the best companies that I have ever worked for the benefits are decent, the pay not so much, especially when understaffed and all the tears may not be worth it,
Pros
Free food, Free coffee, Great connections
Cons
Low pay, And understaffing issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great college job
Barista Trainer (Current Employee) –  East Northport, NYJuly 18, 2017
Starbucks was the perfect flexible job I needed while I was in college. The perks were great and the coffee supply helped. The job is very fast-paced which was a nice introduction to the working world for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reputation as a great company, truly earned.
Operations Director Food Category (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 18, 2017
Enjoyed the way the company worked to make their day to day behind the scenes decisions and actions align with their mission statement


For a very large company, its pretty nimble.
Pros
Competitive Rewards and lifestyle support
Cons
Some bureaucratic logjams and a bit of hubris among some corporate team members
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
store manager
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  TexasJuly 18, 2017
very high demanding, fast pace, long hours, be prepared for no work/home life balance. very physically demanding, lifting matts, putting pallets away, constant cleaning, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Starbucks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 14,537 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.6
Culture
4.1

CEO Approval

87%
5,527 ratings
Add your rating