Find companies:
Starcom MediaVest Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Starcom MediaVest Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limitless Opportunity to Learn and Grow
Associate Director- Pearle Vision/Sears Optical (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: new business pitches, strategy + buying media, coworkers
Cons: compensation
Starcom was where my career began. The people were extremely smart, the client roster was made up of category leaders and the agency was a pioneer in media planning + buying across platforms.

I learned how to pitch new business, to build strategic media plans, to negotiate efficient + impactful media buys, how to interact, serve and serve our agency – more... clients, to present to clients and partners with style + clarity that engages people. The foundation of who I am today was built at Starcom.

Management through the agency made sure they shared their knowledge with their peers, managers and subordinates. They fostered team work and demanded that everyone took the time to grow, be creative and experiment.

My coworkers were fun to be around. They were equally smart and talented. They were willing to help if needed or not. And I was able to craft some long relationships from working with these talented people.

The enjoyable part of my job was working on different projects, building strategic media plans for top clients, presenting to clients or upper agency management, negotiating media buys with efficiencies, learning and engaging in different media platforms [Linear, Digital, Mobile, Social, etc]

The hardest part was the low compensation because of agency demand in the marketplace. And not enough time to get exposure to some of the more high profile projects or accounts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pillar of industry excellence
Connections Manager at MV42, SMG (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 11, 2014
leading clients, leading strategic thought, leading new buying approaches
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but relaxed environment
Digital Advertising Operations Analyst (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 29, 2013
A typical day for me is report pulling/formatting. I have enhanced my microsoft office program, writing, overall communication skills and have learned how a diverse culture can impact a business. Most co-workers are great to work with. The most difficult part of the job can sometimes be dealing with translating reporting request into actual reports. – more... Request are not always pre-formatted so translation can sometimes be a challenge. But even with the challenges I enjoy the liberty of taking my lunch whenever or not at all if I choose to. I enjoy the benefits of the company. Great holiday and vaction times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Award Winning Place to Work
Associate Media Director (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 2, 2013
So proud to have been a part of Starcom MediaVest. I had the privilege to work with some of the smartest people in the business and have built long lasting business relationships with co-workers and clients. I had amazing mentors and leaders that have helped mold my experience and career growth- totally priceless. If you are provided an opportunity – more... to work with Starcom - take it! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is not meritocratic
Analista de Investigación de Mercado (Former Employee), Santiago de Chile, RMDecember 30, 2012
Pros: familiar atmosphere
Cons: bad leadership
the salary is ver low and the promotions are not based on capabilities, but in friendly relations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smart folks
Media Planner (Former Employee), Detroit, MIAugust 7, 2012
Smart people but egos sometimes get in the way. Since the landscape has changed, perhaps so will the culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated and intelligent staff
Media Planner (Former Employee), Detroit, MIAugust 7, 2012
The best small media agency located in the Midwest. They're smart and passionate about media. A true partner who understands a client's business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Other companies could, and should, learn from Starcom's Management, particularly in the Detroit metro area.
Analytics Director (Current Employee), Detroit, MIApril 18, 2012
Excellent company!
Excellent management!
Delivers great work!

Starcom's management actually care about, and take care of their employees, unlike any other company I have worked for or heard about.

Starcom’s corporate culture is the complete opposite of the detestably toxic corporate culture at Team Detroit. Malicious and malignantly ignorant and arrogant – more... senior and executive management permeates Team Detroit. Ford should fire all of the parasitic WPP companies they currently employ, starting with Team Detroit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great agency to learn
Digital Media Supervisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 16, 2012
Pros: great company name
Cons: terrrible pay
Great place to learn about advertising media, but horrible pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment and co employees
Accounts Payable Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 19, 2014
daily task or duties of an accounts payable coordinator.

