Starwood Hotels Employee Reviews

Found 801 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Trained in Corporate Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, CAAugust 19, 2017
Starwood was a great place to work. I strived to be the best so learning all different sales techniques I was able to utilize my prior experience and the tools I learned over the years to exceed all monthly goals for 11 years.!
Pros
Travel
Cons
None really
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work atmosphere with caring knowledgeable supervisors
Starwood Perferred Guest Specialist (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 17, 2017
An excellent working atmosphere with great, knowledgeable supervisors that are willing to work with you and give you every opportunity for success. Extremely fair.

A typical day at work was making world-wide reservations for people of all backgrounds and cultures, assisting customers with their accounts, answering questions concerning different hotel amenities and locations, and using the Starwood Computer System.

It was a joy to work for Starwood Hotels and Resorts.
Pros
Clean atmosphere, scheduled lunches and breaks, friendly people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work many job opportunity
Server and Bartender (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 17, 2017
Star Wood Hotel/the Nines hotel is an excellent place to work. It has the most friendly staff . The managers are very profacinal and nice . They are accurate they want everything to be as good as possible and that's what I really like the most about this hotel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with room to excel
Sales Rep/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Fall River, MAAugust 16, 2017
It is a benefit that everyone starts off a the same level regardless of qualifications. Job offerings are aimed specifically at current employees to allow equal opportunity for everyone. Staff is fair and very understanding so long as they are not taken advantage of. There are many gatherings and community support fundraisers that take place, supporting Make a Wish foundation, local schools, blood drives, etc. It is a great company to work for with great benefits. The only thing you have to do is show up and do your job and your job is safe.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Revenue Management Analyst, West/Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAAugust 16, 2017
starwood is no longer its own company. don't know much about the marriott culture. company was sold in 2016 thats it. no more.. not much point - all done here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company
Call Center Supervisor (Plat Lite (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, CAAugust 15, 2017
Meeting with associates to delevope their skills in sales and customer service. Best job I've ever had. I learned many skills that I will take with me throughout my life.
Pros
pay, benefits, travel
Cons
the center closed down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a place to work
Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee) –  Nashua, NHAugust 15, 2017
Nothing special about this job, a lot of work and the pay was not so great. The hotel where I was working was in bad shape, needed a lot of repairs and maintenance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Culture
IT Applications Manager (Former Employee) –  RemoteAugust 15, 2017
Starwood corporate was constantly evolving its policies to align with the current job market and demands of new generations entering the workplace. It offered flexible work from home options for applicable roles, and a competitive salary.
Pros
flexibility, leadership
Cons
healthcare benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok I needed job
Follow sales (Current Employee) –  Fall River, MA 02721August 14, 2017
Job is a temporary till I found other employment. Not a friendly place to work. 8 minutes a day off the phone
Meeting about your calls where the make you feel awful. How you failed on your calls
Pros
Close to home
Cons
No Holidays including Thanksgiving and Christmas to you will be working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Complex Accounts Receivables (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 14, 2017
Comfortable and gets you by. A lot of hard workers go unrecognized and those who are recognized don't deserve it yet get promoted. Not somewhere i would want to retire.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
AP Specialist (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CAAugust 12, 2017
A typical day at work at Starwood hotels would be prioritizing invoices based on relevant terms, 3 way matching, batching, coding invoices to appropriate General Ledger accounts; reconcile bank and credit card statements, filing various documents; and entering data into the Accounts Payable system (AccPac) for payment, printing and distributing vendor checks.
Responsibilities include: Paying vendors by monitoring discount opportunities Scheduling and preparing checks Resolving purchase orders, invoice or payment discrepancies and documentation;
•Created and maintained spreadsheets, (such as the Petty Checking, Expense reports, and Accrue reports at the end of the month) and processing vendors invoices
•Duties included opening and sorting mail;
•Prepared cash drops and change for the Bank with extreme accuracy
Pros
Free Lunches, Great people to work with, Great boss
Cons
Healthcare wouldn't cover for enough services needed and was way too expensive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Leadership
PROJECT SPECIALIST - NATIONAL SALES & MARKETING (Former Employee) –  Palm Desert, CAAugust 8, 2017
A wonderful company with amazing knack to hire the right people. The only downside is, it is difficult to be elevated to management or directorship here. I loved working here for many years. If you are in Sales, you really can prosper if you are talented in that area.
Pros
Excellent leadership and culture. Many, many long-time employees.
Cons
Very difficult to move up in this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Administrative Assistant / Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 7, 2017
A typical day is answering incoming calls and directing them to the appropriate person and preparing for manager meetings. Sorting and delivering mail to the appropriate department.
Pros
Meeting people and being able to dress professionally everyday
Cons
no sceduled lunch breaks waiting for reception relief
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great brands
Vice President Joint Venture Real Estate (Former Employee) –  White Plains, NYAugust 7, 2017
Solid culture, innovative and fun, engaging, work life balance maintained, solid professionals, caring, supportive, investing in personal development,
Pros
Great brands
Cons
management stability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict, but good money
Account Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 6, 2017
It's not very often you find someone willing to pay you 15+/hr to sit on the phones and talk to people. The job can be mentally demanding as you climb the ranks, but it isn't usually a hard one. When you have time between calls, the people around you are often the best part of the job, but you don't get those breaks often because it is a world-wide chain. All in all, a good place to work, so long as you don't have any other responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
works great with associates
Premier Plus Associate (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 4, 2017
for a call center this company has been one of the best and I could probably not even consider another call center to this one as no other could compare. The staff is so nice and they really work with you. The hardest part Ive found in this job is that as you advance you will end up with alot of down time between calls. It sounds nice at first, but the time drags by if you cant occupy yourself. The only other downfall is how hard it is to get an earlier shift once you move up.
Pros
staff is great, good community
Cons
most shifts are 530 PM to 2 AM
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job Experience Ever.
Reservation Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 4, 2017
While in training at Starwood they make it seem like the perfect job.
Once you get on the floor and ACTUALLY start working it's nothing they make it seem.
Pros
Good Food, Discounts
Cons
Short Breaks, Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Probably the best job I've ever had
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fall River, MAAugust 4, 2017
Sure there were some off days, and some customers were awful to deal with, but the job itself was fantastic and I'd go back in a heartbeat if I still lived in the area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict and no positive reinforcement
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 29, 2017
With this job came a lot of stress and no flexibility. Even if we were to meet our goals or exceed them we would still be told management to do better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair
-Peer Coach (trainer) (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJuly 28, 2017
Protection One was in the process of changing over to ADT at the time of my employment. They were in a state of flux therefore it is difficult to provide a fair review.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Starwood Hotels. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,037 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8