State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company Employee Reviews

Found 4,040 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging environment
Assistant Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Monument, COApril 24, 2017
I really enjoy working for State Farm. The manager is nice and is a great mentor. My co-workers are all very helpful and everyone is a team player. What I love the most about working there is the work life balance that the manager has provided for the team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, tough job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, ILApril 24, 2017
Job is challenging and not heald in high regard. Other personal look down upon you & is tough to move up at postion level. Great benefits is nice, but lacking else where
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Centennial, COApril 24, 2017
A typical day was simple. Everyone had the same responsibility and we all knew our roles. Things were calm as long as you stayed within your job role.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Hours; Great co-workers, continuously changing environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Morehead, KYApril 24, 2017
You can practically make your own hours. Everyday and every situation is different. There are lull moments and the job will throw at you a problem you have never seen before. Its great if you are good thinking on your toes and if you are willing to learn. What makes the job the best though, is the people you work with. The staff at Steve Barkers Agency are incredible which makes the work environment incredible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for adults
Insurance sales (Former Employee) –  Tahlequah, OKApril 24, 2017
A typical day at work includes defending yourself against a hostile work environment, dodging verbal harassment and watching people get paid to dodge the phones and customers. I'm positive not all agents allow their office to be ran this way but it shows poorly on State Farm overall
Pros
Helping customers in their time of need
Cons
It's like being in a high school girls bathroom
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Duties
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Minot, NDApril 24, 2017
Selling Auto, Health, Home, and Farm/Ranch Insurance
Fully licensed agent
Built great customer relations
Worked with internal and external customers
Setting appointments
Surveying land and buildings for insurance
Building policies to fit what the customer wants and needs
Following up with the customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Pay, Good Learning Experience
Account Manager in March (Current Employee) –  Front Royal, VAApril 23, 2017
Every agent is different. Not fair of me to give a definitive answer about what your experience will be like.

Strict quotas, not a lot of job security. Cold calling out the butt. Angry customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as it seems.
Insurance Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Lebanon, TNApril 23, 2017
Very thankful that I was able to gain some experience under State Farm, but everything was not as it was originally explained to me during the job offer period. Still thankful for the opportunity, but it is not something I wanted to continue doing with my life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Senior Claim Processor (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJApril 23, 2017
Felt more like family than coworkers.
Managers were very helpful whenever needed.
Very flexible wirh time for example with vacation and personal time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Insurance company
Licensed Claims Processor (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NYApril 23, 2017
State Farm was a good company to work for. Offices Nationwide and understood work / life balance. Excellent benefits. Unfortunately closed office in Buffalo area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Intern marketing coordinator sales (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, ARApril 23, 2017
Very educational, understanding and beneficial internship. I learned I was able to do things I didn't know I was capable of yet and highly recommend this opportunity. I appreciate it and hope to learn more in my future!
Pros
License, experience, confidence
Cons
Was a lot to do at the same time as school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Auto Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  MarylandApril 22, 2017
good benefits and pay, nice clean facility. wonderful co-workers and management. production driven and sometimes hard to give the best customer service due to being timed
Pros
good benefits
Cons
hard to get time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Underwriting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 22, 2017
It was always a stuctured workplace. Always needed to meet the Enterprise numbers. The mose enjoyable part of the job is when we had fun days - lunch spreads, etc.
Pros
benefints
Cons
needing to meet the numbers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales experience
Agent Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJApril 22, 2017
make appointments
networking
explain policies
make sales
filling

you have the opportunity to learn more about sales and the insurance industry which is really good
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company for mothers
January Licensed Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 22, 2017
The company was ok but they are very strict on time. You have to be on time every day or your job will be in jeopardy. They schedule your lunches, breaks and daily schedule and you must adhere to it.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  East Aurora, NYApril 22, 2017
would never do it again because its a call center and you would say anything to make a sale but overall the staff were kool and learn alot about selling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment; lacked management style
Office Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCApril 22, 2017
Typical work day was relaxed and inviting. No room for advancement or increase in pay. Particular agency lacked management style and involvement with staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company and Agents
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Texas & Lafayette, St Martinville, La..April 21, 2017
I have worked all over Texas and Louisiana and every State Farm Agent has been so kind and taken me and my family in as family. Wonderful culture and company.
Pros
Lots of work to do!
Cons
I wish I had never left.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
Account Representative Intern (Former Employee) –  Wayne, PAApril 21, 2017
Learning experience

Workers were unhappy at this agency, low pay, poor benefits, retail like environment, long travel time, weak culture at this particular agency
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about customer service
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 21, 2017
At the time I worked at State Farm, it was enjoyable for the most part. I especially loved my position during my last 6-7 years. I was in a position that my integrity and work ethics paid off (not financially). I was in an office pretty much alone, but my work was always done, I was dependable and I received many accolades from my peers, management, and outside customers.
I believe many people, no matter how much they wee paid would say they wish they were paid more. State Farm was also a company filled with diversity. The hardest part of working there was not getting what I believed to be deserved promotions. Employees were encouraged to better themselves, which I continuously did, but was never recognized for it in the form of promotions. However, I still enjoyed working there and would likely still be there if I had not been laid off.
Pros
Lots of perks
Cons
Hard to get promoted
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 4,112 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company Reviews by Location