Good company and employees to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Media Intern (Former Employee), LondonAugust 18, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, incentives and food.
A typical day at work would start with checking emails and replying to various team members about digital media campaigns.
At 'SMG', I learnt about pay per click advertising and how to utilise various pieces of bid management software to generate more online exposure for our clients.
The management at 'SMG' were extremely helpful and were always on – more... hand to give advice on an array of topics not just work related.
I made new friends instantly, as most assignments were team based.
The hardest part of the job was getting to grips with all the new software and technological jargon, but with time and fantastic training it felt second nature to me.
The most enjoyable part of the job was getting involved in creative tasks and event launches for our clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Execellent place to start ones career in media planning & buying.
Media Planner/Buyer (Former Employee), New Delhi, DLJuly 24, 2014
Pros: supportive managment, new techniques & practices shared and learnt
Awesome place to learn the trade & begin your career.
Fun loving co-workers & helpful also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and perks
Strategy Assistant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMay 12, 2014
Great environment, great perks, poor pay, poor opportunity for advancement, long hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 22, 2014
Pros: clients bringing complimentary gifts
It's pretty laid back and fun, seeing what clients bring in like gifts and animals. I match, photocopy, organize, and fill bills. I had a good learning experience in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Media Executive (P&G Levant Media Buyer) (Current Employee), BeirutJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: flexible work hours, a family team spirit
Cons: long work hours, client contact after work hours, minimal trainings, we work for levant but never been in other countries then lebanon, missing the motivation spirit...
Am a punctual person i arrive at 9 am open my PC check my emails, write my to do list to start working on the high important tasks then new and urgent tasks pop up during the day so i have to finalize them too along with the follow ups, client requests... As for my co-workers we always work as a team since the client requests are excessive you should – more... be a multitask person and help your colleagues. As for the hardest part of the job some of the urgent request are beyond our expectations and expertise hence we always do our best to meet the client's needs. The most enjoyable part of the job is that we are all young ambitious people willing to learn and succeed in our job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of a pioneer in analytics for SMG-SEA
Director of Analytics, South East Asia (Former Employee), SingaporeOctober 28, 2013
Pros: too much flexibility.
Cons: lack of management strategy, support, process and quality management.
Tasked to grow and enhance the Data & Analytics practice for Starcom Mediavest across the region, key responsibilities include formulating viable business models for profitability across clients within the South East Asian region, and advocating the art of marketing science within the group and to clients as the way forward to convergent business intelligence.

 – more... Successfully set up Data & Analytics (DNA) department for Southeast Asia from scratch, and generated revenue stream of USD 360K for fiscal year
• Devised pricing strategies and business structure of Data & Analytics with focus on digital media platform ads serving for Starcom Mediavest Group in Southeast Asia
• Business Analytics:
o Web Analytics (Google & Adobe SiteCatalyst)
o Video, Mobile, Search Display Campaign Analytics
o Measured spends via DSP platforms (ClickTrue, Doubleclick)
o Measured media & brand health metrics against media spend investments for optimum marketing ROI
o Marketing Mix Modeling
o Media Mix Modeling
o Dashboard & Data Visualization (Real-Time Analytics) on Media & Digital Spends
o impact of media spends across brands and categories to draw insights for better campaign analysis and human-experience-based media planning
o Paid, Owned, Earned Media (POEM) marketing channels to quantify total reach & impact across all media
• Deployed for local and MNC clients (Samsung, BlackBerry, Coca Cola, Heineken, San Miguel, Bank Krungsi Thailand, UniLab Pharmaceuticals, Digi Telco-Telenor Group) across region

o Go-to-market strategies for in-house DNA suite of products & solutions
o Marketing Mix Modeling, Media Mix Modeling, Sales & ROI Optimization, Brand Health Tracking & Measurements and business analytics solutions
• Initiated collaborations with various government sectors, EDB, NUS, and IDA, to build strategic partnerships and foster industry outreach programs for the group – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An agency focused on the future.
Search Analyst Intern (Former Employee), Coral Gables, FLMarch 26, 2012
Pros: tutorials, training, and presentations.
Cons: complaints about low pay
A great place to learn about different aspects of advertising such as content creation, research and insights, analytics, digital strategy, multicultural marketing etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo agradable y en confianza
Directora (Former Employee), San Isidro, LIMOctober 28, 2014
Pros: seguro medico privado, capacitaciones
Cons: no hay horario de salida
Buena comunicación entre todas las areas, excelente trabajo en equipo.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente ambiente laboral
Asistente personal (Former Employee), Ciudad de México, DIFSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: seguro de gastos mayores y vales de despensa
Cons: sin horario de salida
Era divertido, alegre y muy relajante estar sentado en tu lugar y dedicarte a hacer tus cosas, nos dieron una pantalla para ver TV y es un gran incentivo para los trabajadores, asi como el café y desayuno por las mañana a los que lleguen en tiempo y forma a la oficina.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
El trabajo es divertido
Ejecutiva de Medios (Current Employee), Lima, LIMApril 25, 2014
Pros: seguro medico, benefícios, horarios de verano
Cons: no pago adicional por horas extras
Starcom proporciona un ambiente divertido de trabajo, es agradable venir a trabajar día a día, es como si no vinieras a trabajar y eso es lo mejor.

Considero que es una muy buena escuela de aprendizaje ya que al manejarse tantas cuentas tienes la opción de aprender un poco de cada una.

About Starcom MediaVest Group

This business helps advertisers reach out to the consumer universe. Starcom MediaVest Group is a leading media planning and buying – Read more