State Bank of India Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work but there is no room for growth.
Wire Transfer/Investigation (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 21, 2017
State Bank of India is good place to work at. Get to learn lots of new things from different departments. Good place to gain work experience. However for longterm there is no room for growth in the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Really productive and satisfied
Assistant Accounts (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 14, 2017
No Motivation
Inter departmental co-ordination not good
Flexibility of attendance in case of emergency
Good place to learn
Changing management is distracting
Pros
flexiblity
Cons
low pay rate, no motivation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty stable bank
Loan Documentation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 22, 2016
It's a pretty good working environment. The co-workers were nice to work with.

Prepared commercial loan documents to be sent to Relation Managers for customers’ signatures

Reviewed files to ensure all of the required documents were in order

Checked the system to verify customers’ information were current and accurate

Ordered required documents online, such as Statements of Information and UCCs

Prepared closing documents and submitted them to Loan Servicing Department for funding
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Receptionist/ LC Clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 10, 2016
Greeting customer, PBX operator, great place to work. State Bank of India was a great place to work, management was great, co-workers worked as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper Management was poor.
Call Center Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 25, 2015
Call center department was working very but was never recognized by the Bank.
The Human Resources did not know their job.

Many times they ost employees documents. Proper documets were not filed properly.
Pros
Yes- every month they had frehese lunc
Cons
health care documents were lost.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
SENIOR ASSOCIATE, TRADE DEPARTMENT (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 27, 2015
Happy job experience. Learned all the necessary banking procedures including typing,filing, data entry, accounting etc etc.
Pros
Free tea/coffee
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well managed bank
Banker (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 19, 2015
good management, friendly co-workers and good place to boost your skills and knowledge in banking sector. I learned a lot of things relating to online banking. It will definitely help me in my future job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed place to work at
Assistant (Former Employee) –  ChicagoApril 6, 2015
Typical day would start with going through new account opening applications received the previous day via mail.
Follow up with these customers via email/telephone to open their account.
Run these customers details on Lexis/Nexis database for any matches.
Run OFAC on customers who would apply to remit funds overseas.
Open new CD accounts or renew those maturing and want to renew.
Close out matured CD and send back checks for those who do not want to renew.
Pros
Good place to learn a lot about banking.
Cons
No growth and very low pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good job to get some experience.
Teller/Secretary (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA 92126January 13, 2015
I learned how to provide orientation and on-the-job training to ensure that responsibilities are understood by subordinates at State Bank of India California, San Diego. I trained two teller to perform all activities in the bank.

I learned all the activities at the bank such as
· Sending Fed wire
· Opening all type of accounts
· Sending remittance to india
· Using FINACLE software to process all entries
· Processing checks
· Preparing monthly charges report.

I had an experience with resolving customer issues like assist to complete the forms for open accounts, sending wires, remittance and answering phone queries.

The most enjoyable part of my job is finish the work on time.

The hardest part of the job is it is not affordable.
Pros
I met a lot of different cultured people.
Cons
Short break, Less payment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, sympathetic to employees, encourages learning
Vice President (Systems) (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 1, 2014
Great Employer where I learned General Banking, Treasury Operations, IT Risk Management . I never changed my employer in last 23 years.
Pros
takes care of Housing, conveyance, medical, child's education &post retirement benefits
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned a lot
Deposit and Remittance Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 21, 2014
Its a good place to start your career, but in long run there is no growth at all. you start there as a entry level associate and you end up as an associate.
Pros
secure job
Cons
no benefits at all
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank Associate
Bank Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 3, 2014
This job is a good job, yet is was a low paying job. I also learned many thing about the banking systems and management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the largest international banks in the world, with substantial presence globally and in North America. The bank is a university for bankers.
Auditor/ Senior Manager (Investigations)/ Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 24, 2014
The bank has one of the largest work-force in the world. I worked in its USA Head Quarters as well as in its New York branch. Excellent work atmosphere conducive to productivity and job satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I gained overall experience in various areas of banking with this company
Chief Executive Officer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 15, 2014
I also had the opportunity to have work experience in Tokyo and Chicago which I consider very valuable
Pros
All round banking experience
Cons
Limited opportunities for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Bank of India is a nice place to work, offering ample learning opportunities, wide exposure, in a friendly and cooperative environment.
Accounting Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 26, 2014
A typical day in this bank would have daily responsibilities related to incoming and outgoing checks, related journal entries, reconciliations, as well as everyday reconciliations of major bank accounts, including FRB. During month-ends and quarter-ends, the various monthly and quarterly reports also need to be prepared under strict deadlines.
This place helped me reinforce my accounting principles while discharging my everyday responsibilities, and perform accurately under deadlines.
The co-workers have been extremely friendly and co-operative, who are willing to stand by their colleagues at every need.
The most rewarding experience for me as a professional accountant has been the time when under circumstances, I had to prepare the balance sheet and other reports from scratch, in the absence of my manager, and was appreciated by senior management for my flawless presentation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Project Trainee (Former Employee) –  New Delhi, ILApril 14, 2014
State bank of india is a big brand and have a great culture in employee.
Pros
Some time they can provide refreshment
Cons
Some time environment become like a government office
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtive and fun work
Java/J2EE Developer (Former Employee) –  TexasJanuary 31, 2014
This project is to enhance the capabilities of existing Money Manager Application both on .com and mobile channels. Existing application shows completed transactions for the selected accounts and groups them in different categories for proper budgeting.The new enhancements are to display scheduled, manual, pending and intraday transactions and create a new tile in My Accounts dashboard for the summary details. This project requires .com and mobile UI changes and also invoking existing web services for different types of transactions. This project was developed in Agile methodology
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 12, 2013
A fun filled place and great place to work. Everyone is nice and always willing to help. Great team work atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There was no special activity in Banking hours
Branch Special Assistant/Lead Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  M S Govt.business Branch Hisar-125001 IndiaAugust 6, 2013
This Bank is outside of this country so review in USA shall be of no justice with the Bank.
Pros
Officers were friendly an co-oprative
Cons
No Compensation or Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was accountant here with my position is manager
Accountant (Current Employee) –  Delhi, NYApril 24, 2013
duty is always beauty .But my office has not enough work to give me so that i want to take another jobs because i always want to busy.
Pros
free launch
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State Bank of India. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 532 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
4.2
Management
3.9
Culture
3.9

State Bank of India Reviews by Location